Nimke claims fourth kilo world title

D'Almeida back by half a second for silver, Van Velthooven gets bronze

Stefan Nimke (Germany) claimed the world title in the kilo for the fourth time, stopping the clock in a time of 0:01:00.082.

Nimke, 34, was last man out of the gate and was nearly half a second faster than the silver medalist Mickael D'Almeida of France. New Zealander Simon van Velthooven was 0:01:00.543 third.

The German won his first world title in the event in 2003 in Stuttgart, and then again in 2009 Pruszków and at last year's titles in Apeldoorn. It was the third time that D'Almeida has finished runner-up in the event (2008, 2010).

"It means an enormous amount to me because this is my last world championship in the sprint discipline, maybe even for my general sporting career, you never know what's to come, but I've been saying after the Olympics I'll stop with sprint. Hence this will be my last appearance in the world championship," Nimke said.

"In that respect, it's a golden finish beating my own personal record, setting new German record, world champ title.

"I started my career here in Australia in ‘97 in Perth as third in 1000m, and today I'll end my sprint career at the world champs, again in Australia, again in the 1000m sprint, and this time as number one."

Full Results
1 Stefan Nimke (Germany) 0:01:00.082  
2 Michael D'Almeida (France) 0:01:00.509  
3 Simon Van Velthooven (New Zealand) 0:01:00.543  
4 Francois Pervis (France) 0:01:01.106  
5 Teun Mulder (Netherlands) 0:01:01.365  
6 Quentin Lafargue (France) 0:01:02.009  
7 Joachim Eilers (Germany) 0:01:02.119  
8 Hugo Haak (Netherlands) 0:01:02.162  
9 James Glasspool (Australia) 0:01:02.165  
10 Steven Burke (Great Britain) 0:01:02.180  
11 Miao Zhang (People's Republic of China) 0:01:02.203  
12 Yudai Nitta (Japan) 0:01:02.623  
13 Juan Peralta Gascon (Spain) 0:01:02.704  
14 Bernard Esterhuizen (South Africa) 0:01:02.915  
15 Kamil Kuczynski (Poland) 0:01:02.930  
16 Adrian Teklinski (Poland) 0:01:03.468  
17 Filip Ditzel (Czech Republic) 0:01:03.525  
18 Puerta Zapata Fabian Hernando (Colombia) 0:01:03.554  
19 Lucas Liß (Germany) 0:01:04.216  
20 Qi Tang (People's Republic of China) 0:01:04.354  
21 Francesco Ceci (Italy) 0:01:04.557  
22 Alex Frame (New Zealand) 0:01:04.794  
23 Muhammad Edrus Md Yunos (Malaysia) 0:01:05.280  
24 Alexander Quincy (Trinidad and Tobago) 0:01:05.850  
25 Angel Ramiro Pulgar Araujo (Venezuela) 0:01:06.333  
26 Ho Ting Kwok (Hong Kong, China) 0:01:06.924  
DNS Seiichiro Nakagawa (Japan)    

Related Articles

Back to top