Mallorca Challenge: Greipel wins bunch sprint in Palma

Bouhanni and Page round out the podium

André Greipel (Lotto-Soudal) claimed his second victory of the week at the Mallorca Challenge, in the Trofeo Playa de Palma - Palma. The previous two days have not been for the fast-men but the German ensured he showed his sprint supremacy with an clear win. Greipel took the honours from a bunch sprint in the Mallorcan capital of Palma, ahead of Nacer Bouhanni (Cofidis) and Dylan Page (Team Roth).

Greipel began his season in the same manner at Trofeo Felanitx - Ses Salines - Campos – Porreres on Thursday when he beat Sam Bennett (Bora-Argon 18) to the line. It is the second season in a row that he has decided to open his year on the Spanish island rather than outside of Europe. It was a move that would prove fruitful for him and he would go on to take four stage wins at the Tour de France later in the season.

The day was marked by a three-man break that escaped down the road early on. Omar Fraile, who is making his Dimension Data debut in Mallorca, lit the fire for the break when he shot down the road on his own. Fellow Spaniards Luis Mas Bonet (Caja-Rural) and Imanol Estevez (Euskadi) were soon to join him in the lead and the forged a seven-minute gap. Despite a climb at the 115km mark, the flat circuit finish made it a perfect day for the sprinters and it was Lotto-Soudal and Bora-Argon 18 that took control on the front of the bunch.

The break stood little chance, and with 30 kilometres still to run their day in the limelight was over. Sending a message to their WorldTour rivals, Lotto-Soudal set Greipel up with almost perfect lead-out to deliver him to the line.

Greipel is set to head to Portugal next for Volta ao Algarve on February 17.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal3:50:53 
2Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
3Dylan Page (Swi) Team Roth  
4Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Argon 18  
5Albert Torres (Spa) Spain  
6Jonas Vangenechten (Bel) IAM Cycling  
7Youcef Reguigui (Alg) Dimension Data  
8Ramunas Navardauskas (Ltu) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
9Lorenzo Manzin (Fra) FDJ  
10Marc Sarreau (Fra) FDJ  
11Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Team Roth  
12Filippo Fortin (Ita) GM Europa Ovini  
13Jay Robert Thomson (RSA) Dimension Data  
14Federico Burchio (Ita) GM Europa Ovini  
15Adrian Gonzalez (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country  
16Mamyr Stash (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo  
17Andrew Fenn (GBr) Team Sky  
18Yves Lampaert (Bel) Etixx - Quick-Step  
19Juan Carlos Riutort (Spa) Burgos BH  
20Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
21Dmitrii Strakhov (Rus) Lokosphinx  
22Vicente Garcia (Spa) Spain  
23Garikoitz Bravo (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country  
24Eduard Prades (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
25Daniel Lopez (Spa) Burgos BH  
26Gianni Meersman (Bel) Etixx - Quick-Step  
27Grischa Janorschke (Ger) Team Roth  
28Artur Ershov (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo  
29Grégory Rast (Swi) Trek-Segafredo  
30Dmitrii Sokolov (Rus) Lokosphinx  
31Christopher Lathan (GBr) Great Britain  
32Oliver Wood (GBr) Great Britain  
33Angel Madrazo Ruiz (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
34Roman Maikin (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo  
35Ryan Mullen (Irl) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
36Ivan Balykin (Rus) GM Europa Ovini  
37Andre Gonçalves (Por) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
38Christian Knees (Ger) Team Sky  
39Rudiger Selig (Ger) Bora-Argon 18  
40Sergei Shilov (Rus) Lokosphinx  
41Christophe Laporte (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
42Rino Zampilli (Ita) Team Roth  
43Nikodemus Holler (Ger) Stradalli-BikeAid  
44Vegard Stake Laengen (Nor) IAM Cycling  
45Odd Christian Eiking (Nor) FDJ  
46Alexey Kurbatov (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo  
47Markel Irizar (Spa) Trek-Segafredo  
48Andrei Solomennikov (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo  
49Martin Elmiger (Swi) IAM Cycling  
50Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Trek-Segafredo  
51Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
52Peio Olaberria (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country  
53Sergey Vdovin (Rus) Lokosphinx  
54Amanuel Mengis (Eri) Stradalli-BikeAid  
55Frank Schleck (Lux) Trek-Segafredo  
56Merhawi Kudus (Eri) Dimension Data  
57Julio Amores (Spa) Spain  
58Marcel Wyss (Swi) IAM Cycling  
59Fabio Felline (Ita) Trek-Segafredo  
60Lawrence Warbasse (USA) IAM Cycling  
61Geoffrey Soupe (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
62Matthias Krizek (Aut) Team Roth  
63Johnathan Dibben (GBr) Great Britain  
64Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal  
65Lukas Jaun (Swi) Team Roth  
66Maxime Bouet (Fra) Etixx - Quick-Step  
67Laurens De Plus (Bel) Etixx - Quick-Step  
68Gert Joeaar (Est) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
69Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
70Luis Mas Bonet (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
71Dayer Quintana (Col) Movistar Team  
72Imanol Erviti Ollo (Spa) Movistar Team  
73Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team  
74Michal Golas (Pol) Team Sky  
75Jorge Arcas Pena (Spa) Movistar Team  
76Igor Anton Hernandez (Spa) Dimension Data  
77Ricardo Vilela (Por) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
78Sebastian Mora (Spa) Spain  
79Zakkari Dempster (Aus) Bora-Argon 18  
80Hugh Carthy (GBr) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
81Gabriel Cullaigh (GBr) Great Britain  
82Christoph Pfingsten (Ger) Bora-Argon 180:00:12 
83Scott Thwaites (GBr) Bora-Argon 18  
84Jérémy Maison (Fra) FDJ  
85Andreas Schillinger (Ger) Bora-Argon 18  
86Marcel Sieberg (Ger) Lotto Soudal0:00:15 
87Jonas Ahlstrand (Swe) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
88Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx - Quick-Step  
89Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky  
90Alberto Cecchin (Ita) Team Roth  
91Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Dimension Data  
92Sébastien Chavanel (Fra) FDJ0:00:29 
93Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra) FDJ  
94Illart Zuazubiscar (Spa) Spain0:00:31 
95Niki Terpstra (Ned) Etixx - Quick-Step  
96José Herrada (Spa) Movistar Team0:00:37 
97Andrey Amador (CRc) Movistar Team  
98Mikel Bizkarra (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country  
99Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
100Johann Van Zyl (RSA) Dimension Data  
101Dylan Van Baarle (Ned) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
102David Arroyo (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
103Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo  
104Hector Saez (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA  
105Rayane Bouhanni (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
106Cyril Lemoine (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits  
107Lars Petter Nordhaug (Nor) Team Sky  
108Gianni Moscon (Ita) Team Sky  
109Iljo Keisse (Bel) Etixx - Quick-Step  
110Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Etixx - Quick-Step  
111Serge Pauwels (Bel) Dimension Data  
112Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Great Britain  
113Andrew Tennant (GBr) Great Britain  
114Matti Breschel (Den) Cannondale Pro Cycling  
115Jasper De Buyst (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:00:46 
116Kirill Sveshnikov (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo0:00:49