Sauser and Kulhavy win Cape Epic Overall

Kleinhans and Langvad cruise to women's victory

Germany’s Jochen Kaess and Austria’s Daniel Geismayr (Meerendal Centurion Vaude) won the last stage of men’s Cape Epic on Sunday. The duo beat Spain’s Jose Hermida and Netherlands’ Rudi van Houts (Multivan Merida) by four seconds, and Swiss pair Martin Gujan and Fabian Giger (Novus OMX Pro) by over a minute on the 92km final stage from Wellington to Meerendal Wine Estate, Durbanville.

Swiss rider Christoph Sauser and his Investec-Songo-Specialized teammate Jaroslav Kulhavy took the overall victory of the eight-day event, beating Czech rider Kristian Hynek and his Topeak Ergon teammate from Austria Alban Lakata by over 10 minutes. Germany’s Karl Platt and Switzerland’s Urs Huber (Bulls) were third overall, 34:25 minutes back.

“This is the coolest thing in the world with all these spectators cheering us on … these moments are very rare,” Sauser said at the finish. “With five kilometres to go I knew that we had it. I tried to absorb as much of it as I could, and thought about all the memories this race has given me.”

Kulhavy added, “it was really good racing with ‘Susi’ … I enjoyed every kilometre of the stage today and especially the finish line.”

In the women’s race, RECM Specialized teammates Ariane Kleinhans from Switzerland and Annika Langvad from Denmark won the final stage. They beat Ascendis Health teammates Jennie Stenerhag from Switzerland and Robyn Lee de Groot from South Africa by 7:22 minutes, and SasolRacing teammates Yolande de Villiers from South Africa and Janka Keseg Stevkova from Slovenia by 13:22.

Kleinhans and Langvad dominated the eight-day race from the prologue and defended their overall title from last year in the women’s category. Runner-up team of Stenerhag and de Groot finished more than an hour back and third-place teammates de Villiers and Stevkova finished more than two hours back.

“We are very happy,” Langvad said. “This is such a special moment – defending our title, winning again with Ariane and being able to celebrate the victory on my birthday.”

Kleinhans added, “We always wanted to defend our title, but when we saw the quality in the field we didn’t know what to expect. Everything just went so smoothly for us.”

Brief results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jochen Kaess (Ger) / Daniel Geismayr (Aus) Meerendal Centurion Vaude3:28:12 
2Jose Hermida (Spa) / Rudi van Houts (Ned) Multivan Merida0:00:04 
3Martin Gujan (Sui) / Fabian Giger (Sui) Novus OMX Pro0:01:11 

Men General Classification

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Christoph Sauser (Sui) / Jaroslav Kulhavy (Cze) Investec-Songo-Specialized31:00:57 
2Kristian Hynek (Cze) / Alban Lakata (Aus) Topeak Ergon0:10:41 
3Karl Platt (Ger) / Urs Huber (Sui) Bulls0:34:25 
4Jose Hermida (Spa) / Rudi van Houts (Ned) Multivan Merida0:46:49 
5Philip Buys (Rsa) 7-2 Matthys Beukes (Rsa) Scott Factory Racing1:06:28 
6Gawie Combrinck (Rsa) / Johann Rabie (Rsa) EAI South Africa1:13:52 
7Darren Lill (Rsa) 36-2 Waylon Woolcock (Rsa) RED-E Blend1:14:18 
8Jochen Kaess (Ger) / Daniel Geismayr (Aus) Meerendal Centurion Vaude1:15:28 
9Martin Gujan (Sui) / Fabian Giger (Sui) Novus OMX Pro1:17:25 
10Rourke Croeser (Rsa) / Travis Walker (Rsa) USN #11:22:39 

Women Stage 7

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ariane Kleinhans (Sui) / Annika Langvad (Den) RECM Specialized4:06:53 
2Jennie Stenerhag (Sui) / Robyn Lee de Groot (Rsa) Ascendis Health0:07:22 
3Yolande de Villiers (Rsa) / Janka Keseg Stevkova (Slo) SasolRacing0:13:22 

Women General Classification

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Ariane Kleinhans (Sui) / Annika Langvad (Den) RECM Specialized37:07:25 
2Jennie Stenerhag (Swe) 55-2 Robyn Lee de Groot (Rsa) Ascendis Health1:18:12 
3Yolande de Villiers (Rsa) 56-2 Janka Keseg Stevkova (Slo) SasolRacing2:09:44 
4Theresa Ralph (Rsa) 137-2 Jeannie Bomford (Rsa) RBS2:33:33 
5Esther Suss (Sui) / Alice Pirard (Bel) Meerendal Wheeler2:47:00 
6Mariske Strauss (Rsa) / Cherie Vale (Rsa) Novus OMX4:34:19 
7Leana de Jager (Rsa) / Yolandi du Toit (Rsa) SasolRacing5:42:45 
8Ann Harrison (Rsa) / Marleen Lourens (Rsa) Dawn Wing/Momsen8:05:06 
9Sanne van Paassen (Rsa) / Jolien Janssen (Ned) Lovechock Specialized8:24:56 
10Genevieve Weber (Rsa) / Wanda Tattersall (Nam) Central Family Practice11:05:09 


Related Articles

Back to top