Kirchmann wins Canadian time trial championships

Tuft captures ninth national time trial title

After missing the Canadian road championships last year, Orica-GreenEdge's Sven Tuft returned to capture his ninth time trial title on Thursday in Lac-Mégantic, Québec. The Langley, BC native won the elite men's 40.4km course in 53:25, besting his nearest competitors, runner-up Hugo Houle (Ag2r La Mondiale) by 2:04 and third placed Ryan Roth (Silber Pro Cycling) by 2:21 minutes.

Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies' Leah Kirchmann secured a head-turning win at the Canadian time trial championships. She muscled her way along the elite women's 28.8km course in 43:28 minutes beating track team pursuit specialist Jasmin Glaesser (Tibco-To The Top) by two seconds and her teammate Anika Todd by 1:01 minutes.

Last year, Kirchmann won the national criterium title and had been her American-based trade team's designated sprinter for much of the season. This year, she showed her capabilities as an all-rounder and a time trialist after spending two days in the leader's jersey at the Redlands Bicycle Classic, where she took two stage wins and a second place in the stage 2 Big Bear time trial. She also won the prologue at the Tuscon Bicycle Classic and placed second at the UCI 1.1 Chrono Gatineau.



Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Svein Tuft (Can) Orica GreenEDGE0:53:25 
2Hugo Houle (Can) AG2R La Mondiale0:02:04 
3Ryan Roth (Can) Team Silber Pro Cycling0:02:21 
4Rob Britton (Can) Team SmartStop0:04:14 
5Rémi Pelletier-Roy (Can) Garneau-Québécor0:04:20 
6Jordan Cheyne (Can) Accent Inns-Russ Hay's p/b Scotiabank0:05:04 
7Kristofer Dahl (Can) Team SmartStop0:05:19 
8Matteo Dal-Cin (Can) Team Silber Pro Cycling0:05:28 
9Curtis Dearden (Can) Accent Inns-Russ Hay's p/b Scotiabank0:05:31 
10Nigel Ellsay (Can) Cycling BC0:05:38 
11Aaron Fillion (Can) Ride With Rendall p/b Biemme0:05:40 
12Jean-Michel Lachance (Can) Team Silber Pro Cycling0:05:47 
13Bruce Bird (Can) Wheels of Bloor/Graywood Development0:06:01 
14Michael Woods (Can)0:06:12 
15Peter Disera (Can) Jet Fuel Coffee/Norco Bicycles0:06:20 
16Garrett Mcleod (Can) Team H&R Block0:06:27 
17Jordan Landolt (Can) IRC p/b Robert Camereron Law0:06:28 
18Bailey Mcknight (Can) Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes0:06:39 
19Frake David (Can) RealDeal/Gears p/b Waspcam0:06:41 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Leah Kirchmann (Can) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies0:43:28 
2Jasmin Glaesser (Can) TIBCO-To the Top0:00:03 
3Anika Todd (Can) TIBCO-To the Top0:01:01 
4Gillian Carleton (Can) Vanderkitten0:01:07 
5Alizée Brien (Can) TIBCO-To the Top0:01:20 
6Annie Foreman-Mackey (Can) Stevens-The Cyclery0:01:31 
7Ellen Watters (Can) Stevens-The Cyclery0:02:17 
8Gabrielle Pilote-Fortin (Can) Equipe du Québec0:02:32 
9Kinley Gibson (Can) Trek Red Truck Racing0:02:34 
10Annie Ewart (Can) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies0:02:38 
11Denise Ramsden (Can) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies0:03:13 
12Paolina Allan (Can) Holiday Inn Calgary0:03:33 
13Catherine Dessureault (Can) SSAS-Mazda-MACOGEP-Specialized0:03:34 
14Jamie Gilgen (Can) RealDeal-Gears p/b Waspcam0:04:22 
15Brook Noble (Can) Holiday Inn Calgary0:04:26 
16Justine Clift (Can) Glotman Simpson Cycles0:04:31 
17Stephanie Skoreyko (Can) Java Blend Racing0:05:15 
18Adriane Provost (Can) SSAS-Mazda-MACOGEP-Specialized0:05:16 
19Saskia Kowalchuk (Can) NCCH p/b DEC express0:05:18 

Related Articles

Back to top