Armitstead takes her second title with solo move

Laura Trott and Dani King complete the podium

Lizzie Armitstead (Boels-Dolmans) secured her second British road title when she soloed to victory in Glasgow Green on Sunday 23rd June. The Yorkshire girl delivered her third podium spot in three years with an aggressive ride on a tough Kermesse style course of 14.2 km around the historic city.

Armitstead finally rid herself of Wiggle Honda¹s Laura Trott and Dani King, finishing with a minute in hand over the duo after more than three hours of racing.

"I was playing the game today," said Armitstead: "I put a little dig in by the University with two laps to go and saw what kind of response Dani and Laura had. Laura was the strongest in the group but I knew that if I attacked on the same place on the final lap, I would be able to go clear."

"I was a little bit worried that the race was a bit easy in the early laps and it took a while for the race to get going. I am grateful to Emma (Trot) who did a lot of work on the front and then she got into the break with us and that helped to take the pressure off me. She was very strong today and also put in a few attacks in that Dani (King) and Laura (Trott) were forced to chase down."

The race had started spritely enough to spectators who watched riders being dropped around the course in the early stages.

Amy Roberts (Wiggle Honda) and Emma Trott had established small lead on the fourth lap when Armitstead used the climb on Montrose Street to put in a blistering attack and only King and Trott could hold onto her wheel.

Roberts dropped back and joined defending champion Sharon Laws (Lotto-Bellisol) in six strong chase group which stayed in striking distance of the leaders for some time.

Emma Trott finally lost contact with the leaders in the closing stages whilst Joanna Rowsell (Wiggle Honda) stopped making pace on the front of the bunch to launch an astonishing solo attack and she cut through the field and pass Trott to finish in fourth spot at 2-58.


Full Results

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Boels Dolmans CT 3:12:40  
2 Laura Trott (GBr) Wiggle Honda 0:01:03  
3 Danielle King (GBr) Wiggle Honda    
4 Joanna Rowsell (GBr) Wiggle Honda 0:02:58  
5 Emma Trott (GBr) Boels Dolmans CT 0:03:20  
6 Sharon Laws (GBr) Lotto - Belisol 0:04:49  
7 Claire Thomas (GBr) Unattached 0:04:52  
8 Emma Grant (GBr) Matrix Fitness Racing 0:04:54  
9 Natalie Creswick (GBr) Mulebar Girl - Sigma Sport 0:05:33  
10 Elinor Barker (GBr) Wiggle Honda 0:07:29  
11 Alexie Shaw (GBr) Les Filles Racing Team 0:08:12  
12 Amy Roberts (GBr) Wiggle Honda 0:10:30  
13 Laura Massey (GBr) Abergavenny RC 0:11:14  
14 Lucy Garner (GBr) Argos - Shimano 0:11:51  
15 Hannah Barnes (GBr) MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling    
16 Charline Joiner (GBr) MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling    
17 Eileen Roe (GBr) Breast Cancer Care    
18 Molly Weaver (GBr) Breast Cancer Care    
19 Hannah Walker (GBr) Matrix Fitness Racing    
20 Julie Erskine (GBr) Granite City RT    
21 Corrine Hall (GBr) Matrix Fitness Racing    
22 Jessie Walker (GBr) Matrix Fitness Racing 0:11:54  
23 Lucy Martin (GBr) Boels Dolmans CT 0:11:55  
24 Helen Ralston (GBr) Les Filles Racing Team 0:14:04  
25 Jane Barr (GBr) Breast Cancer Care 0:14:05  
26 Karen Poole (GBr) GB 0:14:06  
27 Lucy Coldwell (GBr) Unattached    
28 Joanna Tindley (GBr) Matrix Fitness Racing 0:17:29  
29 Gabriella Shaw (GBr) Breast Cancer Care 0:17:30  
30 Melissa Brand (GBr) MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling    
31 Jennifer Taylor (GBr) Velo Ecosse/Montpeliers    
32 Penny Rowson (GBr) Breast Cancer Care 0:17:33  
OTL Natalie Grinczer (GBr) Abergavenny RC    
OTL Laura Murray (GBr) Breast Cancer Care    
OTL Lowri Devey (GBr) Abergavenny RC    
OTL Laura Wasley (GBr) Scott Contessa Epic    
OTL Brit Tate (GBr) GB    
OTL Jennifer Edwards (GBr) Rhos On Sea CC    
OTL Hayley Edwards (GBr) MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling    
OTL Danielle Christmas (GBr) Team ASL360    
OTL Nicole Oh (GBr) Les Filles Racing Team    
OTL Joanna Smith (GBr) Feminin Languedoc Roussillon    
OTL Claire Martin (GBr) Edinburgh RC    
OTL Rachel Przybylski (GBr) WyndyMilla    
DNF Lauren Brown (GBr) Abergavenny RC    
DNF Jessica Learmonth (GBr) BBM Revolution CC    
DNF Anne Ewing (GBr) Breast Cancer Care    
DNF Eve Dixon (GBr) Champion Maxgear/Base    
DNF Katie Archibald (GBr) City of Edinburgh RC    
DNF Hayley Simmonds (GBr) GB    
DNF Harriet Owen (GBr) Matrix Fitness Racing    
DNF Karla Boddy (GBr) MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling    
DNF Gemma Neill (GBr) Pedal Power RT    
DNF Anda-Jay Burgess (GBr) Sandy Wallace Cycles    
DNF Katie Colclough (GBr) Specialized-Lululemon    
Under 23 Classification
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Laura Trott (GBr) Wiggle Honda 3:13:43  
2 Emma Grant (GBr) Matrix Fitness Racing 0:03:51  
3 Elinor Barker (GBr) Wiggle Honda 0:06:26  
4 Amy Roberts (GBr) Wiggle Honda 0:09:27  
5 Lucy Garner (GBr) Argos - Shimano 0:10:48  
6 Hannah Barnes (GBr) MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling    
7 Molly Weaver (GBr) Breast Cancer Care    
8 Hannah Walker (GBr) Matrix Fitness Racing    
9 Corrine Hall (GBr) Matrix Fitness Racing    
10 Jessie Walker (GBr) Matrix Fitness Racing 0:10:51  
11 Gabriella Shaw (GBr) Breast Cancer Care 0:16:27  
12 Penny Rowson (GBr) Breast Cancer Care 0:16:30  


Back to top