Ryan and Fry win eliminator in Adelaide

Australian Mountain Bike National Series opens for competition

Cameron Ryan and Rowena Fry won the elite eliminator races at the first round of the Australian National Mountain Bike Series in Eagle Park in Adelaide on Friday.


Reigning Oceania Champion Rowena Fry was the hot favourite in the elite women's eliminator final, and she raced Sarah Holmes, Emily Parkes and young gun Sarah Tucknott.

Just as in the last Oceania Championships, Parkes started strong leading the field onto the first climb. Unfortunately Parkes lost traction on the inside line and crashed allowing the rest of the field to pass.

From this position, Fry took the lead, never looking back to claim the National Series Round 1 eliminator win. Holmes claimed second place in a sprint finish behind Fry and Parkes managed to recover from her earlier crash claiming final podium position in third.


In the elite men's eliminator, Cameron Ryan led the field from the gun, and maintained a lead in a close race from the fastest seeded Ivory.

Both riders negotiated the technical elements well, and on the final corner, Ivory made a strong passing move and then maintained his efforts to out-sprint the local Ryan to take the win. Third place went to Connor Mackne.

Full Results

Elite, U23*, and Junior** men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Cameron Ivory*  
2Cameron Ryan*  
3Connor Mackne**  
4Samuel Barnden*  
5Jason Lowndes*  
6Matthew McCorkell**  
7Benjamin Dengate**  
8Reece Tucknott**  
9Luke Brame**  
9Andrew Choma  
9Jack Allison*  
12Todd Lorenz  
13Tristan Ward*  
13Felix Smalley**  
13Michael Potter**  
13Jonathon Noble**  
13Cosi Hofman**  
13Liam Jeffries**  
19Kyle Ward*  
19Christopher Aitken*  
19Brendan Rose**  
Elite, U23*, and Junior** women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Rowena Fry  
2Sarah Holmes  
3Emily Parkes*  
4Sarah Tucknott**  
5Jaclyn Schapel  
6Kelly Bartlett  
7Zoe Cuthbert**  
8Sara Mills**  
9Sally Potter**  
10Jennifer Enderby  
Men open
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Stuart Brown  
2Todd Cuthbert  
3Brad Clarke  
4Daniel Beresford  
5Damien Enderby  
6David Keir  
7Michael Inglis  
8Martin Keir  
9Shane VanLuenen  
10Myles Higgins  
11Paul Darvodelsky  
U17 men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Dylan Mckenna  
2Ben Walkerden  
3Jackson Frew  
4Nick Pedler  
5Kian Lerch Mackinnon  
6Cameron Wright  
7Jasper Albrecht  
8Luke Pankhurst  
9Callum Inglis  
10Joshua Markham  
11Johl Basso  
12Nohah Dayman  
Back to top