O'Shea, Meyer claim Australian Madison title

Langedyk/Finning fall shy in finale

Victoria's Glenn O'Shea (Bendigo & District CC) and West Australia's Cameron Meyer claimed the 2010 2XU Australian Madison Championship in Melbourne on Friday night. The event saw a sold-out crowd pack Darebin International Sports Centre (DISC).

The pair held off strong challenges from one of the strongest Australian madison fields ever assembled including Olympic Madison champion Graeme Brown and world under 23 time trial champion Jack Bobridge, Junior World Champions Alex Carver and Luke Durbridge, defending champions Sean Finning and James Langedyk, Travis Meyer and Michael Freiberg and New Zealand’s Tom Scully and Shane Archbold.

The stellar cast put on a superb show for the crowd with the early pace set by New Zealand's Achbold/Scully. Despite an early fall by Archbold, the duo lead on 13 points at the midway point, a slight lead over the West Australian pair of Travis Meyer and Michael Freiberg on 12 points, with world junior champions Alex Carver and Luke Durbridge in third.

The championship's decisive moment came from O'Shea and Meyer shortly after the fifth sprint when, knowing they were well behind on points, Meyer launched a daring solo attack and quickly gained a lap on the field. However with three sprints remaining, defending champions Finning (Castlemaine CC) and Langedyk (Geelong CC) led an immediate counter attack, and a subsequent move by the second New Zealand pairing of Aaron Gate and Myron Simpson, quickly put new points leaders Carver and Durbridge quickly out of contention.

The race quickly became a battle of three in the final stages, with each remaining sprint a nail biting affair between the pairs. Going into the 10th and final sprint, O’Shea and Meyer held a four point advantage over Finning and Langedyk and despite Finning taking the maximum five points in final sprint to move to 11 points, Meyer held on for second place, with the three points enough to take the championships on 13 points. Simpson and gate finished third on 6 points.

In the other events, the Clipsal 2010 Victorian Keirin Championships featured some of Australia's best sprinters, with Queensland's world champion Anna Meares taking out the women’s final head of New South Wales' Kaarle McCulloch. Crowd favourite Josiah Ng of Malaysia took the men’s event.

Shannon McCurley (La Trobe City CC) won the Under 19 women’s crown, whilst Maddison Hammond (Northcote CC) capped a stellar 2009 with victory in the Under 19 men’s event.

Men 17 Future Stars - 8 Lap Scratch Race
1Jack Cummings  
2Jacob Schmidt  
3Evan Hull  
4Emerson Harwood  
5Thomas Hamilton  
6Clement Boydell  
7Brae Mapson  
8Alex Morgan  
9Robert Oakenfull  
10Lachlan Nolte  
11Jack French  
12Munro Boydell  
13Sam O'Dea  
14Travis Hee  
Women 17 Future Stars - 8 Lap Scratch Race
1Imogen Jelbart  
2Caitlin Ward  
3Antonia Abbisogni  
4Lauretta Hanson  
5Ruby Greig-Hurtig  
6Grace Fryer  
7Emily Wordie-Thompson  
8Ebony Clarke  
9Briony Cole  
Elite Men - Brunetti Points Race 40 Laps
1Glenn O'Shea / Cameron Meyer21pts
2Jack Bobridge / Graeme Brown17 
3Richard Lang / Scott Law14 
4Luke Durbridge / Alex Carver11 
5Travis Meyer / Michael Freiberg8 
6Sam Witmitz / Brendan Schultz7 
7James Langedyk / Sean Finning4 
8Luke Ockerby / Peter Loft2 
9Alex Edmondson / George Tansley1 
Men 17 Future Stars - Points Race
1Evan Hull  
2Jack Cummings  
3Clement Boydell  
4Alex Morgan  
5Thomas Hamilton  
6Jacob Schmidt  
7Munro Boydell  
Women 17 Future Stars - Elimination
1Imogen Jelbart  
2Antonia Abbisogni  
3Lauretta Hanson  
4Caitlin Ward  
5Ruby Greig-Hurtig  
6Ebony Clarke  
7Grace Fryer  
8Emily Wordie-Thompson  
2Xu Australian Madison Championship
1Glenn O'Shea / Cameron Meyer33pts
2James Langedyk / Sean Finning31 
3Myron Simpson / Aaron Gate26 
4Travis Meyer / Michael Freiberg21 
5Tom Scully / Shane Archbold20 
6Jack Bobridge / Graeme Brown16 
7Luke Duebridge / Alex Carver14 
8Richard Lang / Scott Law5 
9Rohan Dennis / Dale Parker  
10Mark O'Brien / Adiq Othman19pts
11Sam Witmitz / Brendan Schultz20 
12Alex Edmondson / George Tansley20 
13Sam Spokes / Patrick Drapac40 
14Amir Rusli / Akmal Amrun40 
15Luke Ockerby / Peter Loft77 
DNFJoel Pearson / Trevor Griffiths  


Related Articles

Back to top