Owen wins US junior 'cross title

Eighth consecutive title for junior phenom

Falling temperatures started to thicken the Wisconsin mud and freeze sections of the course before the start of the Junior 17-18 Men’s race at US Cyclo-cross Nationals. Logan Owen (Team Redline) went into today’s race with a firm plan to send the top ranked junior rider in the world, Mathieu van der Poel, a clear message that he would have a serious challenger at the upcoming world championships in Louisville, Kentucky. Owen took the lead on the first hill and didn't let up until he crossed the finish line two minutes ahead of his closest competitor.

"I went out there and made a statement to van der Poel that I'm riding strong," said Owen after the race. "I want to show him that I am going to at least stay with him at Louisville and give him a run for his money."

A pile up in the first turn of the race caused by a slippery road surface gave the front row starters an uncluttered path through the hole-shot. Several riders including Curtis White (Hot Tubes) Logan Owen, and Maxx Chance (Clif Bar) used the opportunity to grab a clean line through the first muddy sections of the course.

Owen quickly established a sizable lead with his metronome-like pace on the steep Koppen-Badger hill that heads into the top of the course. Curtis White provided a brief challenge to Owen before settling into a battle for second with Peter Goguen (C.F. Racing P/B Trek Portsmouth.) "I was trying to stay with Logan," said White. "I got the hole shot, and there was some bumping, but that's racing. Then Logan just kind of rode away."

Owen pitted several times and determined that his Redline equipped with DI2 shifting to be the right bike for the day. "The DI2 was working awesome," said Owen about his bikes ability to maneuver through the thickening mud. "That stuff works way better in the mud than mechanical shifting."

After a brief scare from Skyler Mackey (Team Soundpony), White settled into a protracted battle with Goguen, who was also riding a bike set up with DI2 shifting. "After that second pit I just put a few bike lengths into him and then just started to chip away at him bit by bit," said White who is pre-selected for Worlds in Louisville based on his current World Cup finishes. "A lot of places there is just no line, you just had to power through it, and you were just slipping and sliding."

As Owen went into the last lap he appeared to have a mechanical problem and decided to run his bike to the pit from a close-by 180-degree turn. "I was trying to get my gloves off," laughed Owen when asked about his troubles. "I just stopped in the pit and took my gloves off. They were getting too muddy."

For Owen, his 8th national championship is part of his build up to the world championships scheduled for Louisville, Kentucky on February 2nd. "I'm feeling great, I'm ready to go to Louisville," said Owen about his chances heading into Worlds. "I'm on really good form right now, and hopefully I can hold it into Worlds."

Full Results

Junior men 17-18
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Logan Owen (Team Redline) 0:43:19  
2 Curtis White (Hot Tubes Development Cycling Team Inc.) 0:01:58  
3 Peter Goguen (C.F. Racing) 0:02:24  
4 David Lombardo (Verdigris-Village CX Team/Village-Verdigris Cycling) 0:04:30  
5 Anders Nystrom (BYRDS (Boise Young Rider Dev Squad)) 0:04:56  
6 Josey Weik (ISCorp Cycling/NCSF) 0:05:00  
7 Maxx Chance (Clif Bar Development Cross Team) 0:05:16  
8 Ian McPherson (Clif Bar Development Cross Team) 0:05:40  
9 Nolan Brady (Revel Consulting/Rad Racing NW) 0:05:44  
10 Ian Haupt (My Wife Inc) 0:06:10  
11 Tyler Schwartz (SDG Felt) 0:06:22  
12 Garrett Gerchar (Boulder Junior Cycling) 0:08:11  
13 Gunner Dygert (BISSELL-ABG-GIANT/Indianapolis Cycling Club) 0:08:26  
14 John Francisco (Red Zone Cycling) 0:08:43  
15 Dylan Vance (901 Racing) 0:09:31  
16 Earl Gage (JBV Coaching) 0:09:49  
17 Ethan Furois (Gopher Wheelmen) 0:10:00  
18 Douglas Hall (The TEAM SoCalCross/The TEAM) 0:10:41  
19 Nevin Whittemore (Boulder Junior Cycling) 0:12:17  
-1lap Keegan Sotebeer (Groove Subaru-Alpha Bicycle Co)    
-1lap Colin Catlin (Gopher Wheelmen)    
-1lap Skyler Mackey (Team Soundpony)    
-1lap Nicholas Torraca (Mad Duck Racing)    
-1lap Stephen Bassett (Bob's Red Mill Cyclocross Team/Bob's Red Mill Cyclocross)    
-1lap Nolan McQueen (Bob's Red Mill Cyclocross)    
-1lap Jonathan Anderson (Essex County Velo)    
-1lap David Hart (County Cycles/Gopher Wheelmen)    
-1lap Garrett Roth (ISCorp Cycling/NCSF)    
-1lap Eli Hemming (Groove Subaru-Alpha Bicycle Co)    
-1lap Andrew Bailey (Dean Endurance MTB/Piney Flats Bicycles/Tri Cities Road Club)    
-1lap Luke Beemer (Midwest Development Cycling Inc.)    
-1lap Andris Delins (County Cycles/Gopher Wheelmen)    
-1lap Nolan Tankersley (MSG Cyclocross/Tri Cities Road Club)    
-1lap Isaac Jonas (KCOI U20)    
-2laps David OBrien (Revel Consulting/Rad Racing NW)    
-2laps Zachary Carlson (Matrix/RBM/Matrix Cycling Club)    
-2laps Spencer Downing (Clif Bar Development Cross Team)    
-2laps Ryan Ramirez (The Pony Shop)    
-2laps Ryan Munko (UPMC Cycling Performance)    
-2laps Michael Gaines (Gopher Wheelmen)    
-2laps Daniel Santos (Red Zone Cycling)    
-2laps Eric Botos (BYRDS (Boise Young Rider Dev Squad))    
-2laps Sam Winters (Dire Wolf Racing)    
-2laps Brian Gaines (Gopher Wheelmen)    
-2laps Lane Johnson (KCOI U20)    
-2laps Cameron Hooyer ()    
DNF Nathaniel Morse (Hot Tubes Development Cycling Team Inc.)    
DNF Tom Mosby (Cyclocrossracing.com)    
DNF Jacob Schilling (Team Mack Racing/Team Mack Racing Assoc. LTD)    
DNF Taylor Squillaci (Get Out! New Mexico)    


Back to top