Contador solos to second career Curaçao victory

Hushovd outsprints Moerenhout for second place

For the second time in his career, Spain's Alberto Contador (Astana) won the Amstel Curaçao Race in the Netherlands Antilles. The two-time Tour de France champion attacked his two breakaway companions, Thor Hushovd (Cervélo TestTeam) and Koos Moerenhout (Rabobank), just prior to the finish and soloed to victory. Tour de France green jersey winner Hushovd outsprinted Dutch road champion Moerenhout moments later to round out the podium.

Moerenhout launched the winning move when he attacked on the Juliana Bridge and was joined by Contador and Hushovd.

The sprint for fourth place was won by Mark Cavendish (Columbia-HTC) ahead of Kenny van Hummel (Skil-Shimano) and Edvald Boasson Hagen (Columbia-HTC).

Brief results
1Alberto Contador (Spa) Astana  
2Thor Hushovd (Nor) Cervélo TestTeam  
3Koos Moerenhout (Ned) Rabobank  
4Mark Cavendish (GBr) Columbia-HTC  
5Kenny Van Hummel (Ned) Skil-Shimano  
6Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Columbia-HTC  

Related Articles

Back to top