Cunego reaps the benefits of uphill finish

Sella, Laverde round out top three

Damiano Cunego has won the Tour of the Apennines for the second time in his career.

Cunego (Lampre-ISD) beat finished ahead of Emanuele Sella (Androni Toys) and Colombia's Felipe Laverde (Colombia Es Pasion - Cafe De Colombia). The 29-year-old Italian hit his stride on the Bochetta ascent and never looked back.

"[It was] A beautiful victory, I felt at my best and was able to reap the benefits from the work throughout the day," Cunego said following the win.

It was the second time Cunego had won in Genoa, last tasting victory in 2004.

On Thursday, Cunego made the decision to pull out of the Tour of the Basque Country, claiming he wanted to concentrate on his preparation for the Ardennes Classics.

"I thought I could do better, but at the same time, I knew I wasn't at the same level as the other riders in the race," he said via statement. "I came here to race, which wasn't part of my schedule, to work hard to recover the lost time I had from an illness.

"The objectives are the Ardennes classics and I need to compete against the best riders," he said. "After [Thursday's] stage, I was not up high on GC and there's a time trial Saturday that does not favour me. So I thought the best thing I could do is go home."

Cunego is one of 32 riders and team staff waiting to hear if he will be charged in relation to the Mantova doping investigation.



Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre - ISD4:27:47 
2Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
3Luis Felipe Laverde Jimenez (Col) Colombia Es Pasion - Cafe De Colombia  
4Jackson Rodriguez (Ven) Androni Giocattoli  
5Pasquale Muto (Ita) Miche  
6José Rujano Guillen (Ven) Androni Giocattoli  
7Alessandro De Marchi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
8Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli0:01:55 
9Stefan Schumacher (Ger) Miche  
10Angel Vicioso Arcos (Spa) Androni Giocattoli  
11Ruggero Marzoli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
12Federico Canuti (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
13Paolo Bailetti (Ita) De Rosa - Ceramica Flaminia  
14Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre - ISD  
15Johan Esteban Chaves Rubio (Col) Colombia Es Pasion - Cafe De Colombia  
16Manuele Mori (Ita) Lampre - ISD  
17Christopher Jones (USA) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling  
18Giuseppe Muraglia (Ita) d'Angelo & Antenucci - Nippo  
19Tomaz Nose (Slo) Adria Mobil  
20Philipp Mamos (Ger) Amore & Vita  
21Valeriy Kobzarenko (Ukr) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis  
22Jose Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) Androni Giocattoli  
23Jarlinson Pantano (Col) Colombia Es Pasion - Cafe De Colombia  
24Alessandro Proni (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
25Simone Stortoni (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox0:02:00 
26Charles Wegelius Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling  
27Junya Sano (Jpn) d'Angelo & Antenucci - Nippo  
28Stefano Pirazzi (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
29Francesco Failli (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
30Filippo Savini (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox0:02:11 
31Alessandro Bertolini (Ita) Androni Giocattoli0:02:20 
32Luca Mazzanti (Ita)0:02:26 
33Andrea Noe (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
34Ermanno Capelli (Ita) Team Vorarlberg0:07:00 
35Dominik Hrinkow (Aut) Team Vorarlberg0:10:26 
36Constantino Zaballa Gutierrez (Spa) Miche  
37Fausto Fognini (Ita) WIT  
38Christian Meier (Can) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling  
39Jahir Perez (Col) Colombia Es Pasion - Cafe De Colombia  
40Stefan Rucker (Aut)  
41Kristjan Fajt (Slo) Adria Mobil  
42Vladislav Borisov (Rus) Amore & Vita  
43Daniele Callegarin (Ita) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis  
44Mitja Mahoric (Slo) Adria Mobil  
45Alberto Di Lorenzo (Ita) Meridiana Kamen Team  
46Davide Torosantucci (Ita) d'Angelo & Antenucci - Nippo  
47Javier Megias Leal (Spa) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis  
48Alessandro Spezialetti (Ita) Lampre - ISD  
49Alexander Efimkin (Rus) Team Type 1 - Sanofi Aventis  
50David Loosli (Swi) Lampre - ISD  
51Carlos José Ochoa (Ven) Androni Giocattoli  
52Francesco Di Paolo (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
53Alessandro Donati (Ita) Acqua & Sapone  
54Aristide Ratti (Ita) WIT  
55Alessandro Bisolti (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli  
56Frederico Rocchetti (Ita) De Rosa - Ceramica Flaminia  
57Blaz Furdi (Slo) Adria Mobil  
58Patrick Schelling (Swi) Price Your Bike0:11:09 
59Joël Eglin (Swi) Price Your Bike  
60Juan Sebastian Tamayo Martinez (Col) WIT  
61Carlos Andres Martinez Montero (Col) Colombia Es Pasion - Cafe De Colombia  
62Norberto Wilches (Col) Meridiana Kamen Team  
63Primoz Segina (Slo) Adria Mobil  
64Simone Boifava (Ita) Ora Hotels Carrera  
65Marco Stefani (Ita) WIT  
66Volodymyr Bileka (Ukr) Amore & Vita  
67Michael Schwaiger (Aut)  
68Patrik Moren (Swe) Amore & Vita  
69Sergio Lagana (Ita) De Rosa - Ceramica Flaminia  
70Sergey Kolesnikov (Rus) Amore & Vita  
71Bradley White (USA) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling  
72Damiano Margutti (Ita) De Rosa - Ceramica Flaminia  
73Manuele Caddeo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  
74Alessandro Malaguti (Ita) Ora Hotels Carrera  
75Roberto Antonio Richeze (Arg) Ora Hotels Carrera  
76Adriano Angeloni (Ita) Ora Hotels Carrera  
77Oleksandr Kvachuk (Ukr) Lampre - ISD  
78Walter Proch (Ita) Ora Hotels Carrera  
79Angelo Pagani (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox  


Back to top