Van De Walle wins second straight Halle-Ingooigem

Belgian solos to victory

Jurgen Van De Walle (Quick Step) soloed to victory today at Halle-Ingooigem, winning the 198.6km event for the second consecutive year. Arnoud Van Groen (Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team) finished alone in second place, 21 seconds behind Van De Walle, while Greg Van Avermaet (Omega Pharma-Lotto) won the sprint for third 28 seconds later from a six-man chase group.

"I am very happy," Van De Walle said. "I am the first rider able to win two times in a row at this race which is special. This victory is great for motivation ahead of the Tour de France.

"I have to say thanks to the team and particularly to Stijn Devolder that in the final part of the race blocked all the attacks behind me."

Van De Walle was part of an eight-man escape which formed with 20km remaining in the race. Also included in the break were Van De Walle's teammate Stijn Devolder, Arnoud Van Groen and Johnny Hoogerland (Vacansoleil), Greg Van Avermaet (Omega Pharma-Lotto), Huub Duyn (Team Netapp), Bert Scheirlinckx (Landbouwkrediet) and Andy Cappelle (Verandas Willems).

Devolder launched an attack on the Tiegemberg, but his escape attempt was neutralised. With three kilometres remaining Van De Walle found the right moment to attack and he soloed away to victory. Van Groen set off in pursuit, but was unable to reach the Belgian and settled for second place. Van Avermaet won the sprint from the remainder of the break for third place.

Full Results
1Jurgen Van De Walle (Bel) Quick Step4:20:03 
2Arnoud Van Groen (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team0:00:21 
3Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto0:00:49 
4Stijn Devolder (Bel) Quick Step  
5Huub Duyn (Ned) Team Netapp  
6Johnny Hoogerland (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team  
7Bert Scheirlinckx (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
8Andy Cappelle (Bel) Verandas Willems  
9Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto0:02:15 
10Johan Coenen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator0:02:20 
11Stefan Van Dijk (Ned) Verandas Willems  
12Björn Leukemans (Bel) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team  
13Frederik Veuchelen (Bel) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team  
14Wouter Weylandt (Bel) Quick Step0:02:34 
15Steven Caethoven (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
16Eric Baumann (Ger) Team Netapp  
17Nikolas Maes (Bel) Quick Step  
18Michiel Elijzen (Ned) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
19Benjamin Verraes (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht  
20Gregory Habeaux (Bel) Verandas Willems  
21Pieter Vanspeybrouck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
22Steven Van Vooren (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
23Bert De Waele (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
24Gilles Devillers (Bel) Lotto - Bodysol  
25Iljo Keisse (Bel) Quick Step  
26Kevin Neirynck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
27Jérôme Baugnies (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator  
28Stijn Minne (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly  
29Antonio Quadranti (Ita) CarmioOro NGC  
30Sven Van Den Houte (Bel) Verandas Willems  
31Rhys Pollock (Aus) Drapac Porsche Cycling  
32Robin Chaigneau (Ned) Skil - Shimano  
33Rob Ruijgh (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team  
34Sjef De Wilde (Bel) Verandas Willems  
35Christophe Brandt (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto0:02:40 
36Kevin Van Impe (Bel) Quick Step  
37Travis Meyer (Aus) Garmin - Transitions0:02:44 
38Bastien Delrot (Fra) Team Netapp0:03:02 
39Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator0:03:25 
40Davy Commeyne (Bel) Landbouwkrediet0:03:33 
41Kenny Dehaes (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
42Kim Borry (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly  
43James Vanlandschoot (Bel) Verandas Willems0:03:39 
44Kenny Lisabeth (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly  
45Nicky Cocquyt (Bel) Qin Cycling Team  
46Mats Boeve (Ned) Rabobank  
47Jérémy Burton (Bel) Lotto - Bodysol  
48David Deroo (Fra) Skil - Shimano  
49Jetse Bol (Ned) Rabobank  
50Joseph Lewis (Aus) Drapac Porsche Cycling  
51Matthias Bertling (Ger) Team Kuota - Indeland  
52Cesare Benedetti (Ita) Team Netapp  
53Luc Hagenaars (Ned) Team Kuota - Indeland  
54Jurgen Francois (Bel) Palmans - Cras  
55Timothy Vangheel (Ned) Palmans - Cras  
56Robert Retschke (Ger) Continental Team Differdange  
57Jonas Van Genechten (Bel) Verandas Willems  
58Alain Van Der Velde (Ned) Qin Cycling Team  
59Brian Bulgac (Ned) Rabobank  
60Garrit Broeders (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht  
61Jan Kuycks (Bel) Qin Cycling Team  
62Rob Goris (Bel) Palmans - Cras  
63Fabio Terrenzio (Ita) CarmioOro NGC  
64Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) Sunweb - Revor  
65Glenn D'Hollander (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto  
66Frank Dressler-Lehnhof (Ger) Continental Team Differdange  
67Francesco Tizza (Ita) CarmioOro NGC  
68Timothy Duggan (USA) Garmin - Transitions  
69Remco Broers (Ned) Rabobank  
70Thomas Vernaeckt (Bel) Sunweb - Revor  
71Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
72Frédéric Amorison (Bel) Landbouwkrediet  
73Joeri Calleeuw (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht  

Related Articles

Back to top