De Buyst and De Ketele win overall in Gent

Cavendish and Keisse take second

A day before his 22nd birthday Jasper De Buyst and his partner Kenny De Ketele (Baloise Insurance) took victory in the final Madison of the Gent Six Day to claim the overall win ahead of Omega Pharma-QuickStep pair Mark Cavendish and Iljo Keisse. Leif Lampater and Silvan Dillier (Caruur) completed the top three.

The race for the overall victory went right down to the wire with success hinging on the final sprint to the line. De Buyst and De Ketele went into the final race of the night equal on laps and 52-point advantage over their nearest rivals. Knowing that they needed the bonus laps to push the Bloise Insurance duo off the top spot, Cavendish and Keisse went aggressive right from the start. De Buyst and De Ketele were wise to their moves and tracked down every attack.

The two pairs traded blows throughout the day. Cavendish and Keisse drew first blood with victory ahead of Lampater and Dillier in the team elimination. De Buyst and De Ketele had a slower start to the day but edged back into the lead after the 500m sprint due to the bonus lap earned for hitting 400 points.

Cavendish and Keisse kept the fight alive with victory in the final Derny race of the evening but it wasn’t enough to topple the champions.


Final results after day 6
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jasper De Buyst (Bel)/ Kenny De Ketele (Bel) Team Baloise Insurance440 pts
2Mark Cavendish(GBr)/ Iljo Keisse (Bel) Omega Pharma-QuickStep394 
3Leif Lampater (Bel)/ Dillier Silvan (Sui) Team Caruur311 +1Lap 
4Alex Rasmussen (Den)/ Marc Hester (Den) Team Lotto279 +2Laps 
5Nick Stöpler (Bel)/ Otto Vergaerde (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen215 +7Laps 
6Moreno De Pauw (Bel) / Christian Grasmann (Ger) Provincie Oost-Vlaanderen253 +10Laps 
7Albert Torres (Spa)/ David Muntaner (Spa) John Saey – Lecot153 +15Laps 
8Glenn O'Shea (Aus)/- Shane Archbold (NZl) Callant - Upgrade Estate186 +21Laps 
9Ivan Savitsky (Rus)/ Viktor Manakov (Rus) Primus Haacht186 +26Laps 
10Michael Vingerling (Ned)/ Yoeri Havik (Ned) Team 3M109 +29Laps 
11Morgan Kneisky (Fra) - Vivien Brisse (Fra) T-Interim73 +29Laps 
12Lucas Liss (Ger)/ Andreas Müller (Ger) Vanreusel Snacks40 +30Laps 
13Didier Caspers (Ned)/ Melvin Van Zijl (Ned) Eurotyre – JDK6 +31Laps 


Related Articles

Back to top