Commonwealth Games: Australia dominates on opening day on the track

Wiggins makes his return to the boards

Australia reigned supreme on the opening day of the track at the Commonwealth Games. They brought home two golds, a silver and three bronzes, and set a new Games record along the way.

Anna Meares kicked off proceedings for the team from down under, taking gold in the 500 metre time trial. It would also prove to be the nation’s first gold of the entire games. She was untouchable as she completed her two laps 33.434, over half a second faster than her teammate Stephanie Morton. It is Meares’ third consecutive title in the event.

Meares was still talking to the press when Australia’s team pursuit squad took to the track, and she took a break from the post-race press hop to watch them demolish the English over 4000 metres and earn the second gold.

The women's 500m TT podium: Stephanie Morton and Anna Meares (Australia 1-2) and Jess Varnish (England, 3)
Photo: AFP

The Australians had qualified fastest that morning and went into the match-up as clear favourites, despite four-time Olympic Gold medallist Bradley Wiggins joining the squad.

By the end of the first lap, the Aussies had built up a lead of almost a second. There was no going back from there and it only increased as the laps ticked down. There was a moment of hope for the English when Australia lost a man just over the half-way point. The gap came down by a couple of tenths but shot back up as Australia hit their stride and England also went down to three men. Australia soon had England in their sights and the catch was a real possibility. England managed to fend off the charging men in gold and green, but only just. The Australians finish more than five seconds ahead their opponents.

Australia won gold in the men's team pursuit with Jack Bobridge, Luke Davison, Alex Edmondson and Glenn O'Shea
Photo: Joby Sessions

The team sprint gave the southern hemisphere another shot at gold with a strong looking New Zealand taking on an England side that is still in development. Kian Emadi joined Olympic champions Jason Kenny and Philip Hindes in the final medal race of the evening. Like Australia in the pursuit, New Zealand took the advantage after the first lap and never looked back. When the Kiwis crossed the finish line they had taken half a second out of the English.

Men's team sprint winners New Zealand: Ethan Mitchell, Sam Mitchell, Edward Dawkins
Photo: Joby Sessions

Home nation Scotland finally stepped on the podium when they took silver in the women's Para-Sport Sprint B2 Tandem. Three time Paralympics champion Aileen McGlynn and her partner Louise Haston went up against Sophie Thornhill and Helen Scott of England in the final. The English team were strong and dominated proceedings, and only needed two races to take gold. Australia wrapped up another medal, taking bronze with Brandie O’Connor and Breanna Hargrave.

In the morning session, Matthew Glaetzer set down a big marker in the opening rounds of the individual sprint. The Australian was last to go and didn’t disappoint when he smashed the time of New Zealand’s Edward Dawkins and set a new Games record of 9.779 seconds.

Jason Kenny (England) had a bad start to his Commonwealth Games campaign. The Olympic champion finished 10th in the qualifying rounds and was pitted against Dawkins, who went onto beat him, in the opening round. Kenny was forced to fight it out in the repechage, but came through comfortably.

Full Results

Men's Sprint Qualifying
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathew Glaetzer (Australia)0:00:09.779 
2Ed Dawkins (New Zeland)0:00:09.818 
3Sam Webster (New Zeland)0:00:09.933 
4Peter Lewis (Australia)0:00:09.975 
5Mathew Archibald (New Zeland)0:00:10.055 
6Philip Hindes (England)0:00:10.108 
7Mohd Azizulhasni Awang (Malaysia)0:00:10.158 
8Lewis Oliva (Wales)0:00:10.171 
9Njisane Phillip (Trinidad and Tobago)0:00:10.188 
10Callum Skinner (Scotland)0:00:10.198 
11Jason Kenny (England)0:00:10.206 
12Mathew Crampton (England)0:00:10.213 
13M.E. Md Yunos (Malaysia)0:00:10.257 
14J. Paul (Scotland)0:00:10.308 
15Hugo Barrette (Canada)0:00:10.316 
16B. Esterhuizen (South Africa)0:00:10.317 
17Vincent De Haitre (Canada)0:00:10.411 
18C. Pritchard (Scotland)0:00:10.412 
19Joe Veloce (Canada)0:00:10.428 
20M.R. Tisin (Malaysia)0:00:10.575 
21Q. Alexander (Trinidad and Tobago)0:00:10.774 
22A. Nagi (India)0:00:11.114 
23A.Singh (India)0:00:11.193 
24J. Mounter (Barbados)0:00:11.243 
25A. Baby (India)0:00:11.885 
26J. Amoako-Ackah (Ghana)0:00:12.678 
27I. Refat (Bangladesh)0:00:14.156 
28T. Islam (Bangladesh)0:00:14.199 
Men's Team Pursuit Qualifying
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
3New Zealand0:04:00.501 
4Canada (Bell/Caves/Pelletier-Roy/Veal)0:04:14.481 
5South Africa0:04:18.194 
Men's Team Pursuit Final
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Australia (Bobridge/Davison/Edmonson/O'Shea)0:03:54.851 
2England (Burke/Clancy/Tennant/Wiggins)0:04:00.136 
3New Zealand (Archbold/Bulling/Kennett/Ryan)  
OVLCanada (Bell/Caves/Pelletier-Roy/Veal)  
Women B Tandem Sprint Qualifying
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1S. Thornhill (England)0:00:11.277 
2A. Mcglynn (Scotland)0:00:11.419 
3B. O'Connor (Australia)0:00:11.623 
4F. Johnson (Australia)0:00:11.695 
5R. Henry (Wales)0:00:11.917 
6L. Cluxton (Scotland)0:00:11.929 
Men Team Sprint Qualifying
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1New Zealand0:00:43.254 
4Canada (Barrette/Veloce/de Haitre)0:00:45.302 
Women's 500m TT
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Meares A (Australia)0:00:33.430 
2Morton S (Australia)0:00:34.070 
3Varnish J (England)0:00:34.260 
4Mckenzie S (New Zealand)0:00:34.440 
5Mustapa F (Malaysia)0:00:34.660 
6Khan D (England)0:00:35.420 
7Williamson V (England)0:00:35.460 
8Richardson E (Scotland)0:00:36.140 
9Davis J (Scotland)0:00:36.170 
10Deborah (India)0:00:36.610 
11Mahitha Mohan (India)0:00:38.860 
12Palmer D (Jamaica)0:00:39.040 
13Vargheese K (India)0:00:39.380 
Men's Team Sprint Final
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1New Zealand0:00:43.181 


Related Articles

Back to top