Davis takes gold after aggressive race

Australian beats Roulston and Millar, Cavendish seventh

Allan Davis continued Australia’s dominance of the Commonwealth Games in India by wining gold on the men’s road race at the end of a thrilling and very aggressive race on a flat circuit in the centre of Delhi.

Davis managed to jump across the decisive attack in the final kilometres and then used his sprinting speed to beat New Zealand’s Hayden Roulston and Scotland’s David Millar.

Fellow Australian Chris Sutton was fourth at four seconds, Northern Ireland’s David McCann was fifth at 11 seconds and Canadian Dominique Rollin was sixth at 22 seconds.

Mark Cavendish finished seventh, 59 seconds behind Davis, after being distanced during the final attacks. He made the decisive selection with three laps to go but with no Isle of Man teammates to help against the barrage of attacks from the Australians and Kiwi, he was worked over and eventually cracked after making several huge efforts to close gaps.

Surprisingly it was Davis’ first win of the 2010 season and went a long way to making up for finishing third in the world road race championships in Australia last Sunday.

Davis hugged teammate Chris Sutton after the finish, knowing that his contribution had been fundamental. Sutton was in the front move but then worked for Davis when they came together. Sutton jumped after Millar when the Scott made a late attack and then helped set up the sprint finish.

Davis’ victory means Australia has now won 14 of the 15 cycling medals so far contested at the Commonwealth games. Earlier on Sunday Rochelle Gilmore won gold in the women’s race.

The other nations have only the men’s and women’s time trial events on Wednesday to stop an Australian gold rush.

Full Results

# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Allan Davis (Australia) 3:49:48  
2 Hayden Roulston (New Zealand)    
3 David Millar (Scotland)    
4 Christopher Sutton (Australia) 0:00:04  
5 David Mccann (Northern Ireland) 0:00:11  
6 Dominique Rollin (Canada) 0:00:22  
7 Mark Simon Cavendish (Isle of Man) 0:00:59  
8 Gordon Mccauley (New Zealand) 0:01:09  
9 Luke Rowe (Wales) 0:02:49  
10 Jack Bauer (New Zealand)    
11 Zach Bell (Canada) 0:02:54  
12 Dan Craven (Namibia) 0:04:20  
13 Andrew Fenn (Scotland)    
14 Alex Dowsett (England)    
15 Adam Armstrong (Northern Ireland)    
16 Erik Hoffmann (Namibia)    
17 Johann Rabie (South Africa)    
18 Paul Esposti (Wales)    
19 Will Routley (Canada) 0:04:23  
20 James Mclaughlin (Guernsey)    
21 Evan Oliphant (Scotland) 0:04:48  
22 Arnaud Papillon (Canada)    
23 Rhys Lloyd (Wales)    
24 Philip Lavery (Northern Ireland) 0:04:58  
25 Ryan Roth (Canada) 0:05:17  
26 Gregory Lovell (Belize) 0:05:24  
27 Tobyn Horton (Guernsey)    
28 Yannick Lincoln (Mauritius)    
29 Christian Spence (Jersey) 0:05:27  
30 Jay Robert Thomson (South Africa)    
31 Geron Oliver Williams (Guyana) 0:07:22  
32 Darren Matthews (Barbados)    
33 Nathan Byukusenge (Rwanda)    
34 Mohd Shahrul Mat Amin (Malaysia)    
35 Emile Abraham (Trinidad and Tobago)    
36 Mohd Harrif Salleh (Malaysia)    
37 Andrew Brian Roche (Isle of Man)    
38 Erick Rowsell (England)    
39 Sean Downey (Northern Ireland)    
40 Robert Hunter (South Africa)    
41 Daryl Impey (South Africa)    
42 Amir Mustafa Rusli (Malaysia)    
43 Dale Appleby (Wales)    
44 Chris Froome (England)    
45 Simon Yates (England) 0:07:26  
46 Edgar Nissani Arana (Belize) 0:16:26  
47 Josh Gosselin (Guernsey)    
48 Sandeep Kumar (India)    
49 Atul Kumar Singh (India)    
50 Robin Ovenden (Jersey)    
51 Abraham Ruhumuriza (Rwanda)    
52 Laxmen Wijerathna (Sri Lanka)    
DNF Clinton Avery (New Zealand)    
DNF Mark Peter Christian (Isle of Man)    
DNF Michael Matthews (Australia)    
DNF Luke Durbridge (Australia)    
DNF Rohan Dennis (Australia)    
DNF Christopher Whorrall (Isle of Man)    
DNF Danny Laud (AIA)    
DNF Janaka Hermantha Kumara (Sri Lanka)    
DNF Hillary Kiprotich (Kenya)    
DNF Paul Ngasike Agorir (Kenya)    
DNF Yolain Mathieu Calypso (Mauritius)    
DNF Christoff Van Heerden (South Africa)    
DNF Anuar Manan (Malaysia)    
DNF Amandeep Singh (India)    
DNF Yusrizal Usoff (Malaysia)    
DNF Oneil Anthony Samuels (Jamaica)    
DNF Jairo Campos (Belize)    
DNF Claude Richardson (Anguilla)    
DNF David Lines (Scotland)    
DNF Ross Creber (Scotland)    
DNF Jonathan Mould (Wales)    
DNF Louis Desire Hugo Caetane (Mauritius)    
DNF Byron Pope (Belize)    
DNF Dominic Stephen Ollivierre (St. Vincent & The Grenadines)    
DNF David Matovu (Uganda)    
DNF Tom Black (Isle of Man)    
DNF Darren Lill (South Africa)    
DNF Muhamad Adiq Husainie Othman (Malaysia)    
DNF James Mccallum (Scotland)    
DNF Graeme Hatcher (Isle of Man)    
DNF Sam Bewley (New Zealand)    
DNF Marlon Eustace Williams (Guyana)    
DNF Nicodem Habiyambere (Rwanda)    
DNF Alanzo Nicholas Greaves (Guyana)    
DNF Rajesh Chandrashekhar (India)    
DNF Justin Mario Hodge (Anguilla)    
DNF Adrier Niynshuti (Rwanda)    
DNF Marvin Augustine Spencer (Antigua and Barbuda)    
DNF Harpreet Singh (India)    
DNF Archirese Katumba (Uganda)    
DNF Sombir (India)    
DNF Laurence Jupp (Bahamas)    
DNF Leon Matovu (Uganda)    
DNF Gasore Hategeka (Rwanda)    
DNF Brandon Raymond Cattouse (Belize)    
DNF Christopher Michael Walker (Gibraltar)    
DNF Moses Sesay (Sierra Leone)    
DNF Leonard Tsoyo (Malawi)    
DNF Cameron Meyer (Australia)    
DNF Samwel Ekiru (Kenya)    
DNF Omarie King (Antigua and Barbuda)    
DNF Marc Ryan (New Zealand)    
DNF Richard Tanguy (Jersey)    
DNF Jyme Rodriguez Terry Bridges (Antigua and Barbuda)    
DNF Zakayo Nderi Mwai (Kenya)    
DNF Ken Jackson Jackson (Antigua and Barbuda)    
DNF Ismael Chelang`A Maiyo (Kenya)    
DNF Jean Charles Pascal Ladaub (Mauritius)    
DNF Marloe Craig Rodman (Jamaica)    
DNF Missi Kathumba (Malawi)    
DNF Kris Pradel (Anguilla)    
DNF Hansel Orano Andrews (St. Vincent & The Grenadines)    
DNF Shimano Trevor Bailey (St. Vincent & The Grenadines)    
DNF Semakula Kigongo (Uganda)    
DNF Augustine Sesay (Sierra Leone)    
DNF David Magezi (Uganda)    
DNF Sam Harrison (Wales)    
DNF Martyn Irvine (Northern Ireland)    
DNF Rowshan Jones (Bahamas)    
DNF John Njenga Kibunja (Kenya)    
DNF Kurt Maraj (Saint Lucia)    
DNF Andy Rose (Seychelles)    
DNF Ishan Sanda Kelum (Sri Lanka)    
DNF Ronnie Bryan (Anguilla)    
DNF Phillip Clotaire Benjamin (Anguilla)    
DNF Francis Louis (Seychelles)    
DNF Dane Nugera (Sri Lanka)    
DNF George William Kisenyi (Uganda)    

Related Articles

Back to top