Rodriguez tops Valverde in GP Indurain

Kreder podiums for Garmin

Spain's Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha) continued his run of success on Saturday, winning the Gran Premio Miguel Indurain one-day race in the Basque region of northern Spain. The event is traditionally the curtain raiser to the Vuelta a Pais Vasco stage race that begins on Monday and is named after the five-time Tour de France winner, who cut the ribbon to start the 12th edition of the race.

Former Spanish national champion Rodriguez surged away in the final three hundred metres of the race to win by six seconds ahead of former Caisse d'Epargne teammate Alejandro Valverde.

Michel Kreder (Garmin-Transitions) continued his run of good results, taking third at eight seconds. The young Dutchman finished in the top five on three stages of the recent Volta a Catalunya and was seventh overall behind Rodriguez.

The 179km race twisted and turned around the Basque hills near Miguel Indurain's hometown. The early breakaway of two and then seven riders was kept under control and then Katusha hit the front and brought the last riders back.

The bunch split into several groups as Katusha applied the pressure on the climb to the finish. Igor Anton (Euskaltel-Euskadi) tried to attack alone but was caught and passed in the final kilometre, before Rodriguez jumped away to victory.

"I'm really happy with my form at the moment. It's a special moment for me. Now I'm going to ride Pais Vasco with sky high morale as I look for a stage win. I want to thank all my teammates for their help here," Rodriguez said.

Full Results
1Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha4:52:40 
2Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne0:00:06 
3Michel Kreder (Ned) Garmin-Transitions0:00:08 
4Alesander Kolobnev (Rus) Team Katusha0:00:10 
5Ruben Perez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi0:00:12 
6Beñat Intxausti (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi0:00:14 
7Mauro Finetto (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo  
8Maxime Bouet (Fra) Ag2R-La Mondiale  
9Juan Jose Oroz (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi  
10Valerio Agnoli (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo0:00:18 
11Angel Vicioso (Spa) Andalucia-Cajasur0:00:19 
12Arkaitz Duran (Spa) Footon-Servetto  
13Ivan Velasco (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi  
14Amets Txurruka (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi  
15Kristijan Koren (Slo) Liquigas-Doimo  
16Rene Mandri (Est) Ag2R-La Mondiale  
17Alberto Benitez (Spa) Footon-Servetto  
18Egoi Martinez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi  
19Aitor Perez (Spa) Footon-Servetto  
20Peter Stetina (USA) Garmin-Transitions  
21Gustavo Cesar (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia0:00:24 
22Jose Herrada (Spa) Caja Rural0:00:25 
23Christian Meier (Can) Garmin-Transitions  
24Guillaume Bonnafond (Fra) Ag2R-La Mondiale0:00:28 
25Gustavo Domingez (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia  
26Christian Knees (Ger) Team Milram0:00:31 
27Manuel Vazquez (Spa) Andalucia-Cajasur0:00:32 
28Javier Moreno (Spa) Andalucia-Cajasur  
29Dominik Nerz (Ger) Team Milram  
30Marcos Garcia (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia  
31Alexander Efimkin (Rus) Ag2R-La Mondiale0:00:37 
32Victor Rodrigues (Spa) Caja Rural  
33Mikel Landa (Spa) Orbea0:00:40 
34Gregory Obando (CRc) Burgos 2016-Castilla  
35Brian Vandborg (Den) Liquigas-Doimo0:00:42 
36Vasili Kyryenka (Blr) Caisse d'Epargne0:00:48 
37Johannes Frohlinger (Ger) Team Milram  
38Eduard Vorganov (Rus) Team Katusha  
39José Angel Gomez Marchante (Spa) Andalucia-Cajasur  
40Igor Anton (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi0:00:53 
41Ruben Plaza (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne0:00:55 
42Rigoberto Uran (Col) Caisse d'Epargne0:00:56 
43Alan Perez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi0:01:00 
44Fabricio Ferrari (Uru) Caja Rural0:01:07 
45Egoitz Garcia (Spa) Caja Rural  
46Mikel Nieve (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi  
47Alexandre Botcharov (Rus) Team Katusha  
48Ivan Santaromita (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo  
49Vladimir Karpets (Rus) Team Katusha0:01:37 
50David Arroyo (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne  
51Gianpaolo Cheula (Ita) Footon-Servetto  
52Xabier Zandio (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne0:01:57 
53Aketza Peña (Spa) Caja Rural0:02:30 
54Pedro Merino (Spa) Footon-Servetto0:04:21 
55Angel Madrazo (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne  
56Francesco Bellotti (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo  
57Markus Eibegger (Aut) Footon-Servetto  
58Marco Corti (Ita) Footon-Servetto0:04:51 
59Biel Kadri (Fra) Ag2R-La Mondiale  
60Evgeni Petrov (Rus) Team Katusha  
61Thomas Rohregger (Aut) Team Milram  
62David Garcia (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia  
63Serguei Klimov (Rus) Team Katusha  
64Juan Mauricio Soler (Col) Caisse d'Epargne  
65Timothy Duggan (USA) Garmin-Transitions  
66Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Team Katusha  
67Matthias Russ (Ger) Team Milram  
68Alessandro Vanotti (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo0:05:03 
69Iban Mayoz (Spa) Footon-Servetto0:06:13 
70Ion Izaguirre (Spa) Orbea0:06:28 
71Diego Gallego (Spa) Burgos 2016-Castilla  
72Jorge Azanza (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi0:09:48 
73Andres A. Antuña (Spa) Burgos 2016-Castilla  
74Javier Ramirez (Spa) Andalucia-Cajasur  
75Raul Santamarta (Spa) Burgos 2016-Castilla  
76Gustavo Rodriguez (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia  
77David De La Cruz (Spa) Caja Rural0:09:53 
78Manuel Calvente (Spa) Andalucia-Cajasur0:09:56 
79Antonio Piedra (Spa) Andalucia-Cajasur  
80Alberto Fernandez (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia  
81Oleg Chuzhda (Ukr) Caja Rural  
82Trent Lowe (Aus) Garmin-Transitions  
83Ivan Melero (Spa) Burgos 2016-Castilla0:11:31 
84Sergio Carrasco (Spa) Andalucia-Cajasur0:12:29 
85Vladimir Isaichev (Rus) Xacobeo Galicia0:13:04 
86Andoni Blazquez (Spa) Orbea0:13:29 
87Pablo Lechuga (Spa) Andalucia-Cajasur  
88Adrian Saez (Spa) Orbea  
89Ricardo Garcia (Spa) Orbea  
Alto De Arradia (Cat. 2), km. 70.7
1Javier Ramirez (Spa) Andalucia-Cajasur6pts
2Adrian Saez (Spa) Orbea4 
3Guillermo Lana (Spa)3 
4Raul Santamarta (Spa) Burgos 2016-Castilla2 
5Mikel Ilundain (Spa)1 
Alto De Eraul (Cat. 2), km. 93.6
1Javier Ramirez (Spa) Andalucia-Cajasur6pts
2Mikel Ilundain (Spa)4 
3Raul Santamarta (Spa) Burgos 2016-Castilla3 
4Guillermo Lana (Spa)2 
5Adrian Saez (Spa) Orbea1 
Alto De Guirguillano (Cat. 1), km. 123.5
1Raul Santamarta (Spa) Burgos 2016-Castilla10pts
2Javier Ramirez (Spa) Andalucia-Cajasur8 
3Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Team Katusha6 
4Jorge Azanza (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi4 
5Xabier Zandio (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne3 
6Francisco Perez (Spa)2 
7Andrey Amador (CRc)1 
Alto De Lezaun (Cat. 2), km. 142.2
1Ivan Velasco (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi6pts
2Ruben Plaza (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne4 
3Alexandre Botcharov (Rus) Team Katusha3 
4David Arroyo (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne2 
5Christian Meier (Can) Garmin-Transitions1 
Alto De Eraul (Cat. 2), km. 169.8
1Igor Anton (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi6pts
2David Arroyo (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne4 
3Alesander Kolobnev (Rus) Team Katusha3 
4Ivan Santaromita (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo2 
5Rigoberto Uran (Col) Caisse d'Epargne1 
Basilica Del Puy (Meta) (Cat. 3), km. 179.3
1Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha3pts
2Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne2 
3Michel Kreder (Ned) Garmin-Transitions1 
Estella, km. 45,60
1Adrian Saez (Spa) Orbea3pts
2Raul Santamarta (Spa) Burgos 2016-Castilla2 
3Mikel Ilundain (Spa)1 
Estella, km. 85,10
1Adrian Saez (Spa) Orbea3pts
2Raul Santamarta (Spa) Burgos 2016-Castilla2 
3Mikel Ilundain (Spa)1 
Estella, km. 104,50
1Raul Santamarta (Spa) Burgos 2016-Castilla3pts
2Adrian Saez (Spa) Orbea2 
3Mikel Ilundain (Spa)1 
Estella, km. 161,10
1Vladimir Karpets (Rus) Team Katusha3pts
2Alexandre Botcharov (Rus) Team Katusha2 
3Vasili Kyryenka (Blr) Caisse d'Epargne1 
Murieta, km. 35,30
1Javier Ramirez (Spa) Andalucia-Cajasur3pts
2Guillermo Lana (Spa)2 
3Mikel Ilundain (Spa)1 
Arizala, km. 56,20
1Javier Ramirez (Spa) Andalucia-Cajasur3pts
2Mikel Ilundain (Spa)2 
3Guillermo Lana (Spa)1 
Villatuerta, km. 82,00
1Javier Ramirez (Spa) Andalucia-Cajasur3pts
2Adrian Saez (Spa) Orbea2 
3Raul Santamarta (Spa) Burgos 2016-Castilla1 
5Team Katusha0:00:18 
6Ag2R-La Mondiale0:00:21 
8Xacobeo Galicia0:00:44 
9Caisse d'Epargne0:01:09 
10Team Milram0:01:11 
11Caja Rural0:01:29 
12Burgos 2016-Castilla Y Le Esp0:16:16 


Related Articles

Back to top