Wiggins, Froome and Cavendish in Great Britain Worlds long list

Dowsett and Pooley confirmed for the time trial

British Cycling has named a long list of selected riders who will represent Great Britain at the UCI road world championships in Tuscany, with Bradley Wiggins targeting the time trial.

Wiggins is also named in the 11-rider Elite men's road race team, along with Chris Froome, Mark Cavendish. Great Britain has qualified for eight places in the road race. Alex Dowsett has been named as the second rider in the Elite men's time trial.

Junior women's road world champion Lucy Garner will make her debut at senior level alongside Olympic silver medalist Lizzie Armitstead. Emma Pooley, the 2010 world champion, is set to ride in the time trial event.

Adam and Simon Yates are in the Men's Under 23 team after their success at the Tour de l’Avenir campaign. Tao Geoghegan Hart is in the Junior team after winning the recent Giro della Lunigiana stage race in Italy.

Performance Manager Shane Sutton was upbeat about Great Britain's chances, despite Froome not showing any signs of form since winning the Tour de France.

“I think the selection of the elite teams speak for themselves, we’ve got Olympic medalists, Tour de France winners and former World Champions all in the mix and I think we could do well across the board there," he said.

“The Yates brothers have put some really impressive rides in on the road this season so I’m looking forward to seeing what they can do, and we should be well represented in the Junior events as well.”

British Cycling said the final selections will be announced in due course, with the Elite men's team expected to be confirmed after the Tour of Britain that ends on September 22.

The world championships will be held between September 22-29.

Great Britain long team for the world road championships:

Men’s Elite Road Race (8 places qualified): Mark Cavendish, Steve Cummings, Alex Dowsett, Josh Edmondson, Andy Fenn, Chris Froome, Luke Rowe, Ian Stannard, Geraint Thomas, Jon Tiernan Locke, Bradley Wiggins

Men’s Elite Time Trial: Alex Dowsett and Bradley Wiggins

Women’s Elite Road Race (6 places qualified): Lizzie Armitstead, Katie Colclough, Nikki Harris, Lucy Garner, Sharon Laws and Emma Pooley

Women’s Elite Time Trial: Emma Pooley

U23 Men’s Road Race (6 places qualified): Jon Dibben, Owain Doull, Tom Moses, Joe Perrett, Alex Peters, Alistair Slater, Adam Yates and Simon Yates

U23 Men’s Time Trial: Joe Perrett

Junior Men’s Road Race: Scott Davies, Tao Geoghegan Hart, Matt Gibson and James Knox

Junior Men’s Time Trial: Matt Gibson

Junior Women’s Road Race: Anna Christian and Bethany Hayward.

Related Articles

Back to top