UCI announces final numbers for World Championships teams

Team time trial squads include Jayco-AIS, Team Type 1, Optum

Seven nations will send nine-man teams to the start of the UCI World Championships road race next month in Valkenberg, Netherlands. The UCI on Friday afternoon announced the number of riders each nation may enter in each road race and time trial in each of the various categories.

They also gave the complete list for the first running of the team time trial at the Worlds. Five teams from the Americas and Asia tours, one each from the Africa and Oceania tours and 20 teams from the Europe tour have earned spots, while all WorldTour teams are obliged to compete.

Ten nations qualified under the UCI WorldTour rankings. Spain, Italy, Great Britain, Belgium, Australia, Netherlands, France and USA will have nine starters each, while Slovakia and Switzerland will have six each.

A further 27 nations qualified under the Africa, America, Asia, Europe and Oceania Tours. An additional nations qualified riders by virute of the riders' individual rankings.

For the Elite Women's road race, Netherlands, Germany, USA, Italy and Great Britain will have seven starters each. Ten further nations will have six starters each, with five nations sending five to the start. Other unspecified nations may send up to three starters.  These numbers do not include the outgoing world, olympic and continental champions.

For the time trials, at all levels, each nation may send four riders, two of whom will start. The current world champions may start in addition to the two selected riders, as can the  Olympic and outgoing continental champions. The UCI also listed the numbers for the men's under 23 and juniors and women's juniors races.

The complete list as issued by the UCI can be found here.

Team Time Trial participants for men

UCI Africa Tour
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 MTN Qhubeka    
UCI America Tour
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Funvic - Pindamonhangaba    
2 Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling Team    
3 Team Optum Presented By Kelly Benefit Strategies    
4 Real Cycling Team    
5 Team Type 1 - Sanofi    
UCI Asia Tour
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Terengganu Cycling Team    
2 Team Nippo    
3 Champion System Pro Cycling Team    
4 Tabriz Petrochemical Team    
5 Aisan Racing Team    
UCI Europe Tour
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Saur - Sojasun    
2 Acqua & Sapone    
3 Itera - Katusha    
4 Team Argos - Shimano    
5 Cofidis, le Credit en Ligne    
6 Endura Racing    
7 Team Netapp    
8 Adria Mobil    
9 Bretagne - Schuller    
10 Team Europcar    
11 Androni Giocattoli - Venezuela    
12 Leopard - Trek Continental Team    
13 Colnago - Csf Inox    
14 Rabobank Continental Team    
15 An Post - Sean Kelly    
16 Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator    
17 Rusvelo    
18 CCC Polsat Polkowice    
19 Caja Rural    
20 Farnese Vini - Selle Italia    
UCI Oceania Tour
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Team Jayco - AIS    
UCI ProTeams
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 AG2R La Mondiale    
2 Astana Pro Team    
3 BMC Racing Team    
4 Euskaltel - Euskadi    
5 FDJ-Big Mat    
6 Garmin - Sharp    
7 Katusha Team    
8 Lampre - ISD    
9 Liquigas-Cannondale    
10 Lotto Belisol Team    
11 Movistar Team    
12 Omega Pharma-Quickstep    
13 Orica Greenedge    
14 Rabobank Cycling Team    
15 Radioshack-Nissan    
16 Sky Procycling    
17 Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank    
18 Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team    
UCI Women's Teams
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Rabobank Women Cyclng Team    
2 Team Specialized - Lululemon    
3 Orica - AIS    
4 AA Drink - Leontien.nl Cycling Team    
5 Hitec Products - Mistral Home Cycling Team    
6 Be Pink    
7 Diadora - Pasta Zara    
8 MCipollini Giambenini    
9 RusVelo    
10 Faren Honda Team    
11 Lotto Belisol Ladies    
12 Exergy Twenty12    
13 Tibco - To The Top    
14 Skil - Argos    
15 Vaiano Tepso    
16 Dolmans - Boels Cyclingteam    
17 Vienne Futuroscope    
18 Kleo Ladies Team    
19 China Chongming - Giant Pro Cycling    
20 S.C. Michela Fanini Rox    
Author: Cycling News
Back to top