South Africa chooses World Championship team

Cross country and downhill riders selected for Mont Sainte Anne

Cycling South Africa selected its cross country and downhill teams for the 2010 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships in Mont-Saint-Ann in Canada from August 31 to September 5.

Burry Stander, the 2009 Under 23 World Champion, will lead the elite men's cross country team, and he'll be joined by Matthys Beukes. Yolande Speedy will represent the elite women.

World Cup leader Greg Minnaar will lead the men's downhill squad, which also includes Johann Potgieter and Andrew Neethling.

The marathon World Championship team will be announced shortly.

A full roster is below.

South African Cross Country Team for the Mountain Bike World Championships

Elite men
Burry Stander
Matthys Beukes

Elite woman
Yolande Speedy

Under 23 men
Rourke Croeser
Phillip Buys

Under 23 woman
Mariska Strauss

Junior men
James Reid
Luke Roberts
Arno du Toit

Junior woman
Candice Neethling

South African Downhill Team for the Mountain Bike World Championships

Elite men
Greg Minnaar
Johann Potgieter
Andrew Neethling

Junior men
Timothy Bentley
Simon Dinkelman

Related Articles

Back to top