Slagter leads the WorldTour ranking after Tour Down Under success

Blanco Pro Cycling leads the team ranking

Tom-Jelte Slagter's overall victory at the Tour Down Under has given him and his Blanco Pro Cycling Team the lead in the first UCI WorldTour rankings of 2013.

Slagter scored 100 points for overall victory and 11 points for his stage results, to give him a total of 111 points. With teammates Wilco Kelderman scoring 40 points and Mark Renshaw a further six points, the Blanco Pro Cycling Team topped the team rankings with a total of 157 points, make for a successful start to the racing season for the troubled Dutch squad.

Euskaltel Euskadi is a distant second with 91 points and the Movistar Team is third with 87 points after both Spanish teams placed two riders in the top 15 overall. Javier Moreno was second overall for the Movistar Team, scoring 86 points tan dos is second to Slagter in the individual rankings. Britain's Geraint Thomas is third with 77 points after finishing third and winning a stage.

Andre Greipel (Lotto Belisol) is ninth in the individual ranking, with 18 points, after winning three stages in Australia.

Spain leads the nation ranking with a total of 177 points thanks to strong performances from Javier Moreno and brothers Jon and Gorka Izaguirre Insausti of Euskaltel Euskadi. They finished fourth and seventh overall at the Santos Tour Down Under to place Spain ahead of the Netherlands -second with 152 points, with Great Britain a more distant third with 78 points.

The next race on the WorldTour calendar is Paris-Nice in France between March 3-10.

WorldTour - Individuals
1Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team111pts
2Javier Moreno Bazan (Spa) Movistar Team86 
3Geraint Thomas (GBr) Sky Procycling77 
4Jon Izaguirre Insausti (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi61 
5Ben Hermans (Bel) RadioShack Leopard52 
6Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team40 
7Gorka Izaguirre Insausti (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi30 
8Daniele Pietropolli (Ita) Lampre-Merida20 
9André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Belisol18 
10Tiago Machado (Por) RadioShack Leopard11 
11Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge6 
12Mark Renshaw (Aus) Blanco Pro Cycling Team6 
13Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge5 
14Jussi Veikkanen (Fin) FDJ4 
15Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ4 
16Roberto Ferrari (Ita) Lampre-Merida4 
17Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling2 
18Philippe Gilbert (Bel) BMC Racing Team2 
19Jonathan Cantwell (Aus) Team Saxo-Tinkoff2 
20Simone Ponzi (Ita) Astana Pro Team1 
21Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team1 
22Steele Von Hoff (Aus) Garmin-Sharp1 
23Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Belisol1 
24Andrew Fenn (GBr) Omega Pharma-Quick Step1 
25Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Sharp1 
26Barry Markus (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team1 
WorldTour - Teams
1Blanco Pro Cycling Team157pts
3Movistar Team87 
4Sky Procycling79 
5RadioShack Leopard63 
7Lotto Belisol19 
10BMC Racing Team2 
11Team Saxo-Tinkoff2 
13Astana Pro Team1 
14Omega Pharma-Quick-Step Cycling Team1 
15Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team1 
WorldTour - Nations
3Great Britain78 
12United States1 

Related Articles

Back to top