Skil-Shimano renews Tour riders' contracts

Extensions for six riders

Skil-Shimano announced on Friday that it has renewed the contracts of six riders who started for the team at this year's Tour de France.

Dutchmen Albert Timmer, Piet Rooijakkers, Kenny van Hummel and Koen de Kort have all signed new deals, while German rider Simon Geschke and Frenchman Thierry Huppond have also agreed to extend their contracts.

Rooijakkers, van Hummel and Koen de Kort will stay with the pro continental squad until the end of 2010. Huppond and Timmer have signed on for a further year, continuing with the team through 2011 and Geschke has confirmed until the end of next season, but has an option to extend into 2011.

The Dutch team is currently racing in its first Tour de France after receiving a wildcard entry from race organiser, Amaury Sports Organisation.

The team have had enjoyed mixed fortunes in the Tour so far. The team finished in last place in the stage 4 team time trial around Montpellier, in the losing Piet Rooijakkers in the process, who broke his arm in a crash during the stage. The team's luck turned around somewhat on stage 10, as Thierry Huppond claimed the combativity prize on Bastille Day, after taking part in a four man breakaway.

At the start of stage 14 on Saturday Kenny van Hummel was still the Tour's lanterne rouge, last place on general classification, 2 hours and 16 minutes behind current leader, Rinaldo Nocentini (AG2R La Mondiale).

Related Articles

Back to top