Silence-Lotto to become Omega Pharma-Lotto

Belgian team honour Evans as they announce new name for 2010 season

Belgian team Silence-Lotto honoured its new World Champion Cadel Evans as it announced its new name at a press conference today in Nazareth, Belgium. Omega Pharma-Lotto will be the new title of Marc Sergeant's team for the 2010 season, according to SportWereld.

It's the fourth new name for the team since pharmaceutical company Omega Pharma started sponsorship in 2005. Davitamon-Lotto was the first name, used from 2005 to 2006, then Predictor-Lotto (2007) and Silence-Lotto (2008-2009).

Lotto is the name of the Belgian national lottery, which has sponsored cycling teams Lotto-Mobistar, Lotto-Adecco and Lotto-Domo through the last 10 years.

Marc Coucke, co-founder of Omega Pharma, also used the press conference to publicly honour Australia's Evans for his win at the World Championships Sunday in Mendrisio, Switzerland.

Follow Cyclingnews on Twitter for the very latest coverage of events taking place in the cycling world -

Related Articles

Back to top