Sanchez still tops world rankings after Paris-Roubaix

Boonen moves closer to Spaniard's lead

The top of the UCI's world rankings remains the same, with Spaniard Luis Leon Sanchez maintaining the overall lead along with his country and Caisse d'Epargne team at the top of the three leaderboards. But after Paris-Roubaix and the Vuelta al Pais Vasco, the  difference between the top five riders has narrowed to just 22 points.

Paris-Roubaix winner Fabian Cancellara jetted up to fifth from 10th to net a season total of 200 points, while Basque tour runner-up Alejandro Valverde edged out the Swiss sensation by one point to occupy the fourth spot.

Tom Boonen stayed second but moved to within 6 points of Sanchez' lead, while Katusha's Joaquin Rodriguez stayed in third by adding to his points tally with his fourth place overall in the Basque tour.

Other big movers for the week were Juan Antonio Flecha (Sky): third in Paris-Roubaix pushed him from 84th to 27th, RadioShack's Chris Horner, who entered the rankings at 13th after winning the Vuelta al Pais Vasco, and Thor Hushovd (Cervelo) who jumped to seventh thanks to his second in Paris-Roubaix.

Spain continues to dominate the nations rankings, far ahead of Belgium and Italy, while Caisse d'Epargne has a solid lead in the teams classification over Katusha and Cervelo.

World Rankings as of April 12, 2010
1Luis Leon Sanchez Gil (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne222pts
2Tom Boonen (Bel) Quick Step216 
3Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Team Katusha208 
4Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne201 
5Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Team Saxo Bank200 
6Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto130 
7Thor Hushovd (Nor) Cervelo Test Team120 
8André Greipel (Ger) Team HTC - Columbia119 
9Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team116 
10Maxim Iglinsky (Kaz) Astana116 
11Oscar Freire Gomez (Spa) Rabobank112 
12Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Acqua & Sapone109 
13Christopher Horner (USA) Team Radioshack108 
14Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Astana107 
15Rein Taaramae (Est) Cofidis, le Credit en Ligne100 
16Björn Leukemans (Bel) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team100 
17Xavier Tondo Volpini (Spa) Cervelo Test Team92 
18Roger Hammond (GBr) Cervelo Test Team90 
19Michele Scarponi (Ita) Androni Giocattoli86 
20Greg Henderson (NZl) Sky Professional Cycling Team85 
21Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi85 
22Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Team HTC - Columbia83 
23George Hincapie (USA) BMC Racing Team80 
24Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Liquigas-Doimo80 
25Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini78 
26Benat Intxausti Elorriaga (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi72 
27Juan Antonio Flecha Giannoni (Spa) Sky Professional Cycling Team71 
28Robbie Mcewen (Aus) Team Katusha68 
29Robert Gesink (Ned) Rabobank63 
30Sacha Modolo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox62 
31Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator60 
32Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) Omega Pharma-Lotto60 
33Daniele Bennati (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo58 
34Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin - Transitions57 
35Nicolas Roche (Irl) AG2R La Mondiale55 
36Luke Roberts (Aus) Team Milram54 
37Jens Voigt (Ger) Team Saxo Bank52 
38Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto44 
39Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin - Transitions41 
40Michael Rogers (Aus) Team HTC - Columbia41 
41Marco Pinotti (Ita) Team HTC - Columbia40 
42Michel Kreder (Ned) Garmin - Transitions34 
43Sandy Casar (Fra) Française Des Jeux32 
44Daniel Oss (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo30 
45Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Team Katusha30 
46Eduard Vorganov (Rus) Team Katusha30 
47Francesco Ginanni (Ita) Androni Giocattoli30 
48Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox30 
49Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo21 
50Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Doimo21 
51Leif Hoste (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto20 
52Matti Breschel (Den) Team Saxo Bank12 
53Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini12 
54Robert Hunter (RSA) Garmin - Transitions11 
55Juan José Haedo (Arg) Team Saxo Bank11 
56Sébastien Hinault (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale10 
57Danilo Hondo (Ger) Lampre-Farnese Vini10 
58Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Team Radioshack10 
59Manuele Mori (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini10 
60William Bonnet (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Telecom10 
61Paul Voss (Ger) Team Milram8 
62Luca Paolini (Ita) Acqua & Sapone7 
63Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) Cofidis, le Credit en Ligne7 
64Manuel Antonio Leal Cardoso (Por) Footon-Servetto7 
65Christopher Sutton (Aus) Sky Professional Cycling Team6 
66Lars Boom (Ned) Rabobank6 
67Andreas Klöden (Ger) Team Radioshack6 
68Davide Malacarne (Ita) Quick Step6 
69Mikhail Ignatiev (Rus) Team Katusha6 
70Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Astana6 
71Levi Leipheimer (USA) Team Radioshack6 
72Amaël Moinard (Fra) Cofidis, le Credit en Ligne6 
73Linus Gerdemann (Ger) Team Milram6 
74Mark Cavendish (GBr) Team HTC - Columbia6 
75Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Professional Cycling Team6 
76Mirco Lorenzetto (Ita) Lampre-Farnese Vini5 
77Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Telecom5 
78Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank5 
79Benoît Vaugrenard (Fra) Française Des Jeux5 
80Gert Steegmans (Bel) Team Radioshack5 
81Hayden Roulston (NZl) Team HTC - Columbia4 
82Dries Devenyns (Bel) Quick Step4 
83Rémy Di Gregorio (Fra) Française Des Jeux4 
84Markus Fothen (Ger) Team Milram4 
85Jerome Coppel (Fra) Saur - Sojasun4 
86Paul Martens (Ger) Rabobank4 
87Pablo Lastras Garcia (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne4 
88Robert Förster (Ger) Team Milram4 
89Grega Bole (Slo) Lampre-Farnese Vini4 
90Aitor Galdos Alonso (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi3 
91Maxime Monfort (Bel) Team HTC - Columbia2 
92Peter Velits (Svk) Team HTC - Columbia2 
93David Loosli (Swi) Lampre-Farnese Vini2 
94Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Française Des Jeux2 
95Alexandr Kolobnev (Rus) Team Katusha2 
96Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli2 
97Jérémie Galland (Fra) Saur - Sojasun2 
98Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra) Française Des Jeux1 
99Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr) Française Des Jeux1 
100Danilo Wyss (Swi) BMC Racing Team1 
101Dominik Nerz (Ger) Team Milram1 
102Mauro Finetto (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo1 
103Alexandre Botcharov (Rus) Team Katusha1 
104Michael Albasini (Swi) Team HTC - Columbia1 
105Davide Vigano (Ita) Sky Professional Cycling Team1 
106Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne1 
107Jan Bakelandts (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto1 
108Tony Martin (Ger) Team HTC - Columbia1 
109Lucas Sebastian Haedo (Arg) Team Saxo Bank1 
110Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) Caisse d'Epargne1 
111Mattia Gavazzi (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox1 
5United States Of America251 
13Great Britain96 
14New Zealand89 
16Czech Republic80 
19Russian Federation39 
24South Africa11 
1Caisse d'Epargne429pts
2Team Katusha342 
3Cervelo Test Team302 
4Team HTC Columbia289 
5Team Saxo Bank276 
6Omega PharmaLotto255 
8Quick Step226 
10BMC Racing Team197 
12Sky Professional Cycling Team169 
13Euskaltel Euskadi160 
14Garmin Transitions143 
15Team Radioshack135 
16Androni Giocattoli118 
17Acqua & Sapone116 
18LampreFarnese Vini115 
19Cofidis, le Credit en Ligne113 
20Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team100 
21Colnago CSF Inox93 
22Team Milram76 
23AG2R La Mondiale65 
24Topsport Vlaanderen Mercator60 
25Française Des Jeux44 
26Bbox Bouygues Telecom15 
28Saur Sojasun6 

Related Articles

Back to top