TechPowered By

More tech

Powers, Anderson win USA Cycling Pro Cyclo-cross Calendar

Cycling News
January 08, 2014, 19:37 GMT,
January 08, 2014, 19:41 GMT
First Edition Cycling News, Monday, January 13, 2014
Jeremy Powers (Rapha Focus) wins it on the last lap

Jeremy Powers (Rapha Focus) wins it on the last lap

view thumbnail gallery

Equal payout to top-20 in men's, women's series

Jeremy Powers (Rapha-Focus) and Elle Anderson (Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized) have claimed their respective elite men's and elite women's titles in the USA Cycling Pro Cyclo-cross Calendar and an equal $5,000 winner's share of the $40,000 overall purse.

Jeremy Powers, who won 12 races on the calendar, earned 1,015 points to secure the top spot for the elite men. Tim Johnson (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld), a winner of seven races on the calendar, surged late in the season but was ultimately unable to dethrone Powers and finished with 989 points. Belgium's Ben Berden (Raleigh-Clement), four times a winner this season, placed third overall with a total of 866 points.

Johnson's Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld teammate Ryan Trebon ended the Pro CX fourth overall at 711 points while Jamey Driscoll (Raleigh-Clement) rounded out the top five with 530 points.

Elle Anderson grabbed an early lead and did not look back as she claimed the elite women's title. Anderson's season total came to 809 points and included six victories and seven additional podium finishes. Czech Katerina Nash (Luna Pro Team) ascended the standings late in the season, but was not able to overtake Anderson as she finished second with 755 points.

Meredith Miller (Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized) held off Crystal Anthony (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies) to place third with 677 points while Anthony was fourth at 653 points. Laura van Gilder (Van Dessel p/b Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers) produced strong results late in the season to place fifth after tallying 493 points.

Austin Vincent (Race Cf-Racecf.Org @Racecf) won the junior men's Pro CX series with 345 points, 59 ahead of runner-up Lance Haidet (Bear Development Team). Peter Goguen (Race Cf-Racecf.Org @Racecf) placed third with 254 points, only four points ahead of Cooper Willsey (, who completed the season in fourth place. David Lombardo (WCJ Racing) rounded out the top five with 236 points.

For the elite men and women, the Pro CX calendar was comprised of all the UCI-sanctioned cyclo-cross races taking place in the US. Extending from the season opener at Pennsylvania's Nittany Lion Cross on September 7, 2013, through the finale this past Sunday at Tennessee's Kingsport Cyclo-cross Cup, the elite competitors faced 43 days of racing. The elite men and women each vied for an identical $20,000 purse split amongst the top-20 overall finishers.

The junior men had an abbreviated calendar which totalled 10 days of racing.

Elite men's USAC Pro CX standings (top-20)
1 Jeremy Powers (USA) Rapha-Focus 1015 pts
2 Tim Johnson (USA) Cannondale p/b 989  
3 Ben Berden (Bel) Raleigh-Clement 866  
4 Ryan Trebon (USA) Cannondale p/b 711  
5 James Driscoll (USA) Raleigh-Clement 530  
6 Yannick Eckmann (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized 485  
7 Justin Lindine (USA) Redline-NBX 399  
8 Raphael Gagne (Can) Rocky Mountain Factory Team 334  
9 Curtis White (USA) Cannondale p/b 331  
10 Zach McDonald (USA) Rapha-Focus 319  
11 Robert Marion (USA) American Classic Pro CX Team 315  
12 Jeremy Durrin (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 310  
13 Stephen Hyde (USA) JAM Fund-NCC 305  
14 Allen Krughoff (USA) Raleigh-Clement 290  
15 Anthony Clark (USA) JAM Fund-NCC 277  
16 Daniel Summerhill (USA) K-Edge/Felt Bicycles 274  
17 Cameron Dodge (USA) Team Skyline-Scott Bikes 248  
18 Mike Garrigan (Can) Van Dessel 240  
19 Tristan Schouten (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 235  
20 Logan Owen (USA) California Giant-Specialized 231  
Elite women's USAC Pro CX standings (top-20)
1 Elle Anderson (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized 809 pts
2 Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team 755  
3 Meredith Miller (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized 677  
4 Crystal Anthony (USA) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 653  
5 Laura Van Gilder (USA) Van Dessel p/b Mellow Mushroom 493  
6 Nicole Duke (USA) Marin-Spy 486  
7 Katie Compton (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective 453  
8 Arley Kemmerer (USA) C3-Twenty20 Cycling 439  
9 Kaitlin Antonneau (USA) Cannondale p/b 416  
10 Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) Bob's Red Mill p/b Seven Cycles 391  
11 Courtenay McFadden (USA) Bicycle Blue Book-HRS-Rock Lobster 376  
12 Caroline Mani (Fra) Raleigh-Clement 367  
13 Gabriella Durrin (GBr) Rapha-Focus 290  
14 Emma White (USA) 280  
15 Amanda Miller (USA) Team TIBCO 264  
16 Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona Factory Racing 261  
17 Amanda Carey (USA) Stan's NoTubes Elite 256  
18 Beth Ann Orton (USA) Team S&M 249  
19 Cassandra Maximenko (USA) Rare Vos Racing 248  
20 Rebecca Blatt (USA) Van Dessel 208  
Junior men's USAC Pro CX standings (top-20)
1 Austin Vincent (USA) Race CF | @racecf 345 pts
2 Lance Haidet (USA) Bear Development Team 286  
3 Peter Goguen (USA) RACE CF | @racecf 254  
4 Cooper Willsey (USA) Cannondale Cyclocrossworld 250  
5 David Lombardo (USA) WCJ Racing 236  
6 Nolan Brady (USA) Rad Racing NW 234  
7 Ian McShane (USA) Sophisticated Living/Bobs Red Mill 226  
8 Ethan Reynolds (USA) Hot Tubes Development Cycling Team, Inc. 221  
9 Maxx Chance (USA) Clif Bar Development Cyclocross Team 197  
10 Garrett Gerchar (USA) Boulder Junior Cycling 197  
11 Brannan Fix (USA) Boo Bicycles-Training Peaks 140  
12 Chris Key (USA) Boulder Junior Cycling 123  
13 David O'Brien (USA) Rad Racing NW 104  
14 Noah Granigan (USA) Race CF | @racecf 97  
15 Raphael Auclair (Can) Subway-Sigma / Pivot Cycles 88  
16 Grant Ellwood (USA) Boulder Cyclo Sport Devo p/b BJC 87  
17 Javier Colton (USA) Sunnyside Sports 78  
18 Jonathan Brown (USA) Hot Tubes Junior Development Team 77  
19 Samuel Rosenberg (USA) Hutchs-Slocum-CoMotion 71  
20 Josey Weik (USA) Red Zone 66  

Back to top