Porte's WorldTour lead trimmed after Tirreno-Adriatico

Dennis and Quintana big movers, BMC extend team lead

BMC Racing continue to dominate the WorldTour rankings following the conclusion of Tirreno-Adriatico with Rohan Dennis moving into second and teammate Richie Porte still top. Having seen Colombian compatriot Sergio Henao win Paris-Nice last week, Nairo Quintana claimed his second career Tirreno title and now sits third overall. Porte has led the rankings since overall Tour Down Under victory in January and now has 812 points to his name. 

In the team standings, BMC on 2324 points, holds a substantial lead over Quick-Step Floors on 1749 points. Movistar via Quintana was the biggest mover in the rankings, improving from 12th to fourth while Bahrain-Merida drop from 16th to last.

Dennis' second place finish at Tirreno-Adriatico saw the Australian's tally climb to 653 points, raising him from 29th to second in the standings. Quintana though was the biggest mover on the rankings, jumping from way down in 81st to third and now has 620 points to his name. The duo bumped down Henao and Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) while Tom Dumoulin's sixth place on GC also saw Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo) drop out of the top five.

After seven WorldTour events in 2017, 247 riders have scored points.

Saturday's Milan-San Remo is the next WorldTour race on the calendar where the winner will also be awarded 500 points. The Volta a Catalunya then follows from March 20 with 400 points for the overall winner.

WorldTour Rankings - March 15

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team812 pts
2Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team653 
3Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team620 
4Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky607 
5Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team578 
6Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb541 
7Alberto Contador (Spa) Trek-Segafredo495 
8Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe490 
9Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors460 
10Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin440 
11Esteban Chaves (Col) Orica-Scott422 
12Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ412 
13Nathan Haas (Aus) Dimension Data400 
14Jay McCarthy (Aus) Bora-Hansgrohe385 
15Rui Costa (Por) Team UAE Abu Dhabi376 
16Daniel Martin (Irl) Quick-Step Floors335 
17Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky320 
18Gorka Izagirre (Spa) Movistar Team320 
19Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky320 
20Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica-Scott305 
21Nikias Arndt (Ger) Team Sunweb300 
22Primoz Roglic (Slo) Team LottoNl-Jumbo290 
23Diego Ulissi (Ita) Team UAE Abu Dhabi285 
24Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo275 
25Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica-Scott260 
26Jhonatan Restrepo (Col) Katusha-Alpecin260 
27Luke Rowe (GBr) Team Sky235 
28Fabio Felline (Ita) Trek-Segafredo225 
29Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Cannondale-Drapac215 
30Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal215 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1BMC Racing Team2324 pts
2Quick-Step Floors1749 
3Team Sky1658 
5Movistar Team1353 
7Team Sunweb1225 
10Lotto Soudal821 
11Team LottoNl-Jumbo806 
12UAE Team Emirates744 
14Dimension Data584 
15AG2R La Mondiale568 
16Astana Pro Team511 

Related Articles

Back to top