Porte still top of WorldTour rankings after Paris-Nice

'Race to the sun' winner Sergio Henao moves into second place, BMC remain top team

BMC's Richie Porte continues to lead the UCI WorldTour individual rankings after his 11th place overall and stage 7 victory at Paris-Nice. Race winner Sergio Henao has moved into second place following the conclusion of the first WorldTour stage race on European soil this season.

BMC Racing also continue to lead the team rankings thanks to Porte and Greg Van Avermaet, currently third on the standings, with the team likely to hold onto its position when Tirreno-Adriatico concludes this week. Rohan Dennis is sitting third overall at the race with two stages to come, including a final day time trial suited to his strengths.

Porte has led the rankings since taking two stage wins and the overall Tour Down Under title in January. His current haul of 812 points is over 200 points better than former Sky teammate Henao who has collected 607 points in the 2017 season. Behind the two leaders, it is a closer fight with Van Avermaet (550 points) followed by Alberto Contador (495 points), Julian Alaphilippe (460 points) and Ilnur Zakarin (440 points).

Contador and Alaphilippe added to their tally's with second and fifth overall respectively at Paris-Nice but could see themselves slip down the standings once Tirreno-Adriatico wraps up. Both stage races offer 500 points to the overall winner.

In the team rankings, FDJ is bottom of the 18 squads but with Thibaut Pinot sitting second at Tirreno, appear likely to move up the rankings. At the other end of the table, Quick-Step Floors and Orica-Scott trail BMC with Sky and Trek-Segafredo rounding out the top-five.

The next race on the WorldTour calendar is Milan–San Remo this coming weekend where the winner will also be awarded 500 points. The Volta a Catalunya (20–26 March) is the next stage race on the WorldTour calendar.

UCI WorldTour rankings - March 12

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team812 pts
2Sergio Henao (Col) Team Sky607 
3Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team550 
4Alberto Contador (Spa) Trek-Segafredo495 
5Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors460 
6Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin440 
7Esteban Chaves (Col) Orica-Scott422 
8Nathan Haas (Aus) Dimension Data400 
9Jay McCarthy (Aus) Bora-Hansgrohe385 
10Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa (Por) UAE Team Emirates346 
11Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb341 
12Daniel Martin (Irl) Quick-Step Floors335 
13Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe325 
14Gorka Izagirre (Spa) Movistar Team320 
15Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica-Scott305 
16Nikias Arndt (Ger) Team Sunweb300 
17Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky300 
18Diego Ulissi (Ita) Team UAE Abu Dhabi285 
19Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica-Scott260 
20Jhonatan Restrepo (Col) Katusha-Alpecin260 
21Luke Rowe (GBr) Team Sky235 
22Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal215 
23Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Cannondale-Drapac215 
24Rafael Valls (Spa) Lotto Soudal210 
25Fabio Felline (Ita) Trek-Segafredo205 
26Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Quick-Step Floors200 
27Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo185 
28Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo175 
29Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team175 
30Simon Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott160 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1BMC Racing Team1680 pts
2Quick-Step Floors1597 
4Team Sky1275 
7Team Sunweb1005 
9Lotto Soudal796 
10UAE Team Emirates704 
11Dimension Data561 
12Movistar Team533 
13AG2R La Mondiale470 
14Team LottoNl-Jumbo456 
15Astana Pro Team446 


Related Articles

Back to top