Boom wins Boonen charity 'cross race

“Not easy to make up a minute,” Rabobank rider admits

Lars Boom started the Boonen & Friends 'cross race Saturday one minute behind all the other riders, and still won. But it wasn't that easy, he said.

“Making up one minute was a more difficult task than anyone had expected,” the Rabobank rider admitted afterwards. The race is a charity event sponsored by Tom Boonen, and is run by road racers. Boom concentrates on the road now, but come from the 'cross scene. He was World Champion in that discipline in 2008, and has won the Dutch national title every year since 2007. 

Second behind him was his Rabobank teammate Maarten Wynants. “I should not have expected any else,” Boom said, according to the Belga news agency. “Last week I trained in the woods in my neighborhood with Maarten Wynants, so I knew he would be my toughest opponent.”

Wynants won the race in 2009, and finished second last year.

It was Boonen's first race back after breaking his wrist in the Vuelta a Espana, but the charity aspect was more important to him. The race raises funds for “Move to Improve”, for children with movement disorders.

"This is the least we can do for these kids," said Boonen. "It is indeed a great day. The sky cleared up and we not only have good weather but also the best in the three years of this race.”

The race was followed by an auction, with Boonen again going the extra step to help the charity.  He won an autographed 'cross world champion jersey autographed by his Quick Step teammate Zdenek Stybar with a bid of 2,100 Euros. The highest price went for one of Philippe Gilbert's Belgian national champion jersey, with an anonymous bidder paying 7,500 Euros.

In the veterans race, former cyclo-cross world champion Erwin Vervecken was a clear winner over Koen Beeckman and VT4 commentator and former 'cross champion Marc Janssens from a large field that included Johan Museeuw.


# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Lars Boom 0:43:10  
2 Maarten Wynants    
3 Sean De Bie    
4 Thomas Vernaeckt    
5 Dries Devenyns    
6 André Greipel    
7 Bram Tankink    
8 Frederique Robert    
9 Pieter Vanspeybrouck    
10 Jelle Vanendert    
11 Dennis Vanendert    
12 Wim De Vocht    
13 Guillaume Van Keirsbulck    
14 Matteo Trentin    
15 Tom Boonen    
16 Stijn Joseph    
17 Carlos Barredo    
18 Marcel Sieberg    
19 Pieter Serry    
20 Sjef De Wilde    
21 Nick Wynants    
22 Bobbie Traksel    
23 Kevin Van Melsen    
24 Andy Cappelle    
25 Sven Vandousselaere    
26 Jérôme Baugnies    
27 Jan Backelants    
28 Geert Verheyen    
29 James Vanlandschoot    
30 Pim Ligthart    
31 Björn Leukemans    
32 Andy Fenn    
33 Serge Pauwels    
34 Jérôme Pineau    
35 Addy Engels    
36 Floris Smeyers    
37 Stefan van Dijk    
38 Frederik Veuchelen    
39 Dario Cataldo    
40 Niki Terpstra    
41 Giovanni Visconti    
42 Yannick Eijssen    
43 Kurt Geysen    
44 Marco Bandiera    
Retired champions
# Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Erwin Vervecken    
2 Koen Beeckman    
3 Marc Janssens    
4 Jan Boven    
5 Ken De Dijcker    
6 Johan Museeuw    
7 Franky Van Oyen    
8 Gerard Blockx    
9 Jan Wijnants    
10 Rudy Verdonck    
11 Marc Patry    
12 Johan Verstrepen    
13 Carlo Bomans    
14 Martin van Steen    
15 Bart Leysen    
16 René Martens    
17 Marc Wauters    
18 Marc Verbeeck    
19 Peter Van Santvliet    
20 Jean-Marie Wampers    
21 Dirk Clarysse    
22 Rudy Patry    
23 Tim Meeusen    
24 Ivan Messelis    
25 Wim Omloop    
26 Davide Bramati    
Author: Cycling News

Related Articles

Back to top