TechPowered By

More tech

Orbea launches 2010 squad

Richard Tyler
December 04, 2009, 19:50 GMT,
December 04, 2009, 21:57 GMT
First Edition Cycling News, Saturday, December 5, 2009
Orbea's line-up for 2010

Orbea's line-up for 2010

view thumbnail gallery

Basque Continental team welcomes seven new riders

Continental team Orbea announced seven new riders at a presentation of its 12-man roster for the 2010 season in the Basque country today.

Aritz Etxebarria (from Bidel Kirolgi), Adrian Saez de Arregui (from Caja Rural) and Jon Izagirre (from Seguros Bilbao) will join former-Naturgas Energy riders Jon Aberasturi, Mikel Landa, Noel Martin and Xabier Zabalo as the new recruits.

Andoni Blázquez, Ricardo Garcia, Mikel Ilundain, Joseba Larralde and Beñat Urain are the five riders returning for their second seasons with the team.

Orbea forms part of the Basque country's Fundación Ciclista Euskadi and acts as a feeder team for ProTour team Euskaltel-Euskadi.

This season Orbea bade farewell to Daniel Sesma, Jonathan Castroviejo, Miguel Mínguez and Under-23 World road race Champion Romain Sicard. All four will ride for the top-tier Euskaltel squad and will make their debut in a ProTour Race at the Tour Down Under in January.

Orbea squad for 2010
  Andoni Blázquez    
  Ricardo García    
  Mikel Ilundain    
  Joseba Larralde    
  Beñat Urain    
  Jon Aberasturi    
  Aritz Etxebarria    
  Jon Izagirre    
  Mikel Landa    
  Noel Martín    
  Adrián Sáez de Arregi    
  Xabier Zabalo    

Back to top

The 2009 Cyclingnews reader poll

The Cyclingnews 2009 reader poll is on now!

You can still enter the 2009 Cyclingnews reader poll and vote for your riders, teams, races, moments, equipment and photos of the year.

One lucky reader will win an Argon18 Krypton bike so get your entries in before the closing date - December 31, 2009.