O'Grady, Fuglsang to lead Saxo Bank at Tour of Ireland

Deignan in for Cervelo

Stuart O'Grady will lead a strong Saxo Bank team for this year's Tour of Ireland, which commences on August 21. He will be joined by Tour of Denmark and Tour of Slovenia winner Jakob Fugslang as well as Denmark stage winner Matti Breschel, Briton Jonny Bellis, Karsten Kroon, Kurth Asle Arvesen and Alexander Kolobnev.

The 35-year-old O'Grady was winner of the 2007 Paris-Roubaix, won the Olympic gold medal in the men's Madison in 2004 and has spent nine days in the yellow jersey in the Tour de France (three days in 1998 and six in 2001).

The Cervélo TestTeam has confirmed Irishman Philip Deignan as part of its seven man team. The 25-year-old from Letterkenny is a talented climber with two top 10 finishes in stages of the Vuelta España. He rode the Giro d'Italia for the second time this year. Deignan is joined by Dan Fleeman, Daniel Lloyd, Roger Hammond, Martin Reimer, Jeremy Hunt and Davide Appollonio.

Hunt showed his form last week when he took his first win of the season in stage four of the Tour of Denmark with Hammond finishing on the podium in third place overall.

Related Articles

Back to top