Nibali debuts at third on WorldTour standings after Tirreno victory

Sky remains top team, Spain extends nations lead

Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) has earned a second straight triumph in Tirreno-Adriatico, Italy’s second biggest stage race, that has seen the Italian move straight into third place overall on the WorldTour rankings. Ahead of Nibali are the two respective winners of Paris-Nice and the Santos Tour Down Under, Richie Porte (Sky) and Blanco Pro Cycling Team’s Tom Jelte Slagter.

As might be expected, the differences between the three victors of the first three week-long WorldTour stage races of 2013 is minimal. Porte, with 113 points, is just two points up on Slagter, while Nibali is a further five points behind in third

The Italian’s victory in Tirreno-Adriatico was hard-earned in the extreme. Chris Froome (Sky ProCycling) seemed to gain a solid advantage on the race’s one mountain top finish, but Nibali then turned the tables in impressive style by distancing both Froome and third placed Alberto Contador (Team Saxo-Tinkoff) in Monday’s ultra-challenging parcours through the waterlogged climbs of Port Sant’Empidio.

The final stage, a short individual race against the clock in San Benedetto del Tronto, was won by time trial world champion Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-Quick Step), the second stage victory for his squad in Tirreno-Adriatico after they won the opening team time trial.

While the WorldTour's individual classification remains tightly packed together, the biggest impact of the “Race Between Two Seas” has been in the nations and teams classifications. Spain remains in control of the nations standings, but their advantage of a mere seven points over the Netherlands post Paris-Nice has now stretched to 112 points over the new runner-up, the United States - 309 to 197 points. The Netherlands drops to third with 182 points with Italy and the United Kingdom, in large part thanks to Nibali and Froome, moving up to fourth and fifth respectively.

Spain now has the first three-digit gap in any classification of the 2013 WorldTour and is now well on course to top the overall standings for the second straight year.

The same goes for the 2012 teams ranking winner, Sky Procycling, who like Spain have hugely reinforced their overall lead in Tirreno-Adriatico. Just 35 points ahead of Blanco Pro Cycling Team after Paris-Nice, Sky now has more than tripled that advantage to lead the Dutch squad with a total of 279 points to 162.

If Sky is distancing the Dutch from the top spot, at the same time the new third-ranked team, Omega Pharma-Quick Step, has both jumped six places in one fell swoop and reduced the margin between second and third overall from 64 points post Paris-Nice to a comparatively minor 34 points.

The next WorldTour event to be contested is the first one-day event on the calendar and the first Monument of the 2013 season: Italy's Milano-Sanremo. While defending champion Simon Gerrans (Orica-GreenEdge) recently dropped out of Paris-Nice due to health issues, his teammate and 2011 Milano-Sanremo champion Matt Goss has shown good form with a stage victory at Tirreno-Adriatico. Another rider who starred at Tirreno-Adriatico, Slovakian champion Peter Sagan (Cannondale), jumped to the top of the favourites list for the Italian monument with two stage wins in Italy, one in a field sprint and the other on a taxing penultimate stage from a breakaway containing eventual overall winner Vincenzo Nibali and stage 5 winner Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha).

WorldTour - Individuals
1Richie Porte (Aus) Sky Procycling113pts
2Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team111 
3Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team106 
4Andrew Talansky (USA) Garmin-Sharp92 
5Christopher Froome (GBr) Sky Procycling86 
6Javier Moreno Bazan (Spa) Movistar Team86 
7Geraint Thomas (GBr) Sky Procycling77 
8Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Team Saxo-Tinkoff72 
9Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale71 
10Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team62 
11Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma-Quick Step61 
12Jon Izaguirre Insausti (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi61 
13Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Omega Pharma-Quick Step60 
14Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha58 
15Ben Hermans (Bel) RadioShack Leopard52 
16Christopher Horner (USA) RadioShack Leopard42 
17Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team41 
18Simon Spilak (Slo) Katusha40 
19Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre-Merida32 
20Gorka Izaguirre Insausti (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi32 
21Andrey Amador Bakkazakova (CRc) Movistar Team22 
22Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team22 
23Daniele Pietropolli (Ita) Lampre-Merida20 
24André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Belisol20 
25Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale Pro Cycling12 
26Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge12 
27Tiago Machado (Por) RadioShack Leopard11 
28Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre-Merida10 
29Andreas Klöden (Ger) RadioShack Leopard10 
30Peter Velits (Svk) Omega Pharma-Quick Step6 
31Tony Martin (Ger) Omega Pharma-Quick Step6 
32Philippe Gilbert (Bel) BMC Racing Team6 
33Michael Albasini (Swi) Orica-GreenEdge6 
34Elia Viviani (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling6 
35Marcel Kittel (Ger) Team Argos-Shimano6 
36Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge6 
37Mark Renshaw (Aus) Blanco Pro Cycling Team6 
38Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) FDJ6 
39Roberto Ferrari (Ita) Lampre-Merida5 
40Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma-Quick Step5 
41Wouter Poels (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team4 
42Jussi Veikkanen (Fin) FDJ4 
43Bauke Mollema (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team4 
44Adriano Malori (Ita) Lampre-Merida4 
45Manuel Belletti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale4 
46Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ4 
47Denis Menchov (Rus) Katusha4 
48Maxim Iglinskiy (Kaz) Astana Pro Team4 
49Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre-Merida4 
50Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) Movistar Team2 
51Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team2 
52Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale2 
53Leigh Howard (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge2 
54Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling2 
55Jonathan Cantwell (Aus) Team Saxo-Tinkoff2 
56Jonathan Castroviejo Nicolas (Spa) Movistar Team1 
57Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi1 
58Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team1 
59Fabian Cancellara (Swi) RadioShack Leopard1 
60Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Sharp1 
61David Lopez Garcia (Spa) Sky Procycling1 
62Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Astana Pro Team1 
63Tony Gallopin (Fra) RadioShack Leopard1 
64Borut Bozic (Slo) Astana Pro Team1 
65Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto Belisol1 
66Geoffrey Soupe (Fra) FDJ1 
67Simone Ponzi (Ita) Astana Pro Team1 
68Steele Von Hoff (Aus) Garmin-Sharp1 
69Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Belisol1 
70Andrew Fenn (GBr) Omega Pharma-Quick Step1 
71Barry Markus (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team1 
WorldTour - Teams
1Sky Procycling279pts
2Blanco Pro Cycling Team162 
3Omega Pharma-Quick Step138 
4RadioShack Leopard116 
5Astana Pro Team113 
6Movistar Team113 
10Ag2R La Mondiale77 
11Team Saxo-Tinkoff74 
13BMC Racing Team68 
14Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team27 
16Lotto Belisol22 
17Cannondale Pro Cycling18 
19Team Argos-Shimano6 
WorldTour - Nations
2United States Of America197 
5Great Britain169 
12Costa Rica22 
17Russian Federation4 

Related Articles

Back to top