Netherlands and Belgium announce World Cup squads

Dutch introduce youngsters in Manchester, Cornu to lead Belgian focus on Pursuit events

The Netherlands and Belgium announced their rosters for this weekend's opening round of the Track World Cup in Manchester. The Dutch named a 15-rider squad, while Belgium will focus their efforts on endurance events after they selected Quick Step rider Dominique Cornu as a part of a strong representation in the team and individual pursuit events.

The Netherlands picked four debutants for its team for the World Cup series. Winner of the Edinburgh GP in June this year, Yorick Bos, will make his senior debut alongside fellow sprinters Roy van den Berg and Agnes Rooner. Michael Vingerling will also begin his senior career in the endurance events.

The Dutch finished second overall behind Germany in last season's World Cup series. This year, they will enter the series with just two of last year's race winners: Willy Kanis and Ellen van Dijk. Kanis won the time trial and keirin events at the Melbourne round, before winning the team sprint on two occasions. Van Dijk will hope to pick up where she left off at Copenhagen in February, where she won both the individual pursuit and points race.

Belgium finished 17th in last year's World Cup series, but will head to Manchester led by pursuit specialist Dominique Cornu. The 24-year-old Quick Step professional took bronze behind Taylor Phinney and Jack Bobridge in the individual pursuit at the Track World Championships in March, but with neither the American or Australian in Manchester this weekend, Cornu will be a favourite for the event.

Cornu will also combine with Jonathan Dufrasne, Tim Mertens and Stijn Steels for the team pursuit. Mertens will also double-up, as he joins Kenny de Ketele for the Madison. World Junior Points Race Champion Tosh Van Der Sande will compete in the scratch race.

Jolien D'Hoore and Kelly Druyts will represent Belgium in the women's points and scratch races, with Jessie Daams entered in the individual pursuit. The trio will also compete in the team pursuit.

Dutch Squad for the Manchester World Cup
 Willy Kanis  
 Rocky Marquette  
 Agnes Ronner  
 Vera Koedooder  
 Amy Pieters  
 Ellen van Dijk  
 Peter Schep  
 Danny Stam  
 Arno van der Zwet  
 Geertjan Jonkman  
 Levi Heimans  
 Michael Vingerling  
 Yondi Schmidt  
 Roy van den Berg  
 Yorick Bos  
Belgian Squad for the Manchester World Cup
 Jolien D'Hoore  
 Kelly Druyts  
 Jessie Daams  
 Tosh Van Der Sande  
 Dominique Cornu  
 Jonathan Dufrasne  
 Tim Mertens  
 Stijn Steels  
 Kenny De Ketele  

Follow Cyclingnews on Twitter for the very latest coverage of events taking place in the cycling world -

Back to top