Neri-Sottoli's overall Coppa Italia win under fire

Savio wants result held until investigation is complete

The Coppa Italia, a series of Italian races ranked HC or 1, wrapped up with the GP Bruno Beghelli today. Sonny Colbrelli (Bardiani CSF) won the overall individual classification and, perhaps most importantly, the team classification went to Neri Sottoli, who beat Bardiani CSF by a single point. The top overall team in the series is given a wildcard invitation to the Giro d'Italia the following season, but Neri Sottoli's win has come under question by the competing team managers.

Androni Giocattoli manager Gianni Savio said that his team appealed to the cycling league for the Coppa Italia to void the rankings until an investigation into alleged non-compliance with the regulations is completed.

"If [irregularities] are found, it would lead to a recalculation of the points for the championship," Savio said to Savio himself was heard by the judges, but said he could not go into detail. The objections reportedly stem from a April 16 decision by the Italian Olympic Committee that related to foreign athletes competing in ongoing Italian sport competitions. Riders in the series would be required to have residency in Italy, and it is unclear if the one foreign rider from Neri Sottoli who scored points - Brazilian Rafael Andriato, who was fourth in the GP Bruno Beghelli and 50 total points in the series - meets this requirement.

"If the infringement is established, our team would go from third to second place," Savio said, something that would be important to his Venezuelan backers. "You should know that the title of runner up in South America has far greater significance than in Italy. I would like to point out that this request is outside the discussion of wild cards for the Giro d'Italia - the ethical assessments for this are up to RCS Sport."

Neri Sottoli's Matteo Rabottini, third in the Settimana Coppi e Bartali, tested positive for EPO in an out-of-competition control on August 8, 2014, but the validity of his results is apparently not part of the investigation.

2014 Coppa Italia individual rankings

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bardiani-CSF243 pts
2Simone Ponzi (Ita) Neri Sottoli - Yellow Fluo178 
3Mauro Finetto (Ita) Neri Sottoli - Yellow Fluo165 
4Matteo Rabottini (Ita) Neri Sottoli - Yellow Fluo121 
5Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale113 
6Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli108 
7Antonio Parrinello (Ita) Androni Giocattoli106 
8Francesco Manuel Bongiorno (Ita) Bardiani-CSF93 
9Davide Rebellin (Ita) CCC Polsat Polkowice82 
10Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre-Merida82 
11Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Lampre-Merida81 
12Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team80 
13Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Area Zero79 
14Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale77 
15Dario Cataldo (Ita) Team Sky67 
16Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (Col) Colombia67 
17Davide Villella (Ita) Cannondale63 
18Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre-Merida61 
19Enrico Battaglin (Ita) Bardiani-CSF61 
20Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Team Katusha60 
21Davide Vigano’ (Ita) Caja Rural60 
22Fabio Chinello (Ita) Area Zero59 
23Louis Meintjes (RSA) MTN - Qhubeka59 
24Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Colombia55 
25Niccolo Bonifazio (Ita) Lampre-Merida53 
26Rafael Andriato (Bra) Neri Sottoli - Yellow Fluo50 
27Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale50 
28Matteo Montaguti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale47 
29Elia Viviani (Ita) Cannondale47 
30Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale47 
31Jarlinson Pantano (Col) Colombia45 
32Edoardo Zardini (Ita) Bardiani-CSF45 
33Jose Rodolfo Serpa Perez (Col) Lampre-Merida40 
34Davide Mucelli (Ita) Meridiana Kamen Team38 
35Davide Formolo (Ita) Cannondale37 
36Fabio Felline (Ita) Trek Factory Racing36 
37Michele Scarponi (Ita) Astana Pro Team36 
38Diego Rosa (Ita) Androni Giocattoli35 
39Andrea Fedi (Ita) Neri Sottoli - Yellow Fluo34 
40Christian Delle Stelle (Ita) Team Idea32 
41Davide Appollonio (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale32 
42Manuel Belletti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli28 
43Gianfranco Zilioli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli26 
44Maciej Paterski (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice26 
45Fabio Taborre (Ita) Neri Sottoli - Yellow Fluo25 
46Marco Canola (Ita) Bardiani-CSF25 
47Kristijan Durasek (Cro) Lampre-Merida24 
48Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-Merida24 
49Kristijan Koren (Slo) Cannondale23 
50Mirko Selvaggi (Ita) Wanty - Groupe Gobert23 
51Rafael Valls Ferri (Spa) Lampre-Merida22 
52Marco Marcato (Ita) Cannondale19 
53Andrea Piechele (Ita) Bardiani-CSF18 
54Alessandro Bazzana (Ita) UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team18 
55George Bennet (NZl) Cannondale18 
56Salvatore Puccio (Ita) Team Sky18 
57Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Astana Pro Team18 
58Enrico Barbin (Ita) Bardiani-CSF17 
59Matteo Busato (Ita) MG Kvis-Trevigiani17 
60Simone Petilli (Ita) Area Zero16 
61Luca Wackermann (Ita) Lampre-Merida16 
62Federico Zurlo (Ita) Nazionale Italiana15 
63Jan Polanc (Slo) Lampre-Merida13 
64Manuele Mori (Ita) Lampre-Merida12 
65Luca Chirico (Ita) MG Kvis-Trevigiani11 
66Robinson Eduardo Chalapud Gomez (Col) Colombia11 
67Daniel Oss (Ita) BMC Racing Team10 
68Antonio Santoro (Ita) Meridiana Kamen Team10 
69Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Astana Pro Team10 
70Kristian Sbaragli (Ita) MTN - Qhubeka10 
71Angelo Pagani (Ita) Bardiani-CSF9 
72Gianmarco Di Francesco (Ita) Vega-Hotsand8 
73Karel Hnik (Cze) MTN-Qhubeka8 
74Nicola Gaffurini (Ita) Vega-Hotsand7 
75Mirko Tedeschi (Ita) Neri Sottoli - Yellow Fluo5 
76Silvio Giorni (Ita) Area Zero5 
77Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli5 
78Merhawi Kudus (Eri) MTN-Qhubeka5 
79Matteo Trentin (Ita) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team5 
80Rodolfo Andres Torres Agudelo (Col) Colombia5 
81Valerio Conti (Ita) Lampre-Merida5 
82Luca Benedetti (Ita) Amore & Vita5 
83Luca Gasparini (Ita) MG Kvis-Trevigiani5 
84Alberto Cecchin (Ita) Marchiol4 
85Pier Paolo De Negri (Ita) Vini Fantini-Nippo2 
86Johann Van Zyl (RSA) MTN - Qhubeka1 
87Juan Esteban Arango Carvajal (Col) Colombia1 
88Juan Pablo Valencia (Col) Colombia1 
89Alessio Taliani (Ita) Androni Giocattoli1 
90Liam Bertazzo (Ita) MG Kvis-Trevigiani1 
91Alessandro Mazzi (Ita) Utensilnord Ora24.eu1 
92Daniele Ratto (Ita) Cannondale1 
93Simone Antonini (Ita) Marchiol1 
94Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team1 
95Paolo Ciavatta (Ita) Area Zero1 
96Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eri) MTN - Qhubeka1 
97Alessio Camilli (Ita) Vega-Hotsand1 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Neri Sottoli576 pts
4Androni Giocattoli442 

Related Articles

Back to top