Mountain bikers of the year selected among Dutch, Belgians

Van Hoovels, Turpign win elite titles

Top Dutch and Belgian mountain bikers of 2010 were awarded at a ceremony this weekend. Kevin van Hoovels and Sebastien Carabin won the most votes for the elite male and under 23 male mountain biker of the year titles while Dutchwoman Laura Turpin took the top women's honors.

It was the fourth edition of the Mountain Biker of the Year awards, also known as the Granny Awards. Martin Paulissen hosted the evening, which featured a trials show by Iciar Van den Bergh.

After a fantastic season, Belgian Kevin van Hoovels (Lingier-Versluys) won the overall elite men's mountain biker of the year crown. He won his national championships and stood on the podium several times in international stage races this year. He'll have a hard time doing better next year although he'll have an advantage in 2011. In January, he'll become a full-time pro. Dutchman Rudi Van Houts finished second, ahead of teammate Nicolas Vermeulen, Bas Peters and Belgian Sven Nys.

Laura Turpijn (Combee Merida) proved her role as the leading lady of Dutch mountain biking, having won the national title this year in both cross country and marathon disciplines. Turpin defeated Kristien Nelen for the top honors while Anne Terpstra, tipped as the successor to Turpin, finished third.

Belgian Sebastien Carabin took top honors in the under 23 category with Henk Jaap Moorlag in second ahead of Robby de Bock, Ruben Scheire and Niels Wubben. This year, Carabin showed his class at the European Championships, where he finished fourth, just off the podium. Despite his eighth place at the Worlds in Canada, Scheire only managed fourth place in the standings.

A sick Elise Marchal was not on hand to receive her award, which her father accepted instead on her behalf. The Belgian Marchal finished well ahead of Steffi Derveaux and Britt van den Boogaart. The talented racer was the national title winner for the second year in a row and finished fifth at the world championships in Canada. Next year will be her first year among the elites, where she will race in new Trek Team KMC colors.

The junior mountain biker of the year proved the toughest battle with strong riders from both Belgium and the Netherlands. Jeff Luyten took top honors ahead of world champion Michael Vander Heijden and Jens Schuermans, winner of the World Cup race in Val di Sole. Luyten captured his second national title in a row in Malmedy and nearly made the podium at the world championships in Canada. Next year, he moves up the ranks.

Other titles went to Tom Ingelgom (12 year olds), Arnaud Beeckman (13 year olds), Gianni Van Doninck (14 year olds), Gody Jacobs (masters 1), Nico Berckmans (masters 2), Ben Kindermans (Fun A), and Kevin Panhuyzen (beginners).

Finally, the Belgian Mountain Bike Moment of the year was chosen. Van Hoovels winning the Belgian title was awarded the best moment, which came along with a 250-euro prize.

Belgian and Dutch Mountain Bikers of the Year for 2010

Elite men
#Rider Name
1Kevin Van Hoovels  
2Rudi Van Houts  
3Nicolas Vermeulen  
4Bas Peters  
5Sven Nys  
Elite women
#Rider Name
1Laura Turpijn  
2Kristien Nelen  
3Anne Terpstra  
4Petra Mermans  
5Rozanne Slik  
Under 23 men
#Rider Name
1Sebastien Carabin  
2Henk Jaap Moorlag  
3Robby de Bock  
4Ruben Scheire  
5Niels Wubben  
Junior men
#Rider Name 
1Jeff Luyten  
2Michiel van der Heijden  
3Jens Schuermans  
4Bart De Vocht  
5Olivier Bruwiere  
Junior women
#Rider Name
1Elise Marchal  
2Steffi Derveaux  
3Britt Van den Boogaart  
4Lisa Schrooder  
5Annelies Derveax  
Belgian mountain bike moment of the year
#Rider Name
1Kevin Van Hoovels  
2Kenny Belaey wins his fourth world title and finishes second among the elites  
3Patrick Decridts' record  
4Junior team's performance at the World Cup  
5Duchenne Heroes in Leuven  
Kids 12
#Rider Name
1Tom Van Ingelgom  
2Jarne Driesen  
3Alexander Bunn  
4Arthur Baude  
5Adrien Houbben  
Kids 13
#Rider Name
1Arnaud Beeckman  
2Cedric Luyckx  
3Niels Derveaux  
4Quentin Deby  
5Jasper Knaeps  
Kids 14
#Rider Name
1Gianni Van Donink  
2Nick Vanpol  
3Wout Alleman  
4Scott Seykens  
5Sébastien Laurent  
#Rider Name 
1Kevin Panhuyzen  
2Jens Van Rompaey  
3Maxim Boulangier  
4Boris Cara  
5Jarno Weemaes  
Masters 1
#Rider Name
1Gody Jacobs  
2Geoffry Maes  
3Gerrit Delfosse  
4Filip Thijs  
5Mark Donné  
Masters 2
#Rider Name
1Nico Berckmans  
2Patrick Wellens  
3Ivan Porters  
4Ronny Geerts  
5André Fevrier  
Fun A
#Rider Name
1Ben Kindermans  
2Robin Porters  
3Jurgen Van Vlasselaer  
4Maarten Wauters  
5Henk Thys  


Back to top