More teams finalised for the hilly classics

Liberty Seguros-Würth has selected its rosters for the Amstel Gold Race, Fleche Wallonne and...

Liberty Seguros-Würth has selected its rosters for the Amstel Gold Race, Fleche Wallonne and Liège-Bastogne-Liège.

In Sunday's Amstel Gold Race, the team will include Alberto Contador, Allan Davis, David Etxebarria, Jörg Jaksche, Andrey Kashechkin, Koen de Kort, Marcos Serrano and Ángel Vicioso.

A similar squad will race Fleche Wallonne on Wednesday, April 19, where Koen de Kort will be replaced by Jose Antonio Redondo. Finally, on Sunday 23rd, Allan Davis will vacate his spot for defending champion Alexandre Vinokourov in Liège-Bastogne-Liège.

The Quick.Step-Innergetic squad for Amstel Gold will be Serge Baguet, Paolo Bettini, Kevin De Weert, Addy Engels, Jose Antonio Garrido, Filippo Pozzato, Bram Tankink, and Cédric Vasseur. DS: Serge Parsani.

For the Amstel Gold Race, Lampre-Fondital will feature the in-form Alessandro Ballan, Gorazd Stangelj, Evgeni Petrov, Ruggero Marzoli, Giuliano Figueras, Marco Marzano, Matteo Carrara and Salvatore Commesso.

Sports director Fabrizio Bontempi commented, "The team will be able to obtain a result: Stangelj, Petrov and Marzoli showed during the races in Spain that they're in good shape, and so they will be able to race as protagonists. Ballan will take part at Amstel to try to obtain points for the ProTour ranking: Alessandro won't aim for the victory, but he will try to use his form to obtain a placing."

Team Milram will race Fleche Wallonne and Liège-Bastogne-Liège with Maarten Den Bakker, Andriy Grivko, Maxim Iglinsky, Matej Jurco, Daniel Musiol, Fabio Sacchi, Bjorn Schröder, Giovanni Visconti. Gianluigi Stanga will direct.

Landbouwkrediet-Colnago has named its riders for the Amstel Gold Race: Bert De Waele, Steven Kleynen, Nico Sijmens, Johan Verstrepen-Filip Meirhaeghe, Sven Renders, Andy Cappelle, Jean Claude Lebeau.

Skil-Shimano will ride the Amstel Gold Race with five Dutch riders: Aart Vierhouten, Rik Reinerink, Piet Rooijakkers, Maarten Tjallingii and Sebastian Langeveld. The team will be completed by the German riders René Weissinger and Paul Martens and the Japanese champion Hidenori Nodera. Rudie Kemna will direct the team.

Back to top