TechPowered By

More tech

Lampre-Caffita ready for Volta a Portugal

By:
Anthony Tan
Published:
August 03, 2005, 1:00 BST,
Updated:
April 21, 2009, 0:05 BST
Edition:
Latest Cycling News for August 3, 2005

Gilberto Simoni will captain the Lampre-Caffita team in the upcoming Volta a Portugal, which will...

Gilberto Simoni will captain the Lampre-Caffita team in the upcoming Volta a Portugal, which will run between August 5-15. "I think that with Simoni almost recovered from the bronchitis that hampered him during the recent Brixia Tour, we can do great things, along with Szmyd, Marzano and Glomser," said team director Maurizio Piovani.

Lampre's new stagiaire Francesco Gavazzi will also ride in the race. "For him, the Volta a Portugal will be a useful test to launch into the world of the professionals and the major races," added Piovani.

The full team: Francesco Gavazzi, Gerrit Glomser, Juan Fuentes Angulo, Oleksandr Kvachuk, Andreas Matzbacher, Gilberto Simoni, Sylvester Szmyd. Directeurs sportifs: Maurizio Piovani, Bruno Vicino

The stages

Stage 1 - Friday, August 5: Oeiras - Lisboa, 162,7 km
Stage 2 - Saturday, August 6: Cartaxo - Figueira Da Foz, 187,9 km
Stage 3 - Sunday, August 7: Lousã - Fundão, 156,2 km
Stage 4 - Monday, August 8: Penamacor - Castelo Branco, 216,7 km
Stage 5 - Tuesday, August 10: Termas Monfortinho - Gouveia, 183,7 km
Stage 6 - Thursday, August 11: Trancoso - Fafe, 173,1 km
Stage 7 - Friday, August 12: Fafe / Santo Tirso, 160,5 km
Stage 8 - Saturday, August 13: Celorico Basto / Mondim (Srª Graça), 196,8 km
Stage 9 - Sunday, August 14: Lordelo S. João Madeira, 143,2 km
Stage 10 - Monday, August 15: Viseu - Viseu ITT, 36,8 km

Back to top

Tags:
news