TechPowered By

More tech

Johnson narrows gap to Pro CX leader Powers

Peter Hymas
December 10, 2013, 23:44 GMT,
December 10, 2013, 23:44 GMT
First Edition Cycling News, Monday, December 16, 2013
Jeremy Powers (Rapha Focus) biding his time before attacking

Jeremy Powers (Rapha Focus) biding his time before attacking

view thumbnail gallery

Anderson continues to lead women's standings

Jeremy Powers (Rapha-Focus) and Elle Anderson (Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized) continue to lead the USA Cycling Professional Cyclo-cross Calendar (Pro CX) standings, but their respective leads in the elite men's and elite women's categories were both reduced in this past weekend's racing. Austin Vincent (Race CF | @racecf) remains the junior men's leader.

The top riders in the elite Pro CX standings opted to contest the points-rich Deschutes Brewery Cup in Bend, Oregon, on Saturday, the final UCI-rated C1 race in the US this season. Also on tap for the Pro CX was a pair of UCI C2 events in Warwick, Rhode Island, as the NBX Gran Prix of Cyclocross served as the final races for the Shimano NEPCX series.

Tim Johnson (Cannondale p/b endured frigid wintry conditions in Bend on Saturday to win the Deschutes Brewery Cup and the points earned kept him in second overall in the Pro CX standings with 936 points. Pro CX leader Jeremy Powers continues to lead overall with 945 points after his fourth place effort in Bend, but his advantage over Johnson was reduced to just nine points. Ben Berden (Raleigh-Clement), ninth at the Deschutes Brewery Cup, retains his third place position with 866 points. Bend, Oregon's Ryan Trebon (Cannondale p/b remains in fourth overall at 711 points while the top five is completed by Jamey Driscoll (Raleigh-Clement) at 530 points.

Justin Lindine (Redline), seventh overall in the Pro CX, and Shawn Milne (Keough Cyclocross) won the men's races at the NBX Gran Prix of Cyclocross.

Katerina Nash (Luna Pro Team) won the elite women's race at the Deschutes Brewery Cup and remains in second overall in the Pro CX standings with 755 points. Overall leader Elle Anderson finished third and continues to remain on top of the standings with 809 points, but her advantage over Nash has been reduced to 54 points. Anderson's teammate Meredith Miller, fifth in Bend, holds third at 677 points while Crystal Anthony (Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies), runner-up to Nash on Saturday, remains in fourth, 24 points behind Miller. The top five is rounded out by Laura Van Gilder (Van Dessel p/b Mellow Mushroom), who finished on the podium both days at the Shimano NEPCX-NBX Gran Prix of Cyclocross.

Emma White (, 14th overall in the Pro CX, and Arley Kemmerer (C3-Twenty20 Cycling), 8th overall, won Saturday and Sunday respectively in Warwick.

There was a junior men's event at the Deschutes Brewery Cup, won by Nolan Brady (Rad Racing NW), which moved him from 11th to sixth on the Pro CX standings with 234 points. Overall leader Austin Vincent (Race CF | @racecf) did not compete in Bend but remains in top position nonetheless with 345 points. Lance Haidet (Bear Development Team), who placed second in Bend, moves into second overall at 286 points while Peter Goguen (RACE CF | @racecf) drops from second to third at 254 points.

Only three events remain in the elite-level Pro CX series: a weekend of racing at the North Carolina Grand Prix (Dec. 14-15) in Hendersonville, North Carolina followed by the finale at the Kingsport Cyclo-cross Cup (Jan. 5, 2014) in Kingsport, Tennessee. With the elite men's Pro CX title still up for grabs, Powers, Johnson and Berden will all travel to North Carolina this coming weekend to compete at the North Carolina Grand Prix.

Elle Anderson, meanwhile, appears to have wrapped up the women's Pro CX as only Katerina Nash has a mathematical possibility to surpass Anderson's points tally, but the Czech had stated that the Deschutes Brewery Cup would be the final 'cross race of her season.

Only one race remains for junior men in their Pro CX season, the Kingsport Cyclo-cross Cup, and Austin Vincent holds an insurmountable lead in the standings.

Elite men's USAC Pro CX standings - Top 20
1 Jeremy Powers (USA) Rapha-Focus 945 pts
2 Tim Johnson (USA) Cannondale p/b 936  
3 Ben Berden (Bel) Raleigh-Clement 866  
4 Ryan Trebon (USA) Cannondale p/b 711  
5 James Driscoll (USA) Raleigh-Clement 530  
6 Yannick Eckmann (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized 447  
7 Justin Lindine (USA) Redline-NBX 399  
8 Raphael Gagne (Can) Rocky Mountain Factory Team 334  
9 Curtis White (USA) Cannondale p/b 331  
10 Jeremy Durrin (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 310  
11 Robert Marion (USA) American Classic Pro CX Team 295  
12 Allen Krughoff (USA) Raleigh-Clement 290  
13 Stephen Hyde (USA) JAM Fund-NCC 280  
14 Daniel Summerhill (USA) K-Edge/Felt Bicycles 274  
15 Zach McDonald (USA) Rapha-Focus 269  
16 Anthony Clark (USA) JAM Fund-NCC 262  
17 Cameron Dodge (USA) Team Skyline-Scott Bikes 248  
18 Mike Garrigan (Can) Van Dessel 240  
19 Tristan Schouten (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 235  
20 Logan Owen (USA) California Giant-Specialized 231  
Elite women's USAC Pro CX standings - Top 20
1 Elle Anderson (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized 809 pts
2 Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team 755  
3 Meredith Miller (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized 677  
4 Crystal Anthony (USA) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 653  
5 Laura Van Gilder (USA) Van Dessel p/b Mellow Mushroom 493  
6 Nicole Duke (USA) Marin-Spy 486  
7 Katie Compton (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective 453  
8 Arley Kemmerer (USA) C3-Twenty20 Cycling 439  
9 Kaitlin Antonneau (USA) Cannondale p/b 416  
10 Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) Bob's Red Mill p/b Seven Cycles 391  
11 Courtenay McFadden (USA) Bicycle Blue Book-HRS-Rock Lobster 376  
12 Caroline Mani (Fra) Raleigh-Clement 367  
13 Gabriella Durrin (GBr) Rapha-Focus 290  
14 Emma White (USA) 280  
15 Amanda Miller (USA) Team TIBCO 264  
16 Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona Factory Racing 261  
17 Amanda Carey (USA) Stan's NoTubes Elite 256  
18 Cassandra Maximenko (USA) Rare Vos Racing 248  
19 Rebecca Blatt (USA) Van Dessel 208  
20 Beth Ann Orton (USA) Team S&M 196  
Junior men's USAC Pro CX standings - Top 20
1 Austin Vincent (USA) Race CF | @racecf 345 pts
2 Lance Haidet (USA) Bear Development Team 286  
3 Peter Goguen (USA) RACE CF | @racecf 254  
4 Cooper Willsey (USA) Cannondale Cyclocrossworld 250  
5 David Lombardo (USA) WCJ Racing 236  
6 Nolan Brady (USA) Rad Racing NW 234  
7 Ian McShane (USA) Sophisticated Living/Bobs Red Mill 226  
8 Ethan Reynolds (USA) Hot Tubes Development Cycling Team, Inc. 221  
9 Maxx Chance (USA) Clif Bar Development Cyclocross Team 197  
10 Garrett Gerchar (USA) Boulder Junior Cycling 197  
11 Brannan Fix (USA) Boo Bicycles-Training Peaks 140  
12 Chris Key (USA) Boulder Junior Cycling 123  
13 David O'Brien (USA) Rad Racing NW 104  
14 Noah Granigan (USA) Race CF | @racecf 97  
15 Raphael Auclair (Can) Subway-Sigma / Pivot Cycles 88  
16 Grant Ellwood (USA) Boulder Cyclo Sport Devo p/b BJC 87  
17 Javier Colton (USA) Sunnyside Sports 78  
18 Jonathan Brown (USA) Hot Tubes Junior Development Team 77  
19 Samuel Rosenberg (USA) Hutchs-Slocum-CoMotion 71  
20 Josey Weik (USA) Red Zone 66  

Back to top