Impey still top of WorldTour rankings

QuickStep-Floors move top of team standings

Despite not racing either the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad or the Abu Dhabi Tour, Daryl Impey remains top of the individual WorldTour rankings. The South African amassed 800 points over the Australian summer via his overall Tour Down Under win and second place finish at the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race.

After the four opening WorldTour races of 2018, Impey's Mitchelton-Scott outfit has been replaced at the top of the team rankings by QuickStep-Floors. The Belgium squad has 1169 points compared to the 1056 points of the Australian team.

Of the first four WorldTour races of 2018, the Tour Down Under awarded 500 points to the winner while at the following three races, 300 points was on offer.

Michael Valgren (Astana) rises to ninth after his weekend victory at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) was making his 2018 WorldTour debut at the Abu Dhabi Tour and enters the rankings seventh with 340 points following his overall win.

Richie Porte (BMC) remains in second place overall with 460 points. Belgian Dries Devenyns (QuickStep-Floors) is currently third in the rankings with 400 points. 165 riders in total have scored WorldTour points so far in 2018.

In the team rankings, Bora–Hansgrohe sit third best with 823 points. BMC Racing is third on 787 points. Despite 13 riders scoring points so far in 2018, LottoNL-Jumbo are 12th on 387 points. At the bottom of the 18 WorldTour teams is FDJ on 81 poins.

The next WorldTour race in 2018 is the one-day Strade Bianche (3 March) with 300 points on the line for the winner.

WorldTour rankings - 26 February

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Daryl Impey (RSA) Mitchelton-Scott800 pts
2Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team460 
3Dries Devenyns (Bel) Quick-Step Floors400 
4Diego Ulissi (Ita) UAE Team Emirates370 
5Elia Viviani (Ita) Quick-Step Floors362 
6Jay McCarthy (Aus) Bora-Hansgrohe340 
7Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team340 
8Tom-Jelte Slagter (Ned) Dimension Data340 
9Michael Valgren (Den) Astana Pro Team320 
10Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb250 
11Lukasz Wisniowski (Pol) Team Sky250 
12Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana Pro Team230 
13Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale215 
14Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors181 
15Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo175 
16Egan Bernal (Col) Team Sky175 
17Gorka Izagirre (Spa) Bahrain-Merida150 
18Caleb Ewan (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott146 
19Luis León Sanchez (Spa) Astana Pro Team135 
20André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal135 
21Simon Gerrans (Aus) BMC Racing Team130 
22Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team126 
23Robert Gesink (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo125 
24Nikias Arndt (Ger) Team Sunweb123 
25Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe120 
26Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors120 
27Rúben Guerreiro (Por) Trek-Segafredo120 
28Davide Formolo (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe115 
29Edward Theuns (Bel) Team Sunweb115 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Quick-Step Floors1169 pts
4BMC Racing Team787 
5Astana Pro Team729 
6Team Sunweb677 
7Team Sky582 
8UAE Team Emirates563 
9Dimension Data451 
13Movistar Team380 
14EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale323 
15Lotto Soudal276 
16AG2R La Mondiale268 

Related Articles

Back to top