Goss and HTC-Highroad top latest WorldTour rankings

Scarponi capitalises on consistent season start

Matt Goss and Michele Scarponi are separated by just one point in the latest UCI WorldTour rankings, released by cycling's governing body yesterday.

Following the conclusion of the Volta Ciclista a Catalunya, in which Scarponi finished second overall, the Italian sits on 202 points, with Goss still on 203 after his win in Milan-San Remo. The 2009 world champion, Cadel Evans, remains in third after his overall win in Tirreno-Adriatico.

Liquigas-Cannondale rider Ivan Basso was a big mover, entering the top 10 and now sitting in seventh, up from 14th after the previous rankings release. Omega Pharma-Lotto's André Greipel moved up eight places to 14th.

There are three Australians in the top 10 of the rankings, so it's no surprise that it tops the list of nations with 517 points, 32 more than Italy, with Germany currently in third thanks largely to Tony Martin's general classification win at Paris-Nice.

Martin's HTC-Highroad remains atop the team rankings, with Scarponi's Lampre-ISD squad trailing in second by 122 points. Garmin-Cervélo, which enjoyed a strong start to the season with Cameron Meyer's win at the Santos Tour Down Under, sits in third, with 247 points.

WorldTour rankings

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) HTC-Highroad203 pts
2Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre - ISD202 
3Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team128 
4Tony Martin (Ger) HTC-Highroad108 
5Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank Sungard106 
6Cameron Meyer (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo106 
7Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale92 
8Andreas Klöden (Ger) Team Radioshack88 
9Fabian Cancellara (Sui) Leopard Trek86 
10Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto86 
11Ben Swift (GBr) Sky Procycling82 
12Tom Boonen (Bel) Quickstep Cycling Team80 
13Robert Gesink (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team80 
14André Greipel (Ger) Omega Pharma-Lotto78 
15Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Sky Procycling74 
16Daniel Martin (Irl) Team Garmin-Cervelo72 
17Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale71 
18Michael Matthews (Aus) Rabobank Cycling Team70 
19Christopher Horner (USA) Team Radioshack61 
20Daniele Bennati (Ita) Leopard Trek60 
21Tyler Farrar (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo60 
22Alessandro Ballan (Ita) BMC Racing Team60 
23Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi59 
24Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) Sky Procycling57 
25Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team52 
26Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Katusha Team50 
27Francisco José Ventoso Alberdi (Spa) Movistar Team46 
28Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) Ag2R La Mondiale41 
29Xavier Tondo Volpini (Spa) Movistar Team40 
30Marco Pinotti (Ita) HTC-Highroad40 
31Lloyd Mondory (Fra) Ag2R La Mondiale30 
32Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Team Radioshack30 
33Tiago Machado (Por) Team Radioshack30 
34Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre - ISD26 
35Levi Leipheimer (USA) Team Radioshack22 
36Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team21 
37Biel Kadri (Fra) Ag2R La Mondiale20 
38Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre - ISD15 
39Bernhard Eisel (Aut) HTC-Highroad14 
40Bauke Mollema (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team14 
41Manuel Antonio Leal Cardoso (Por) Team Radioshack13 
42Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Vacansoleil-Dcm Pro Cycling Team12 
43Greg Henderson (Nzl) Sky Procycling11 
44Kristof Goddaert (Bel) Ag2R La Mondiale10 
45Lars Boom (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team10 
46Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team10 
47Allan Davis (Aus) Pro Team Astana10 
48Kevin Seeldraeyers (Bel) Quickstep Cycling Team10 
49Juan José Haedo (Arg) Saxo Bank Sungard9 
50Heinrich Haussler (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo8 
51Robbie McEwen (Aus) Team Radioshack7 
52Rémy Di Gregorio (Fra) Pro Team Astana7 
53Gatis Smukulis (Lat) HTC-Highroad6 
54Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Leopard Trek4 
55Thomas Lövkvist (Swe) Sky Procycling4 
56Maxime Monfort (Bel) Leopard Trek4 
57Denis Galimzyanov (Rus) Katusha Team4 
58Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Leopard Trek4 
59Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre - ISD4 
60Wouter Poels (Ned) Vacansoleil-Dcm Pro Cycling Team4 
61Baden Cooke (Aus) Saxo Bank Sungard2 
62Daniel Oss (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale2 
63Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale2 
64Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank Cycling Team2 
65Mark Renshaw (Aus) HTC-Highroad2 
66Ruben Perez Moreno (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi2 
67Kenny De Haes (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto2 
68Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Katusha Team2 
69Matteo Carrara (Ita) Vacansoleil-Dcm Pro Cycling Team2 
70Adriano Malori (Ita) Lampre - ISD2 
71Richie Porte (Aus) Saxo Bank Sungard2 
72Marcel Sieberg (Ger) Omega Pharma-Lotto1 
73Andrey Amador Bakkazakova (Crc) Movistar Team1 
74Christopher Sutton (Aus) Sky Procycling1 
75Romain Feillu (Fra) Vacansoleil-Dcm Pro Cycling Team1 
76Rick Flens (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team1 
77Geraint Thomas (GBr) Sky Procycling1 
78Matthew Wilson (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo1 
79Jan Bakelants (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto1 
80Michal Golas (Pol) Vacansoleil-Dcm Pro Cycling Team1 
81Frantisek Rabon (Cze) HTC-Highroad1 
82Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto1 
83Bert Grabsch (Ger) HTC-Highroad1 
84Simon Gerrans (Aus) Sky Procycling1 
85David Lopez Garcia (Spa) Movistar Team1 
86Elia Viviani (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale1 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1HTC-Highroad371 pts
2Lampre - ISD249 
3Team Garmin-Cervelo247 
4Team Radioshack231 
5Sky Procycling228 
6Rabobank Cycling Team226 
7Bmc Racing Team198 
9Omega Pharma-Lotto168 
10Leopard Trek158 
11Saxo Bank Sungard119 
12Movistar Team109 
13Ag2R La Mondiale101 
14Quickstep Cycling Team90 
16Katusha Team56 
17Vacansoleil-Dcm Pro Cycling Team20 
18Pro Team Astana17 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Australia517 pts
7Great Britain157 
8United States143 
16New Zealand11 
22Costa Rica1 
24Czech Republic1 

Related Articles

Back to top