Gilbert goes top of WorldTour standings

Leopard Trek move ahead of RadioShack in team ranking

Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma-Lotto) has moved to the top of the WorldTour rankings at the end of a week that saw him complete the hat-trick of Ardennes Classic victories.

The Belgian’s wins at Amstel Gold, Flèche Wallone and Liège-Bastogne-Liège mean that he enjoys a commanding lead at head of the standings, 120 points clear of his nearest challenger and previous number one Fabian Cancellara (Leopard Trek).

Gilbert’s recent haul also sees Matt Goss (HTC-Highroad), Andreas Klöden (RadioShack) and Michele Scarponi (Lampre-ISD) all move down one spot.

Elsewhere in the individual standings, last year’s number one Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha) moves from 27th to 11th place, although the onset at allergies at Liège-Bastogne-Liège on Sunday dented his chances of moving up still further.

While the Schleck brothers failed to make their numbers count against Gilbert in the finale of La Doyenne, their efforts were enough to see their Leopard Trek squad go top of the team rankings, with a 38-point buffer over previous leader RadioShack. Gilbert’s spate of wins has also propelled Omega Pharma-Lotto up five places to third.

The nation standings remain largely unchanged after the Ardennes, with Gilbert’s success further cementing Belgium’s number one ranking ahead of Australia. The Schleck’s efforts move Luxembourg up 16 places, knocking Great Britain into 11th place.

Countries seeking a full complement of 9 riders at the world championships must be in the top 10 of the standings on August 15th.

WorldTour standings

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto356 pts
2Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Leopard Trek236 
3Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) HTC-Highroad203 
4Andreas Klöden (Ger) Team Radioshack202 
5Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre - ISD202 
6Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi163 
7Robert Gesink (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team156 
8Christopher Horner (USA) Team Radioshack143 
9Tom Boonen (Bel) Quickstep Cycling Team140 
10Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team128 
11Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha Team127 
12Tony Martin (Ger) HTC-Highroad114 
13Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) Sky Procycling107 
14Cameron Meyer (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo106 
15Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank Sungard106 
16Nick Nuyens (Bel) Saxo Bank Sungard100 
17Johan Van Summeren (Bel) Team Garmin-Cervelo100 
18Alessandro Ballan (Ita) BMC Racing Team100 
19Frank Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek94 
20Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale92 
21Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale91 
22Xavier Tondo Volpini (Spa) Movistar Team90 
23Ben Swift (GBr) Sky Procycling82 
24Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Quickstep Cycling Team80 
25André Greipel (Ger) Omega Pharma-Lotto78 
26Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Sky Procycling74 
27Andy Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek72 
28Daniel Martin (Irl) Team Garmin-Cervelo72 
29Maarten Tjallingii (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team70 
30Michael Matthews (Aus) Rabobank Cycling Team70 
31Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz) Pro Team Astana68 
32Daniele Bennati (Ita) Leopard Trek60 
33Tyler Farrar (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo60 
34Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Pro Team Astana60 
35Benat Intxausti Elorriaga (Spa) Movistar Team60 
36Grégory Rast (Swi) Team Radioshack60 
37Björn Leukemans (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team54 
38Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team52 
39Simon Gerrans (Aus) Sky Procycling51 
40Lars Ytting Bak (Den) HTC-Highroad50 
41Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team50 
42Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Katusha Team50 
43Francisco José Ventoso Alberdi (Spa) Movistar Team46 
44Bernhard Eisel (Aut) HTC-Highroad44 
45Marco Pinotti (Ita) HTC-Highroad42 
46Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Leopard Trek41 
47Chris Sörensen (Den) Saxo Bank Sungard41 
48Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale41 
49George Hincapie (USA) BMC Racing Team40 
50Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team40 
51David Lopez Garcia (Spa) Movistar Team31 
52Alexandr Kolobnev (Rus) Katusha Team30 
53Igor Anton Hernandez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi30 
54Lloyd Mondory (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale30 
55Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Team Radioshack30 
56Tiago Machado (Por) Team Radioshack30 
57Oscar Freire Gomez (Spa) Rabobank Cycling Team26 
58Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre - ISD26 
59Jelle Vanendert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto22 
60Levi Leipheimer (USA) Team Radioshack22 
61Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team21 
62Biel Kadri (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale20 
63Thor Hushovd (Nor) Team Garmin-Cervelo20 
64Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre - ISD15 
65Bauke Mollema (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team14 
66Manuel Antonio Leal Cardoso (Por) Team Radioshack13 
67Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Team Garmin-Cervelo12 
68Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team12 
69Greg Henderson (NZl) Sky Procycling11 
70Ben Hermans (Bel) Team Radioshack10 
71Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Katusha Team10 
72Kristof Goddaert (Bel) Ag2r La Mondiale10 
73Juan Antonio Flecha Giannoni (Spa) Sky Procycling10 
74Lars Boom (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team10 
75Allan Davis (Aus) Pro Team Astana10 
76Kevin Seeldraeyers (Bel) Quickstep Cycling Team10 
77Vasili Kiryienka (Blr) Movistar Team10 
78Juan José Haedo (Arg) Saxo Bank Sungard9 
79Heinrich Haussler (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo8 
80Rémy Di Gregorio (Fra) Pro Team Astana7 
81Robbie Mcewen (Aus) Team Radioshack7 
82Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Team Garmin-Cervelo6 
83Paul Martens (Ger) Rabobank Cycling Team6 
84Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Lampre - ISD6 
85Gatis Smukulis (Lat) HTC-Highroad6 
86Geraint Thomas (GBr) Sky Procycling5 
87Thomas Lövkvist (Swe) Sky Procycling4 
88Maxime Monfort (Bel) Leopard Trek4 
89Mathew Hayman (Aus) Sky Procycling4 
90Stuart O'grady (Aus) Leopard Trek4 
91Kristof Vandewalle (Bel) Quickstep Cycling Team4 
92Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre - ISD4 
93Wouter Poels (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team4 
94Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Leopard Trek4 
95Denis Galimzyanov (Rus) Katusha Team4 
96Baden Cooke (Aus) Saxo Bank Sungard2 
97Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Katusha Team2 
98John Gadret (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale2 
99Pim Ligthart (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team2 
100Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale2 
101Daniel Oss (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale2 
102Adriano Malori (Ita) Lampre - ISD2 
103Richie Porte (Aus) Saxo Bank Sungard2 
104Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank Cycling Team2 
105Mark Renshaw (Aus) HTC-Highroad2 
106Ruben Perez Moreno (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi2 
107Kenny De Haes (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto2 
108Matteo Carrara (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team2 
109Jan Bakelants (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto1 
110Mikael Cherel (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale1 
111Matthew Wilson (Aus) Team Garmin-Cervelo1 
112Michal Golas (Pol) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team1 
113Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto1 
114Marcel Sieberg (Ger) Omega Pharma-Lotto1 
115Andrey Amador Bakkazakova (CRc) Movistar Team1 
116Rick Flens (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team1 
117Andrew Talansky (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo1 
118Elia Viviani (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale1 
119Christopher Sutton (Aus) Sky Procycling1 
120Romain Feillu (Fra) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team1 
121Frantisek Rabon (Cze) HTC-Highroad1 
122Bert Grabsch (Ger) HTC-Highroad1 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Leopard Trek503 pts
2Team Radioshack465 
3Omega Pharma-Lotto459 
5Rabobank Cycling Team398 
6Team Garmin-Cervelo358 
7Sky Procycling325 
8BMC Racing Team308 
9Saxo Bank Sungard258 
10Lampre - ISD253 
11Movistar Team248 
12Quickstep Cycling Team234 
13Katusha Team221 
16Pro Team Astana145 
17Ag2r La Mondiale103 
18Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team74 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Belgium750 pts
8United States266 
11Great Britain161 
16Czech Republic61 
23New Zealand11 
30Costa Rica1 


Related Articles

Back to top