Gerrans remains in lead of UCI WorldTour rankings

Boonen moves into fourth after Gent-Wevelgem, E3 Harelbeke wins

Tom Boonen (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) continued his run of success in the Spring Classics and moved up to fourth in the UCI WorldTour rankings thanks to another powerful sprint victory at Gent-Wevelgem on Sunday. Boonen beat Peter Sagan (Liquigas-Cannondale) and Matti Breschel (Rabobank) in the dash to the line, timing his effort perfectly to beat the young Slovakian champion. Boonen joins Rik Van Looy, Eddy Merckx and Mario Cipollini as three-time winners of Gent-Wevelgem.

Boonen won the E3 Prijs Vlaanderen Harelbeke race for a record fifth time on Friday to kick off an impressive weekend performance. Boonen had been tied with Rik Van Looy with four victories.

The Omega Pharma-QuickStep team leader now has a total of 166 points in the individual UCI WorldTour ranking, moving him up from seventh to fourth. Simon Gerrans (GreenEdge Cycling Team) still leads the ranking with 210 points after his victories at the Tour Down Under and Milan-San Remo. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas-Cannondale) is second with 182 points and Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) remains in third with 167 points.

The GreenEdge team also had another successful week of racing; with Michael Albasini winning the opening two stages and then successfully defending the overall race lead at the Volta Ciclista a Catalunya.

They key mountain stage in the foothills of the Pyrenees was shortened due to snow and Albasini went onto finish 1:30 ahead of Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel-Euskadi) and 1:32 in front of third-placed Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Lotto Belisol) on general classification. Albasini picked up 112 points in the UCI WorldTour ranking, and entered the individual rankings in seventh place.

Sky Procycling is back at the top of the UCI WorldTour team ranking after consistent results in both Gent-Wevelgem and Volta Ciclista a Catalunya. The British team tops the ranking with a total of 356 points. GreenEdge Cycling Team is up to second with 333 points and Liquigas-Cannondale is third with 326 points.

Spain remains the leader of the nations ranking with 461 points. Italy is second with 351 points and Belgium is third with 337 points.

UCI WorldTour - Individual ranking
1Simon Gerrans (Aus) GreenEdge Cycling Team210pts
2Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale182 
3Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar Team167 
4Tom Boonen (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quickstep166 
5Oscar Freire Gomez (Spa) Katusha Team140 
6Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale129 
7Michael Albasini (Swi) GreenEdge Cycling Team112 
8Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Sky Procycling112 
9Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team92 
10Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi88 
11Fabian Cancellara (Swi) RadioShack-Nissan86 
12Christopher Horner (USA) RadioShack-Nissan84 
13Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Astana Pro Team78 
14Tiago Machado (Por) RadioShack-Nissan72 
15Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Lotto Belisol Team70 
16Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Sky Procycling70 
17Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) Sky Procycling63 
18Simon Spilak (Slo) Katusha Team62 
19Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale61 
20Michael Rogers (Aus) Sky Procycling61 
21Daniel Martin (Irl) Garmin - Barracuda60 
22Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team51 
23Johnny Hoogerland (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team51 
24Matti Breschel (Den) Rabobank Cycling Team50 
25Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Sky Procycling50 
26Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha Team46 
27Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre - ISD44 
28Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) Astana Pro Team41 
29Arnold Jeannesson (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat40 
30Jan Bakelants (Bel) RadioShack-Nissan40 
31Daniele Bennati (Ita) RadioShack-Nissan33 
32Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Garmin - Barracuda31 
33Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre - ISD31 
34Maxime Monfort (Bel) RadioShack-Nissan30 
35Alessandro Ballan (Ita) BMC Racing Team26 
36André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Belisol Team22 
37Matteo Carrara (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team21 
38Javier Moreno Bazan (Spa) Movistar Team20 
39Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Omega Pharma-Quickstep20 
40Wouter Poels (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team20 
41Dario Cataldo (Ita) Omega Pharma-Quickstep15 
42Michael Matthews (Aus) Rabobank Cycling Team15 
43Marco Marcato (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team14 
44Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat14 
45Steve Chainel (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat10 
46Daniel Oss (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale10 
47Christophe Riblon (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale10 
48Gianni Meersman (Bel) Lotto Belisol Team8 
49Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr) FDJ-Big Mat7 
50Luis Leon Sanchez Gil (Spa) Rabobank Cycling Team7 
51Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team7 
52Cameron Meyer (Aus) GreenEdge Cycling Team6 
53Gustav Larsson (Swe) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team6 
54Mark Cavendish (GBr) Sky Procycling6 
55Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Astana Pro Team6 
56Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre - ISD6 
57Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team5 
58Grega Bole (Slo) Lampre - ISD5 
59Mark Renshaw (Aus) Rabobank Cycling Team5 
60Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Astana Pro Team5 
61Sergio Pardilla Bellon (Spa) Movistar Team4 
62Angel Vicioso Arcos (Spa) Katusha Team4 
63Eduard Vorganov (Rus) Katusha Team4 
64Gerald Ciolek (Ger) Omega Pharma-Quickstep4 
65Denis Menchov (Rus) Katusha Team4 
66Sylvester Szmyd (Pol) Liquigas-Cannondale4 
67Michal Golas (Pol) Omega Pharma-Quickstep4 
68Allan Davis (Aus) GreenEdge Cycling Team4 
69Jens Voigt (Ger) RadioShack-Nissan4 
70Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin - Barracuda3 
71Levi Leipheimer (USA) Omega Pharma-Quickstep3 
72Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team2 
73Xavier Florencio Cabre (Spa) Katusha Team2 
74Mikael Cherel (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale2 
75Heinrich Haussler (Aus) Garmin - Barracuda2 
76Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale2 
77Svein Tuft (Can) GreenEdge Cycling Team1 
78Manuel Belletti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale1 
79Thor Hushovd (Nor) BMC Racing Team1 
80Greg Henderson (NZl) Lotto Belisol Team1 
81Thomas Rohregger (Aut) RadioShack-Nissan1 
82Ben Gastauer (Lux) AG2R La Mondiale1 
83Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin - Barracuda1 
84Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale1 
85Juan José Haedo (Arg) Team Saxo Bank1 
86Kenny Robert Van Hummel (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team1 
87Manuele Boaro (Ita) Team Saxo Bank1 
88Elia Viviani (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale1 
89Robbie McEwen (Aus) GreenEdge Cycling Team1 
UCI WorldTour - Nation ranking
7United States141 
9Great Britain118 
11Czech Republic78 
26New Zealand1 
UCI World Tour - Team ranking
1Sky Procycling356pts
2GreenEdge Cycling Team333 
5Katusha Team256 
6Omega Pharma-Quickstep209 
7Movistar Team198 
8Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team198 
9Astana Pro Team130 
10Lotto Belisol Team101 
11Garmin - Barracuda97 
12Euskaltel - Euskadi88 
13Lampre - ISD86 
14BMC Racing Team78 
15Rabobank Cycling Team77 
16AG2R La Mondiale76 
17FDJ-Big Mat71 
18Team Saxo Bank2 

Related Articles

Back to top