Garmin announces Hunter and Van Summeren in 2010 team

USA's Garmin welcomes Hunter, Van Summeren, and six others for 2010 season

USA's team Garmin-Slipstream announced six new riders for its 2010 team today. The new riders include Robert Hunter and Johan Van Summeren, who will support the team's sprint and overall classification goals.

"We'll continue to build on the success Tyler [Farrar] has had by giving him more lead-out guys," said team manager Jonathan Vaughters.

Both South African Hunter and Belgian Van Summeren can lead-out USA's Farrar, but also aim for their own victories. Farrar finished runner-up in several Giro d'Italia and Tour de France sprints.

Van Summeren finished in the top ten at Paris-Roubaix in the last two editions. He will lead alongside Martijn Maaskant, who finished fourth in 2008.

The team will also support Christian Vande Velde and Bradley Wiggins at the Tour de France by adding climbers, said Vaughters. Climbers Fredrik Kessiakoff and Michel Kreder will ride for the team in 2010, while time trialists Peter Stetina and Tom Zirbel complete the list of six riders added to the Garmin roster.

Vaughters said, all the new riders "on this list are all capable of stage wins and one-day race victories."

Garmin brought in both Stetina and Kreder from its Felt-Holowesko under-23 team. They fit well with the team's goal of developing young talent, said Vaughters.

Follow Cyclingnews on Twitter for the very latest coverage of events taking place in the cycling world -

Related Articles

Back to top