Gallery: Indurain and Delgado attend Movistar team presentation

Valverde and Cobo to lead the line

The 2012 Movistar team was presented at the Telefónica Auditorium in Madrid's company headquarters today with the company president Luis Abril asking the riders to "keep dignifying this sport".

Abril also praised the team's performances from 2011, a year in which the Spanish team lost Xavier Tondo in a fatal accident and Mauricio Soler suffered a life-threatening crash at the Tour de Suisse.

"Last year, I only asked you to do things well and honor the brand. The grade of your accomplishment was the highest. I don't think that there's anyone at Telefónica not feeling proud of you. In a really hard season from a psychological point of view, you defended the brand and its values and defended yourselves as professionals as real lions."

The team picked up 20 wins in 2011 and has bolstered its attack by signing two returning riders in Alejandro Valverde and Juanjo Cobo. Two former greats, Pedro Delgado and Miguel Indurain, who rode for the team when it was branded as Reynolds and Banesto were also in attendance. The former professionals won six Tours de France between them and although Movistar will struggle to hit those heights, it remains Spain's number one professional team.

Andrey Amador 
David Arroyo 
Marzio Bruseghin 
Jonathan Castroviejo 
Juanjo Cobo
Rui Costa 
Imanol Erviti
Iván Gutiérrez 
Jesús Herrada 
José Herrada 
Beñat Intxausti
Javier Iriarte 
Vladimir Karpets 
Vasil Kiryienka 
Ignatas Konovalovas 
Pablo Lastras 
David Lopez 
Ángel Madrazo 
Javier Moreno 
Sergio Pardilla 
Rubén Plaza 
Nairo Quintana 
José Joaquín Rojas
Branislau Samoilau 
Enrique Sanz 
Alejandro Valverde 
Francisco José Ventoso 
Giovanni Visconti

Related Articles

Back to top