Française des Jeux anounces ninth Tour rider

French team sidelines climber and sprinter

La Française des Jeux finalised its line-up for the Tour de France, July 4 to 26, after the French national championships Saturday. The French team had eight riders confirmed last week, with one yet to be named.

Sandy Casar, Jérôme Coppel, Anthony Geslin, Yauheni Hutarovich, Sébastien Joly, Christophe Le Mevel, Benoît Vaugrenard and Jussi Veikkanen were certain to be at the start of the race in Monaco Saturday.

Team manager Marc Madiot's selected yesterday Jérémy Roy over Rémy Di Gregorio for the team's ninth spot.

Di Gregorio, a talented climber, has had an irregular season – similar to sprinter Sébastien Chavanel, who has also been looked over.

The team's captain for the Tour's sprint finishes will thus be Belarusian Hutarovich.

Anthony Geslin, winner of the Flèche Brabançonne this spring and second in the French championships, will be back on the Tour after one year of absence. Jérôme Coppel, 22 years of age, will make his Tour debut.


Back to top