Cycling Australia announces governance reforms

Search under way for new CEO as governing body shapes new foundations

With just 10 days remaining on the second – and final – contract extension for Cycling Australia's (CA) interim CEO Adrian Anderson, cycling's governing body convened in Sydney on Wednesday to decide on critical governance reforms for the ailing and cash-strapped governing body.

According to CA President – and Orica-GreenEdge owner – Gerry Ryan, the reforms are a "positive move" forward for the future of the organisation.

"The changes will strengthen the structure considerably and enable it to progress in a commercially sustainable manner with greater relevance to the four million Australians who ride bikes," said Ryan.

The reforms Ryan speaks of include transitioning to a new, independent, skills-based board and the adoption of the Australian Sports Commission's (ASC)  mandatory sports governance principles.

A special meeting that was announced in mid-April, gathered CA member states to agree on the proposed reforms which will result in the organisation transitioning to a company limited by guarantee, adopting a new constitution and establishing a nominations committee to manage the process of appointing an independent, skills-based board and a permanent CEO.

Ryan also acknowledged the work of all stakeholders to date, including outgoing interim CEO Adrian Anderson.

"I would like to thank the ASC and our state members for their hard work to this point and look forward to their ongoing support as we implement these reforms over coming months," said Ryan. "I would also like to thank interim CEO Adrian Anderson for leading this governance reform."

CA state members have also approved the appointment of a caretaker board comprising of Ryan as chair combined with experienced sports administrators Malcolm Speed and Lloyd Freeburn.

Cycling NSW president Tony Green will act as a state advisor to the nominations committee that Anderson had named prior to the special meeting, including Peter Bartels AO, Don Argus AC, Rod Kemp and Kate Palmer.

Related Articles

Back to top