Contador debuts at third in latest WorldTour standings

AG2R La Mondiale best team, Australia top nation after Tirreno-Adriatico

Upon the conclusion of Tirreno-Adriatico, the third round of the UCI WorldTour, Carlos Betancur (AG2R La Mondiale) continues to lead the overall standings with 114 points, all earned during his victory at Paris-Nice. The 24-year-old Colombian is tied on points with Tour Down Under winner Simon Gerrans (Orica GreenEdge) at 114, but the AG2R La Mondiale rider gets the nod as WorldTour leader due to the tie breaker of having won two stages at Paris-Nice versus the Australian's one stage win at the Tour Down Under.

Tirreno-Adriatico winner Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo) debuts in the WorldTour rankings in third place with 112 points. Fourth and fifth place are held by Cadel Evans (BMC) and world champion Rui Costa (Lampre-Merida), each having accumulated 88 points in WorldTour events thus far this season. Evans' points were all earned at the Tour Down Under, where he finished second overall plus won a stage and placed third in another. Costa's points were all from Paris-Nice where he finished second overall and placed second on two consecutive stages.

2013 WorldTour winner Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha) has yet to contest a WorldTour race thus far in 2014, but he'll line up against a very deep field this coming Monday to contest the Volta Ciclista a Catalunya stage race in Spain, the fifth WorldTour event of the season following the one-day Classic Milan-San Remo held the previous day.

The WorldTour nations classification leader continues to be Australia with 336 points. However, after Australia’s super-strong start to the season other countries are beginning to close the gap. Colombia has moved into second with 248 points while Spain moved from sixth up to third with 206 points.

AG2R La Mondiale is the new leader in the team classification having moved up two spots from third to first with 216 points. Tinkoff-Saxo, due to Contador and Roman Kreuziger at Tirreno-Adriatico, debut in second place with 183 points while Lampre-Merida drops from first to third with 171 points.

Movistar, the winner of the 2013 WorldTour team classification, moved from eighth to fourth overall at 158 points while Orica-GreenEdge, the top-ranked team following the Tour Down Under, slots in at fifth place with 153 points.

WorldTour - Individuals
1Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) AG2R La Mondiale114pts
2Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica GreenEdge114 
3Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo112 
4Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team88 
5Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa (Por) Lampre-Merida88 
6Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) Movistar Team84 
7Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre-Merida83 
8Arthur Vichot (Fra) FDJ.fr78 
9Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Tinkoff-Saxo71 
10Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team68 
11Richie Porte (Aus) Team Sky67 
12Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale61 
13Nathan Haas (Aus) Garmin Sharp55 
14Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team52 
15Julián David Arredondo Moreno (Col) Trek Factory Racing50 
16Robert Gesink (Ned) Belkin-Pro Cycling Team42 
17Cyril Gautier (Fra) Team Europcar42 
18Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale40 
19Daryl Impey (RSA) Orica GreenEdge32 
20Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) Trek Factory Racing30 
21Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky25 
22Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Team Katusha22 
23Simon Spilak (Slo) Team Katusha20 
24André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Belisol18 
25John Degenkolb (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano14 
26Adam Hansen (Aus) Lotto Belisol12 
27Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Garmin Sharp12 
28Michele Scarponi (Ita) Astana Pro Team10 
29Peter Velits (Svk) BMC Racing Team10 
30Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale9 
31Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) FDJ.fr8 
32Adriano Malori (Ita) Movistar Team6 
33Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team6 
34Moreno Hofland (Ned) Belkin-Pro Cycling Team6 
35Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ.fr5 
36Mikel Nieve Ituralde (Spa) Team Sky4 
37Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Belisol4 
38Egor Silin (Rus) Team Katusha4 
39Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team4 
40Simon Geschke (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano4 
41Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Trek Factory Racing4 
42Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Lotto Belisol4 
43Mark Renshaw (Aus) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team4 
44Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team4 
45Bob Jungels (Lux) Trek Factory Racing4 
46Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) Orica GreenEdge4 
47Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Belkin-Pro Cycling Team3 
48Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team3 
49Benjamin King (USA) Garmin Sharp2 
50Simon Clarke (Aus) Orica GreenEdge2 
51Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Team Sky2 
52Steele Von Hoff (Aus) Garmin Sharp2 
53Tom Boonen (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team2 
53Gianni Meersman (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team2 
55Elia Viviani (Ita) Cannondale2 
56Andrew Fenn (GBr) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team2 
57Philippe Gilbert (Bel) BMC Racing Team1 
58Tony Martin (Ger) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team1 
59Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano1 
60Tony Hurel (Fra) Team Europcar1 
61Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale1 
62Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Astana Pro Team1 
63Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Team Katusha1 
64Borut Bozic (Slo) Astana Pro Team1 
65Thor Hushovd (Nor) BMC Racing Team1 
66Maxime Bouet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale1 
67Michael Matthews (Aus) Orica GreenEdge1 
68Koen De Kort (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano1 
69Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin Sharp1 
69Bryan Coquard (Fra) Team Europcar1 
WorldTour - Nations
7Czech Republic74 
11Great Britain35 
12South Africa32 
21United States3 
WorldTour - Teams
1AG2R La Mondiale216pts
2Team Saxo-Tinkoff183 
4Movistar Team158 
5Orica GreenEdge153 
6BMC Racing Team100 
7Team Sky98 
9Trek Factory Racing88 
10Garmin Sharp72 
11Astana Pro Team64 
12Belkin-Pro Cycling Team51 
13Team Katusha47 
14Team Europcar44 
15Lotto Belisol38 
16Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team21 
17Team Giant-Shimano20 

Related Articles

Back to top