Carlos Betancur tied at top of WorldTour rankings

Lampre-Merida and Australia lead team and nation standings

In winning Paris-Nice overall, Carlos Betancur not only became the first Colombian but the first rider under the guidance of Vincent Lavenu to claim victory at the 'Race to the Sun' which elevated him to the top of UCI WorldTour rankings. Betancur's victory with Ag2r-La Mondiale was also the first win by a French team in 23 years, the last being Tony Rominger's victory for Toshiba back in 1991 - the year after Betancur, 24, was born.

Betancur won two stages at the second WorldTour race of the season and wore the leader's jersey for four days to pick up 114 points at the eight-day race.

As one of the emerging Colombian general classification riders, Betancur was quick to thank his teammates for their support as the leader of the French team.

"Wear the yellow jersey during four days is fantastic. The team demonstrated this week that it is a great team and this victory is very important for us. My teammates did a huge work to support me and this evening, I'm extremely happy. I'm also proud to show Colombian cycling at the highest level."

Betancur is currently tied on 114 points with Tour Down Under winner Simon Gerrans (Orica-GreenEdge) at the top of the individual WorldTour rankings with world champion Rui Costa (Lampre-Merida) in third with 88 points but again equal on points - with Cadel Evans (BMC Racing Team).

Diego Ulissi is fifth with 83 points after his third place overall at the Tour Down Under which sees his Lampre-Merida team take a clear lead in the team classification on 171 points.

Orica-GreenEdge surrendered their lead to the Italian team while Ag2r are the other squad to make a major gain in the rankings as they shot up from 11th to third overall with 115 points. For a team which has struggled to bank WorldTour points, Ag2r have given themselves a strong platform to build upon for the rest of the 2014 season.

In the nation rankings, Australia maintain their hold on top spot with 334 points but again thanks to Betancur, Colombia now sit in second place with 114 points while in third, it is France on 91 points thanks to Arthur Vichot's (FDJ) third place overall at Paris-Nice.

With Tirreno-Adriatico due to finish on March 16, the WorldTour rankings are set for another reshuffle before the major main one-day races of the Spring starting with Milan-San Remo.

WorldTour rankings

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) AG2R La Mondiale114 pts
2Simon Gerrans (Aus) Orica GreenEdge114 
3Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa (Por) Lampre-Merida88 
4Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team88 
5Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre-Merida83 
6Arthur Vichot (Fra) FDJ.fr78 
7Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team68 
8Richie Porte (Aus) Team Sky66 
9Nathan Haas (Aus) Garmin Sharp55 
10Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team52 
11Robert Gesink (Ned) Belkin-Pro Cycling Team42 
12Daryl Impey (RSA) Orica GreenEdge31 
13Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky25 
14Simon Spilak (Slo) Team Katusha20 
15André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Belisol16 
16John Degenkolb (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano14 
17Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Garmin Sharp12 
18Adam Hansen (Aus) Lotto Belisol11 
19Peter Velits (Svk) BMC Racing Team10 
20Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) FDJ.fr8 
21Moreno Hofland (Ned) Belkin-Pro Cycling Team6 
22Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Belisol4 
23Egor Silin (Rus) Team Katusha4 
24Bob Jungels (Lux) Trek Factory Racing4 
25Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) Orica GreenEdge4 
26Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Lotto Belisol4 
27Mark Renshaw (Aus) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team4 
28Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Belkin-Pro Cycling Team3 
29Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team3 
30Steele Von Hoff (Aus) Garmin Sharp2 
31Tom Boonen (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team2 
31Gianni Meersman (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team2 
33Elia Viviani (Ita) Cannondale2 
34Andrew Fenn (GBr) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team2 
35Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale1 
36Francesco Gavazzi (Ita) Astana Pro Team1 
37Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Team Katusha1 
38Borut Bozic (Slo) Astana Pro Team1 
39Thor Hushovd (Nor) BMC Racing Team1 
40Maxime Bouet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale1 
41Michael Matthews (Aus) Orica GreenEdge1 
42Koen De Kort (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano1 
43Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin Sharp1 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Australia334 pts
9South Africa31 
11Great Britain27 
17Czech Republic3 
19United States1 
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lampre-Merida171 pts
3Ag2r-La Mondiale115 
4BMC Racing Team99 
5Team Sky91 
7Garmin Sharp70 
10Belkin-Pro Cycling51 
11Lotto Belisol35 
12Team Katusha25 
13Team Giant-Shimano15 
14Omega Pharma-Quick-Step Cycling13 
15Trek Factory Racing4 

Related Articles

Back to top