British Cycling Championships return to Wales

Stellar field set to race for men’s championship

Stellar field set to race for men’s national championship

Britain’s top cyclists will contest the nation’s road cycling championships this weekend in the Welsh town of Abergavenny. The championships will culminate on Sunday with men’s race to decide the open and under-23 national champions, respectively.

Pro Tour riders Mark Cavendish (Columbia-Highroad), David Millar (Garmin-Slipstream), Brad Wiggins (Garmin-Slipstream) and Ben Swift (Katusha) have all been confirmed on the race startlist, alongside Barloworld riders Chris Froome and Steve Cummings. Cervélo TestTeam will have a strong presence in the race with two time champions Roger Hammond and Jeremy Hunt being joined by Daniel Lloyd and Dan Fleeman.

Last year’s champion, Rob Hayles (Halfords), will return to defend his title, as will reigning U23 champion, Peter Kennaugh (100% ME). Kennaugh will be the favourite in the younger category after his recent stage win and third placing overall at the Baby Giro.

British Cycling has made the decision to reduce the length of the men’s race to160km, from over 200km in recent years.

Abergavenny last hosted the British national championships in 2007 when David Millar, then riding for Saunier-Duval, took the national title ahead of Daniel Lloyd.

Related Articles

Back to top