British announce World Cyclo-Cross team

Six-time national champion Wyman leads women's squad

Helen Wyman, who won the British national cyclo-cross title an unprecedented six consecutive years, will lead the British team at the International Cycling Union's cyclo-cross world championships January 29-30 in St. Wendel, Germany.

Wyman, 29, has won the national title every year since 2006. In addition to that title, she has three victories this season, including the GvA Trofee at the Koppenberg. She will be joined in the elite women's race by Gabby Day and Nikki Harris.

National champion Paul Oldham will lead the elite men's team, with Jody Crawforth and Ian Field joining him.

“This is still very much a developing team, but I think we're capable of some strong performances out in Germany. We're represented by the National Champions in each category, and we've got Helen Wyman who's coming into the competition on the back of the best season she's ever had," said team manager Paul Dixon.

“We're also well represented in the junior category, thanks to the new 2010-11 Junior Development Programme which aimed to help develop talented junior cyclo cross riders. The fact we could select five riders from this group is a testament to the success of the programme."

British team for the UCI Cyclo-Cross World Championships

Elite men
Jody Crawforth
Ian Field
Paul Oldham

Elite women
Gabby Day
Nikki Harris
Helen Wyman

U23 men
Kenta Gallagher
Luke Gray

Junior men
Jack Clarkson
Luke Grivell-Mellor
Joe Moses
Hugo Robinson
Ali Slater

Back to top