Coming up
Coverage of Tour de France Stage 13 begins at 13:30 Europe/Paris - (11:30 GMT)

Boom wins Boonen charity 'cross race

“Not easy to make up a minute,” Rabobank rider admits

Lars Boom started the Boonen & Friends 'cross race Saturday one minute behind all the other riders, and still won. But it wasn't that easy, he said.

“Making up one minute was a more difficult task than anyone had expected,” the Rabobank rider admitted afterwards. The race is a charity event sponsored by Tom Boonen, and is run by road racers. Boom concentrates on the road now, but come from the 'cross scene. He was World Champion in that discipline in 2008, and has won the Dutch national title every year since 2007. 

Second behind him was his Rabobank teammate Maarten Wynants. “I should not have expected any else,” Boom said, according to the Belga news agency. “Last week I trained in the woods in my neighborhood with Maarten Wynants, so I knew he would be my toughest opponent.”

Wynants won the race in 2009, and finished second last year.

It was Boonen's first race back after breaking his wrist in the Vuelta a Espana, but the charity aspect was more important to him. The race raises funds for “Move to Improve”, for children with movement disorders.

"This is the least we can do for these kids," said Boonen. "It is indeed a great day. The sky cleared up and we not only have good weather but also the best in the three years of this race.”

The race was followed by an auction, with Boonen again going the extra step to help the charity.  He won an autographed 'cross world champion jersey autographed by his Quick Step teammate Zdenek Stybar with a bid of 2,100 Euros. The highest price went for one of Philippe Gilbert's Belgian national champion jersey, with an anonymous bidder paying 7,500 Euros.

In the veterans race, former cyclo-cross world champion Erwin Vervecken was a clear winner over Koen Beeckman and VT4 commentator and former 'cross champion Marc Janssens from a large field that included Johan Museeuw.


#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lars Boom0:43:10 
2Maarten Wynants  
3Sean De Bie  
4Thomas Vernaeckt  
5Dries Devenyns  
6André Greipel  
7Bram Tankink  
8Frederique Robert  
9Pieter Vanspeybrouck  
10Jelle Vanendert  
11Dennis Vanendert  
12Wim De Vocht  
13Guillaume Van Keirsbulck  
14Matteo Trentin  
15Tom Boonen  
16Stijn Joseph  
17Carlos Barredo  
18Marcel Sieberg  
19Pieter Serry  
20Sjef De Wilde  
21Nick Wynants  
22Bobbie Traksel  
23Kevin Van Melsen  
24Andy Cappelle  
25Sven Vandousselaere  
26Jérôme Baugnies  
27Jan Backelants  
28Geert Verheyen  
29James Vanlandschoot  
30Pim Ligthart  
31Björn Leukemans  
32Andy Fenn  
33Serge Pauwels  
34Jérôme Pineau  
35Addy Engels  
36Floris Smeyers  
37Stefan van Dijk  
38Frederik Veuchelen  
39Dario Cataldo  
40Niki Terpstra  
41Giovanni Visconti  
42Yannick Eijssen  
43Kurt Geysen  
44Marco Bandiera  
Retired champions
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Erwin Vervecken  
2Koen Beeckman  
3Marc Janssens  
4Jan Boven  
5Ken De Dijcker  
6Johan Museeuw  
7Franky Van Oyen  
8Gerard Blockx  
9Jan Wijnants  
10Rudy Verdonck  
11Marc Patry  
12Johan Verstrepen  
13Carlo Bomans  
14Martin van Steen  
15Bart Leysen  
16René Martens  
17Marc Wauters  
18Marc Verbeeck  
19Peter Van Santvliet  
20Jean-Marie Wampers  
21Dirk Clarysse  
22Rudy Patry  
23Tim Meeusen  
24Ivan Messelis  
25Wim Omloop  
26Davide Bramati  

Related Articles

Back to top