Australian team for Road World's announced

Cycling Australia has announced the 'Cyclones' to contest the 2006 UCI road cycling World...

Cycling Australia has announced the 'Cyclones' to contest the 2006 UCI road cycling World Championships being staged in Salzburg, Austria from September 19 to 24. In the Elite Men category, the final nine riders to contest the road race and three to contest the time trial will not be confirmed until the September 13, but selectors have announced a long team and will finalise the starting line up after taking into consideration health, injury, availability and form issues in the lead up to the event.

Elite Men - Long Team Time Trial: Ben Day, Cadel Evans, Bradley McGee, Michael Rogers.
Elite Men - Long Team Road Race: Baden Cooke, Ben Day, Scott Davis, Cadel Evans, Nick Gates, Simon Gerrans, Mathew Hayman, Aaron Kemps, Trent Lowe, Robbie McEwen, Bradley McGee, Stuart O'Grady, Mark Renshaw, Luke Roberts, Michael Rogers, William Walker, Matthew White.

Elite Women - Time Trial: Kathryn Watt, Oenone Wood.
Elite Women - Road Race: Katherine Bates, Natalie Bates, Olivia Gollan, Emma Rickards, Oenone Wood. The sixth position will be confirmed from the following riders based on a review of additional race results in end of season competition: Nikki Egyed, Helen Kelly, Jenny Macpherson.

U23 Men - Time Trial: Mark Jamieson, Shaun Higgerson.
U23 Men - Road Race: Jonathon Clarke, Simon Clarke, Matthew Goss, Shaun Higgerson, James Meadley.

Back to top