Allar surges to lead in National Criterium Calendar

Clarke's lead cut after Sunny King Criterium

After the third stop on the USA Cycling National Criterium Calendar, the Sunny King Criterium, race winner Erica Allar (RideClean/ is the new leader of the women's individual standings.

Allar took a commanding victory in the Anniston, Alabama event on Saturday to beat Jade Wilcoxson (Optum Pro Cycling) and Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom), despite being outnumbered by three Optum riders in the five-woman breakaway.

The previous leader, Presbyterian Hospital Invitational winner Nicky Wangsgard (Primal/MapMyRide) dropped to second overall after skipping Sunny King, while Wilcoxson moved into third.

Despite missing out on the race win, Optum/Kelly Benefit Strategies took over the team standings thanks to its depth: the team placed six riders in the top 10 and now leads Primal/MapMyRide by four points. Exergy/Twenty12 is third.

In the men's rankings, UnitedHealthCare's Hilton Clarke retains the overall lead, but lost ground after Isaac Howe (Kenda 5 Hour Energy p/b Geagrinder). won the men's race in Alabama. The 26-year-old is now second ahead of Sunny King runner-up Carlos Alzate Escobar (Team Exergy).

UnitedHealthcare p/b Maxxis remains in the lead of the team standings, 69 points ahead of Jamis-Sutter Home, while Kenda 5 Hour Energy p/b Geagrinder closed in on the second spot, and is now only two points in arrears.

Men's individual standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Hilton Clarke (Aus) UnitedHealthcare180 pts
2Isaac Howe (USA) Kenda/5 Hour Energy p/b Geargrinder161 
3Carlos Alzate Escobar (Col) Team Exergy108 
4Alejandro Borrajo (Arg) Jamis/Sutter Home90 
5Jacobe Keough (USA) UnitedHealthcare72 
6Kyle Wamsley (USA) Jamis/Sutter Home70 
7Alexey Shmidt (Rus) Team Type 162 
8Oscar Clark (USA) United Healthcare of Georgia60 
9Robin Carpenter (USA) Chipotle Development Team54 
10Daniel Holt (USA) Team Type 152 
11Frank Travieso (USA) Wonderful Pistachios50 
12Luke Keough (USA) Team Mountain Khakis p/b SmartStop50 
13Tommy Nankervis (Aus) Competitive Cyclist Racing Team42 
14Colin Jaskiewicz (USA) Champion System p/b Stan's NoTube37 
15Andrew Dahlheim (USA) Bissell Cycling36 
16Luis Romero Amaran (Cub) Jamis/Sutter Home36 
17Demis Aleman (Arg) Jamis Sutter Home35 
18Luca Damiani (Ita) Kenda/5 Hour Energy p/b Geargrinder27 
19Joshua Thorton (USA) ZMotion26 
20Thomas Brown (USA) Team Mountain Khakis p/b SmartStop26 
21Scotti Weiss (USA) VeloShine Cycling Team24 
22Christopher Stastny (USA) California Giant Berry Farms/Specializ18 
23Chad Hartley (USA) Kenda/5 Hour Energy p/b Geargrinder16 
24Emile Abraham (Tri) Rossetti Devo Cycling Team15 
25Jean-Michael Lechance (Can) Rossetti Devo Cycling Team12 
26Karl Menzies (Aus) UnitedHealthcare12 
28John (Jackie) Simes (USA) Jamis/Sutter Home10 
29Brendan Cornett (USA) Locos9 
30Clay Murfet (Aus) Team Mountain Khakis p/b SmartStop9 
31Luis Zayas (USA)9 
32Chris Brown (USA) Litespeed-BMW8 
33Kevin Mullervy (USA) Team Exergy8 
34Shane Kline (USA) Team Mountain Khakis p/b SmartStop8 
35Cesar Grajales (Col) Competitive Cyclist Racing Team7 
36Joseph Schmalz (USA) ELBOWZ Racing7 
37Adrian Hegyvary (USA) UnitedHealthcare6 
38Gavriel Epstein (Can) Champion System p/b Stan's NoTube6 
39Benjamin Day (Aus) UnitedHealthcare5 
40Christian Parrett (USA) Athletix Cycling Benefiting Globalbike5 
41Heath Blackgrove (NZl) ELBOWZ Racing5 
42David Williams (USA) Competitive Cyclist Racing Team4 
43Guido Palma (Arg) Jamis/Sutter Home3 
Men's team standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1UnitedHealthcare275 pts
2Jamis/Sutter Home206 
3Kenda/5 Hour Energy p/b Geargrinder204 
4Team Exergy116 
5Team Type 1114 
6Team Mountain Khakis p/b SmartStop93 
7Chipotle Development Team54 
8Competitive Cyclist Racing Team53 
9Champion System p/b Stan's NoTubes/CRCA43 
10Bissell Cycling36 
11California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized18 
12ELBOWZ Racing12 
13Wonderful Pistachios11 
14Athletix Cycling Benefiting Globalbike5 
Women's individual standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Erica Allar (USA) RideClean/PatentIt.com152 pts
2Nicky Wangsgard (USA) Primal/MapMyRider Women's Racing120 
3Jade Wilcoxson (USA) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strateg114 
4Theresa Cliff-Ryan (USA) Exergy Twenty1290 
5Laura Van Gilder (USA) Mellow Mushroom82 
6Christina Gokey-Smith (USA) NOW and Novartis for MS61 
7Kendall Ryan (USA) Team TIBCO/To the Top60 
8Emma Grant (GBr) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strateg56 
9Annie Ewart (Can) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strateg52 
10Lenore Pipes (Gum)48 
11Sarah Fader (USA)37 
12Amy McGuire (USA) FCS/ Rouse p/b Mr Restore36 
13Lex Albrecht (Can) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strateg34 
14Maura Kinsella (USA) Vanderkitten-Focus30 
15Jacquelyn Crowell (USA) Exergy Twenty1227 
16Courtney Lowe (USA) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strateg24 
17Kristen Lasasso (USA)21 
18Kacey Manderfield (USA)18 
19Cheryl Fuller-Muller (USA) Louis Garneau Factory Team p/b FUJI16 
20Anna Barensfeld (USA) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strateg12 
21Olivia Dillon (USA) NOW and Novartis for MS12 
22Hanan Alves-Hyde (USA)10 
23Robin Farina (USA) NOW and Novartis for MS10 
24Meghan Korol (USA) Pepper Palace/Spin-Tech Training p/b ABR9 
25Ann Koehler (USA)8 
26Anne Samplonius (Can) NOW and Novartis for MS8 
27Debbie Milne (USA)8 
28Lindsay Myers (USA) Team TIBCO/To the Top7 
29Hannah Miller (USA)6 
30Sara Tussey (USA)6 
31Amy Phillips (USA)5 
32Ashley James (USA) NOW and Novartis for MS5 
33Marianne Holt (USA)5 
34Meredith Miller (USA) Team TIBCO/To the Top5 
35Rebecca Larson (USA)5 
36Alexis Ryan (USA) Team TIBCO/To the Top4 
Women's team standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies222 pts
2Primal/MapMyRider Women's Racing120 
3Exergy Twenty12117 
4NOW and Novartis for MS88 
5Team TIBCO/To the Top72 
6Pepper Palace/Spin-Tech Training p/b ABRC37 
7FCS/ Rouse p/b Mr Restore36 
9Louis Garneau Factory Team p/b FUJI16 


Back to top